13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just made this fabulous recipe for the first time today (with a few modification below)to take to a friend for the holiday. I reserved a little batter so that I could taste it. I was wonderful. I left out the raisins because of an allergy. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar. I greased the pan with a little melted butter. I drained the noodles and then stirred the 1/2 c. butter and cream cheese into the hot noodles and blended until melted. Then I added the other cold ingredients, adding the eggs last. After removing the foil, I sprinkled the topping with cinnamon/sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realst8Ace September 28, 2008

Wow, Dojemi! I loved this so much! It's like bread pudding, but with noodles. The recipe didn't specify how much cinnamon and nutmeg to use, but I used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. The frosted flakes topping was very yummy, but I didn't completely cover all the noodles, so I did have a few really crunchy noodles - next time I'll be sure and cover thoroughly. Like another reviewer mentioned, the pockets of cream cheese are very tasty and I can't imagine this recipe working without the cream cheese. I used regular raisins since that's what I had on hand and they were delicious, I think I'll use even more raisins next time. This recipe makes a very large quantity - the 9 x 13 pan is very full - so it's perfect for serving a crowd. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 February 26, 2006

I made a loose version of this and it was fabulous! I needed to use up my leftover noodles, fresh cheeses, and a bag of plums that were overripe. I used cottage cheese, kefir cheese (like ricotta), some heavy cream [which would have been in the cottage cheese if I had more]. I steamed my over-ripe plums until they were like "applesauce", and I substituted chopped dried apricots for raisins. Oh, and I used stevia powder instead of sugar. And I thought it needed some salt too. Oh, and frosted flakes? no way. I left it plain. It was really quite tastey! And a terrific way to eat up those noodles, fruits & fresh cheeses!! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All-Natural-Nut November 04, 2009

Wonderful! It makes a lot too :) I actually completely forgot to purchase frosted flakes, so I simply didn't use them.... still turned out fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene October 26, 2009

This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. I lightned it up just a tad by using light sour cream and lowfat cottage cheese and a little less of the butter but otherwise followed it exactly. I will be making this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celiavolpe September 29, 2009

LOVE it!!! So easy and SO TASTY!!! I made it per the recipe exactly, with cream cheese, cottage cheese and nutmeg...YUM!!! Thank you for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omegachowz December 23, 2008

I made this for my family and they raved. It was so easy too. It is a great kugel recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieS October 27, 2008

This was a hit among people who are big fans of kugel and for those who had never heard of it. Texture and flavor were great. Leftovers made a lovely breakfast for me this morning. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. September 29, 2008

Hello dojemi, I was worried how the kugel was going to turn out with the applesauce - but no need for that - the kugel was out of this world! Please forgive me for not reviewing it sooner but have been a bit under the weather. The residents call this "honnonodo" I guess that is what you get for speaking English to my little Cuban resident's. The kugel was nice and creamy, it wasn't overly(sp) sweet, and you definitely needed the nutmeg. Thanks so much for posting, it was delicious. Update: Am serving this for the 1st night of Rosh Hashonah (9/12/07) and I had a trial run with it again - we only had the dark raisins and I used that and it was even better this time. Once again thanks so much for sharing, Diane:=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami September 10, 2007

This was absolutely the best kugel I have ever had.Being jewish, I have eaten kugel many times, and this by far was the best. Easy to prepare. I used every ingredient, lite cottage cheese. All my gentile friends are hooked. This is an addicting dish, AWESOME

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancygoodman79 July 25, 2006
Sweet Kugel