Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Kolache Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Kolache Recipe

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2003

      Thank you so much for this recipe. I've looked a long time for and authentic Czech version like my Grandma made when I was a kid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      this looks exactly like the recipe i have been searching for! i was born and raised in west, texas. home of the original kolache fest :) now i'm living in georgia and no one knows what they are. lol. only problem now is i decided to diet before finding this recipe and that calorie count almost made me faint! will have to splurge now

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is such a great recipe. My family is from Czechoslovakia and this reminds me of them. I have had so many compliments on the recipe. Thanks for posting it. I am making another batch tomorrow for my book club.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I love these even if I am not Czech but it seems my mom (German) knows a lot of Czech recipes and made these often. I never ask for the recipe from her and here it is all translated. I made these with cream cheese filling and the Posypka on top it was OH SO YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Growing up both my mom and grandma always made kolaches (we are Czech) during the holidays, but this year we weren't able to make it home so I decided to make try your recipe and they turned out super awesome!! They tasted exactly like the ones I always ate back home. They were light and fluffy and so, so delicious. I used a cherry filling that my mom uses. Thank you so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Part of my growing up years was in a small town in Iowa (Spillville) where the old Czech women still make kolaches daily so I grew up always loving kolaches and using my mom's handed down recipe. Then I thought maybe I could improve on this a bit and found your recipe. I have the say overall the kolaches turned out softer and lighter than previous - success! The only difference is that I used 1 ounce of dry yeast rather than the 3 packages (3/4 ounce) and since I grew up eating closed kolaches I left the yeast rise, kneaded again just slightly, let rise again, made into kolaches, let rise one last time and baked - excellent. For filling I did something a little different this time by using cherries in some, apples in some, ham and cheese (a huge hit with my husband) and also a cheesecake type of filling in which I used 1 package cheesecake flavored instant pudding (mixed in just 1 c. of milk rather than 2 c. so the consistency is nice and thick) and added it to 1 1/2 packages (I forget the ounce, just the regular size) cream cheese with a touch of sugar to taste, creamed and added it the center filling of the kolaches, some by itself, others mixed with the cherries - turned out fantastic. My mom is going to be so jealous - thanks Steve! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Amazing! I grew up eating Kolache's as a child in central Texas. The art of making them passed with my grandmother. For years I've been testing recipes and has failed at each attempt. I moved from Texas to SC where no one has ever heard of a Kolache so there are certainly no place to by them. These were awesome! Thanks Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Made this recipe and it turned out great! Taste wonderful! Can't wait to make it again! Thank you so much for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      I made these for my wife's side of the family (who are Slovac/Hungarian) and got rave reviews and multiple requests for the recipe. To save time I did the first rising overnight in the refrigerator. Worked fine and the chilled dough was easier to handle. Also made some with an apple filling for the younger ones who were hesitant about prunes and apricots. Great recipe - thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I have looked for a recipe like my grandmothers for years and this was so close i couldnt believe it...thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I am not Czech but love kolaches. I made this recipe with cream cheese and apricots. I took them to a Good Sam cookout and had nothing but praise and people could not belive that I had really made them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      Perfect kolaches Steve! I lost my old recipe for kolaches, mabey just as well, as I really have to say I think I like this one even better. I prepared the dough on my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, and the dough was really nice and tender. I made the cabbage filling this time. We just could not stop eating them, I cannot wait to make these again...I am going to try all of the fillings LOL! Thank you for an outstanding recipe Steve...this is worth 100 stars!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Kolache Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1012.8
     
    Calories from Fat 368
    36%
    Total Fat 40.9 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 162.4 mg
    54%
    Sodium 878.8 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 148.5 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 90.9 g
    363%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried pitted prunes

    lemons, zest of

    lemons, rind of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites