Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Italian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Italian Chili

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2013

      I'm making this for the fourth time today in two months. I tripled the recipe for a small party and there were no leftovers - everyone loves it. This is now a staple in our house. It's hearty and robust for Dad, and not spicy and sweet for Mom. I don't add water since we like our chili thick. I always cook my meat seperately from my onions so I don't have to worry about under/over cooking them. Everything goes in the crockpot once the chili is assembled for at least three hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This is our favorite chili. A winter staple. I add mushrooms and extras on the other veggies (tastes great, extra healthy!) I've also made it with ground turkey and found it to be equally good. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! Just the right amount of saucy and hearty. Thank you GIngerbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This was pretty good, definitely didn't burn the tummy like most chilis do. My dad didn't care much for it, because he likes traditional chili. I thought this would be a nice compromise since mom doesn't like spicey foods. Haha! Ah, well, it was a good little meal with a spinach salad and a side of strawberries. Thanks for the opportunity to try something unique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I didn't have a dutch oven so I just cooked the ground beef in a skillet. I had trouble getting the onions to saute without burning the meat. I would suggest cooking them up separately at the same time the ground beef is cooking. Otherwise, this was pretty simple to make and did taste good. I give it 3 stars because I 'like it'. I just don't think sweet chili is for me. I might try it again though without adding the sugar. If you really like a spicy chili you'll need to add some additional spice. It wasn't hot at all, and it isn't supposed to be. It's a great recipe to make for kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Absolutely amazing Chili! I cooked up the ground beef, cut up the veggies and threw all in the crockpot and put it on Low for 6 hours and it was excellent - a very tasty, sweet Chili! (I made the recipe as stated, except put in a few teaspoons of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder.) My family and I loved it and it's a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Gingerbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I prepared the recipe exactly as stated. At that point, it was a 4* recipe. For my tastes, it needed just a little more spice. I added about 1/4 tsp. more of salt, chili powder and cumin and it was perfect. That made it 5*. I really like a hotter chili, but wanted one a little less spicy to use in a casserole. This one is perfect for anyone who likes a slightly sweet and less spicy chili. I'm making a casserole with a cornbread top, and I think this will be just what the recipe needs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      For someone who doesn't like "regular" chili, I love this! I halved the recipe and cooked it on low on the stove for 2 hrs and yielded three cups total. I used lean ground venison for the meat, and I added some extra basil and Italian seasoning as well. I have been eating it inside a warm flour tortilla with a little velveeta mixed in...very good! Thanks~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Delicious. My seriously spice challenged family (they don't even like salt and pepper..) loved this, no complaints. I only made a few changes - 3 packages of Splenda instead of sugar, and extra tsps of cumin and chili powder. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      A bit on the sweet side for us, so we upped the chili powder and the cumin, and added red pepper flakes. The extra kick made it just right for us. Thanks, gingerbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      This recipe was a little too sweet for me so I added some more chili powder and cumin. I also added a little crushed red pepper. But, I loved the way is was sweet and then spicy. It was an awesome change to the same old chili. I also didn't have any cloves so I omitted them. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      This was a great recipe. Lot of interesting flavors. It is very thick, but that's the way we like it. It was just a little too sweet for us, felt like it overpowered the other seasoning. DD had the idea of putting sweet corn in it instead of the sugar so next time we are going to try that. Will definitely make again though! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      This is now one of my favorites!! The leftovers were even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Yum, Yum. Only thing I did different was to use dried parsley cause I was out of fresh (actually bought cilantro by mistake!!!!). I strayed from using my recent "usual" recipe because I wanted to try and replicate the flavor of the chili from Nick's Chili Parlor in Indianapolis. It's been years since I had that chili, but the flavor of this was so good I think I can quit looking. Wasn't overly sweet, just plain good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! Very easy to make, looks good and tastes better. My fiance has already asked me to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      My boyfriend went crazy over this chili!!! congrats!!! GREAT RECIPE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      made this vegetarian by using baby portobello mushrooms that i first sauteed in olive oil, garlic and sea salt then followed the recipe exactly subbing those for the meat. couldnt be simpler to make. very good taste, and nice texture; not too thick and not too thin. i did add a bit of hot sauce to it as i like things spicey but even without the flavor was great. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      This is my favorite chili recipe. I've been trying a bunch and this one out does them all. I've had to give the recipe out to anyone I've made it for. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      Nice dish. DH, who is a chili lover, loved it. We had it with corn muffin from Sweet Cornbread; very good. Lacks a bit of spicyness but nothing that a bit of hot sauce in your bowl cannot fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Yum! Will definitely make again. I used half as much water and a couple teaspoons of cloves, and I added a cup of chopped carrot and substituted 4 tablespoons of minced garlic for the garlic powder. Next time I'll bump up the bell pepper and onion to at least a cup each and use half as much chili powder, as I found it too spicy (but I don't like spicy food at all).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Italian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.2
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    27%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1265.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    95% lean ground beef

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes