23 Reviews

I already have a great method for making tea with regular-size tea bags, but for some reason, I always have the family-size bags in the pantry. This turned out far too weak. It hardly tasted like tea at all. I will try again using this for only 1/2 gallon and see if that works better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch November 20, 2010

This is really good, but a bit weak for me. Seems like the tea bags are smaller than they used to be, puzzling. At any rate, I added 2 more bags to another cup of boiling water and it was better. Will definitely use this method, just use more tea bags.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! June 30, 2010

Good ice tea, but it might be a little weak for some. I will continue to make it using 1/2 c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar for myself. Hubby's doctor said tea was a no-no for hubby as it is kidney stone causing in some people. I've definitely cut back on tea since I've learned about the kidney stones, but I love iced tea and your recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby April 11, 2010

Nothing more delicious when it's hot then delicious Iced Tea and this one lived up to its stars.... All 5 of them! I squirted in some fresh lemon and man oh man was it good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchieWitchyGoo September 02, 2009

Let me start off by saying hello to a fellow Texas!! I love sweet tea! Drink it probably too much..ha!! I wanted to try your recipe after reading the reviews. I did make it exactly as you said and my tea turned out just a tad weak. I may decrease the water amt and then it should be just right!! Thanks Mama for taking the time to share your recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherismiley July 26, 2009

This recipe was made on 7/7/09 for the " Comfort Cafe " event. And since I'm the only one in the household that drinks sweet tea, this recipe was cut in half. I used 4 regular sized tea bags, 1 cup of water, and a little bit more than 1/2 cup of sugar. Then the rest of the recipe was made as written. I'm from the South, and I've had alot of sweet tea in my life and this is some of the best tea I've ever had. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 08, 2009

Great iced tea, but of course Mama would know how to make it! I couldn't find family-sized tea bags in my grocery store so I used 6 regular sized Lipton tea bags and it seemed to work out fine. Perfect with a little squeeze of lemon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 September 21, 2008

Absolute perfection! I normally make sun tea, but I like this tea a lot better. This is my favorite summertime beverage and it doesn't get any better, or easier, than this. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, mama. Made for July, 2008 Bevy Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 August 02, 2008

Have made this a number of times in the past few weeks (using Splenda) and it is an absolutely wonderful thirst quencher on a hot summer day. Such an easy recipe too. All I do is remember 3...2...1... for the ingredients. Doesn't get any simpler than that!! Many thanks for posting such a delicious iced tea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nova Scotia Cook July 22, 2008

This reminds me of how my grandmother use to make tea in Alabama. We love it! So easy to make and taste so refreshing on a hot summer day. I used Splenda as well and a sliced lemon. Thanks for sharing (Made for Bevy Tag July 08) Cheers ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) July 22, 2008
Sweet Iced Tea