13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Part of my growing up years was in a small town in Iowa (Spillville) where the old Czech women still make kolaches daily so I grew up always loving kolaches and using my mom's handed down recipe. Then I thought maybe I could improve on this a bit and found your recipe. I have the say overall the kolaches turned out softer and lighter than previous - success! The only difference is that I used 1 ounce of dry yeast rather than the 3 packages (3/4 ounce) and since I grew up eating closed kolaches I left the yeast rise, kneaded again just slightly, let rise again, made into kolaches, let rise one last time and baked - excellent. For filling I did something a little different this time by using cherries in some, apples in some, ham and cheese (a huge hit with my husband) and also a cheesecake type of filling in which I used 1 package cheesecake flavored instant pudding (mixed in just 1 c. of milk rather than 2 c. so the consistency is nice and thick) and added it to 1 1/2 packages (I forget the ounce, just the regular size) cream cheese with a touch of sugar to taste, creamed and added it the center filling of the kolaches, some by itself, others mixed with the cherries - turned out fantastic. My mom is going to be so jealous - thanks Steve! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissWendy December 21, 2007

Thank you so much for this recipe. I've looked a long time for and authentic Czech version like my Grandma made when I was a kid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliek May 19, 2003

This easy to follow recipe yields the fluffiest most delicious kolaches I've ever had. I baked the sweet and savory and both received rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 19, 2015

this looks exactly like the recipe i have been searching for! i was born and raised in west, texas. home of the original kolache fest :) now i'm living in georgia and no one knows what they are. lol. only problem now is i decided to diet before finding this recipe and that calorie count almost made me faint! will have to splurge now

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefjess819 January 23, 2012

This is such a great recipe. My family is from Czechoslovakia and this reminds me of them. I have had so many compliments on the recipe. Thanks for posting it. I am making another batch tomorrow for my book club.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmscunningham September 13, 2009

I love these even if I am not Czech but it seems my mom (German) knows a lot of Czech recipes and made these often. I never ask for the recipe from her and here it is all translated. I made these with cream cheese filling and the Posypka on top it was OH SO YUMMY!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Ri October 21, 2008

Growing up both my mom and grandma always made kolaches (we are Czech) during the holidays, but this year we weren't able to make it home so I decided to make try your recipe and they turned out super awesome!! They tasted exactly like the ones I always ate back home. They were light and fluffy and so, so delicious. I used a cherry filling that my mom uses. Thank you so much for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa from OK January 11, 2008

Amazing! I grew up eating Kolache's as a child in central Texas. The art of making them passed with my grandmother. For years I've been testing recipes and has failed at each attempt. I moved from Texas to SC where no one has ever heard of a Kolache so there are certainly no place to by them. These were awesome! Thanks Steve!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klhoke August 12, 2007

Made this recipe and it turned out great! Taste wonderful! Can't wait to make it again! Thank you so much for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Mayer December 28, 2006

I made these for my wife's side of the family (who are Slovac/Hungarian) and got rave reviews and multiple requests for the recipe. To save time I did the first rising overnight in the refrigerator. Worked fine and the chilled dough was easier to handle. Also made some with an apple filling for the younger ones who were hesitant about prunes and apricots. Great recipe - thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyHenFarm November 07, 2006
Sweet Kolache Recipe