32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm making this for the fourth time today in two months. I tripled the recipe for a small party and there were no leftovers - everyone loves it. This is now a staple in our house. It's hearty and robust for Dad, and not spicy and sweet for Mom. I don't add water since we like our chili thick. I always cook my meat seperately from my onions so I don't have to worry about under/over cooking them. Everything goes in the crockpot once the chili is assembled for at least three hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HJMcChristian February 03, 2013

This is our favorite chili. A winter staple. I add mushrooms and extras on the other veggies (tastes great, extra healthy!) I've also made it with ground turkey and found it to be equally good. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farflight8 July 16, 2011

Absolutely delicious! Just the right amount of saucy and hearty. Thank you GIngerbear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misterknite March 27, 2011

This was pretty good, definitely didn't burn the tummy like most chilis do. My dad didn't care much for it, because he likes traditional chili. I thought this would be a nice compromise since mom doesn't like spicey foods. Haha! Ah, well, it was a good little meal with a spinach salad and a side of strawberries. Thanks for the opportunity to try something unique!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook April 23, 2008

I didn't have a dutch oven so I just cooked the ground beef in a skillet. I had trouble getting the onions to saute without burning the meat. I would suggest cooking them up separately at the same time the ground beef is cooking. Otherwise, this was pretty simple to make and did taste good. I give it 3 stars because I 'like it'. I just don't think sweet chili is for me. I might try it again though without adding the sugar. If you really like a spicy chili you'll need to add some additional spice. It wasn't hot at all, and it isn't supposed to be. It's a great recipe to make for kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky February 13, 2008

Absolutely amazing Chili! I cooked up the ground beef, cut up the veggies and threw all in the crockpot and put it on Low for 6 hours and it was excellent - a very tasty, sweet Chili! (I made the recipe as stated, except put in a few teaspoons of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder.) My family and I loved it and it's a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Gingerbear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyzgirl14 January 21, 2008

I prepared the recipe exactly as stated. At that point, it was a 4* recipe. For my tastes, it needed just a little more spice. I added about 1/4 tsp. more of salt, chili powder and cumin and it was perfect. That made it 5*. I really like a hotter chili, but wanted one a little less spicy to use in a casserole. This one is perfect for anyone who likes a slightly sweet and less spicy chili. I'm making a casserole with a cornbread top, and I think this will be just what the recipe needs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ November 03, 2007

For someone who doesn't like "regular" chili, I love this! I halved the recipe and cooked it on low on the stove for 2 hrs and yielded three cups total. I used lean ground venison for the meat, and I added some extra basil and Italian seasoning as well. I have been eating it inside a warm flour tortilla with a little velveeta mixed in...very good! Thanks~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridinthewind October 21, 2007

Delicious. My seriously spice challenged family (they don't even like salt and pepper..) loved this, no complaints. I only made a few changes - 3 packages of Splenda instead of sugar, and extra tsps of cumin and chili powder. Amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i_peters September 15, 2007

A bit on the sweet side for us, so we upped the chili powder and the cumin, and added red pepper flakes. The extra kick made it just right for us. Thanks, gingerbear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish June 13, 2007
Sweet Italian Chili