Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Kugel

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2008

      I just made this fabulous recipe for the first time today (with a few modification below)to take to a friend for the holiday. I reserved a little batter so that I could taste it. I was wonderful. I left out the raisins because of an allergy. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar. I greased the pan with a little melted butter. I drained the noodles and then stirred the 1/2 c. butter and cream cheese into the hot noodles and blended until melted. Then I added the other cold ingredients, adding the eggs last. After removing the foil, I sprinkled the topping with cinnamon/sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Wow, Dojemi! I loved this so much! It's like bread pudding, but with noodles. The recipe didn't specify how much cinnamon and nutmeg to use, but I used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. The frosted flakes topping was very yummy, but I didn't completely cover all the noodles, so I did have a few really crunchy noodles - next time I'll be sure and cover thoroughly. Like another reviewer mentioned, the pockets of cream cheese are very tasty and I can't imagine this recipe working without the cream cheese. I used regular raisins since that's what I had on hand and they were delicious, I think I'll use even more raisins next time. This recipe makes a very large quantity - the 9 x 13 pan is very full - so it's perfect for serving a crowd. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I made a loose version of this and it was fabulous! I needed to use up my leftover noodles, fresh cheeses, and a bag of plums that were overripe. I used cottage cheese, kefir cheese (like ricotta), some heavy cream [which would have been in the cottage cheese if I had more]. I steamed my over-ripe plums until they were like "applesauce", and I substituted chopped dried apricots for raisins. Oh, and I used stevia powder instead of sugar. And I thought it needed some salt too. Oh, and frosted flakes? no way. I left it plain. It was really quite tastey! And a terrific way to eat up those noodles, fruits & fresh cheeses!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Wonderful! It makes a lot too :) I actually completely forgot to purchase frosted flakes, so I simply didn't use them.... still turned out fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. I lightned it up just a tad by using light sour cream and lowfat cottage cheese and a little less of the butter but otherwise followed it exactly. I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      LOVE it!!! So easy and SO TASTY!!! I made it per the recipe exactly, with cream cheese, cottage cheese and nutmeg...YUM!!! Thank you for posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I made this for my family and they raved. It was so easy too. It is a great kugel recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was a hit among people who are big fans of kugel and for those who had never heard of it. Texture and flavor were great. Leftovers made a lovely breakfast for me this morning. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Hello dojemi, I was worried how the kugel was going to turn out with the applesauce - but no need for that - the kugel was out of this world! Please forgive me for not reviewing it sooner but have been a bit under the weather. The residents call this "honnonodo" I guess that is what you get for speaking English to my little Cuban resident's. The kugel was nice and creamy, it wasn't overly(sp) sweet, and you definitely needed the nutmeg. Thanks so much for posting, it was delicious. Update: Am serving this for the 1st night of Rosh Hashonah (9/12/07) and I had a trial run with it again - we only had the dark raisins and I used that and it was even better this time. Once again thanks so much for sharing, Diane:=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      This was absolutely the best kugel I have ever had.Being jewish, I have eaten kugel many times, and this by far was the best. Easy to prepare. I used every ingredient, lite cottage cheese. All my gentile friends are hooked. This is an addicting dish, AWESOME

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This is a fabulous dish!!!! The cream cheese produces a creamy, smooth texture that is perfect for this Kugel. The raisins and apple sauce is just the right amount of sweetness. I absolutely can't wait to make this Kugel again...it's the best, dojemi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Well I am now officially kugel initiated, and ohhh boy am I satisfied. I have my daughter and family staying until they find their own place and wanted to make something a little different (for us) so this not only tasted good we had a great discussion about it too. I can not imagine it working WITHOUT the cream cheese, no way no how so as dojemi has said in her note please dont leave it out. The little 'pockets' of cream through this dish were sooo tasty...and the best part mine even looked like the picture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      Leave out the Nutmeg and cream cheese. Rest is very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.9
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    35%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 187.3 mg
    62%
    Sodium 395.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 33.2 g
    133%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes