Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Hawaiian Yeast Bread (bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Hawaiian Yeast Bread (bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      I was looking for a recipe to make King's Hawaiian Bread. While this isn't an exact duplicate, I found the bread very good. It was sweet and did have the pineapple flavor I was wanting. I used the dough cycle & then formed into 12 rolls placing in a 11x13 pan. After rising I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees. The rolls were light & fluffy with a tender texture. A definite keeper! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I made this recipe as written but substituted fresh milk instead of dried. It worked perfectly but I will note that I used an expensive bread flour which was 'ideal' for sweet breads. It really worked because my husband and my picky MIL went nuts over this bread. A winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I was too lazy to go to the store for pineapple juice so I juiced oranges and grated about 1 tablespoon of orange zest into the flour. Baked it for 40 minutes at 350*. My house smells so good! Gonna make orange honey butter to go on it. I did have to cover the top with a sheet of foil because it browned so fast, but that's the nature of sweet bread! Thanks for posting this yummy recipe! SA ;) PS I also subbed 2 T of cream for the powdered milk because I was still too lazy to go to the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      It does not taste like King's Hawaiian Bread at ALL. I don't know why people think this is even close. Having said that, it's still delish. It's not as sweet as I imagined, but it has enough to give that golden glow and make you THINK it's a lot sweeter than it really is, which is just fine by me. Who needs the extra calories? What it IS really great for are dinner rolls. I think most people would enjoy this recipe over those fattening crescent rolls. These are great right out of the oven, though I did have to slap some butter on it (just a smidgen). Thanks for sharing (esp. those who gave directions about how to make them into rolls instead of a loaf in the bread maker).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I'm now making this for the second time in a week, Family loves it!! This time I will mix in the ABM then bake in the oven as rolls. I'm not a baker but i'm learning quick and this is a great learning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      This bread was very good, but not quite what I was expecting. I would call it a great bread for sandwiches or toasted with butter. Not necessarily a "sweet" bread and as others have said, does not taste like King's Hawaiian bread. Had a nice tender crumb and sliced easily. Enjoyed this very much and will make again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I tried this with C4C gluten free flour, and it didn't rise at all. the flavor of the bread is great, though, so I'm going to try again, this time in my conventional oven and see if it works. I will review again then.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      This recipe has made the best bread ever that has come out of my bread machine. Very light and fluffy and smells amazing! I didn't have any eggs on hand, so I substituted with a flax egg (1T flax meal + 3T water). I also didn't have any pineapple juice, but took the suggestions from other reviewers of using orange juice. The only orange juice I had in the fridge had some pulp in it, so I ended up using a little more than 1 cup in order to get all the flour incorporated. I premixed all of the ingredients (except for the yeast) by hand, in order to make sure all the flour was incorporated before putting it into my bread machine. I also took the suggestion of a reviewer of mixing all the wet ingredients together before adding to the dry ingredients. I think for the next loaf I will try using almond milk instead of the powdered milk to make the bread vegan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Made this one for Thanksgiving...and received lots of compliments! Put it in my "favorites"s file. I don't own a bread machine anymore, so I just made it into rolls and baked them off. I would suggest starting early and giving them an extra rise because it enhances the taste of the yeast. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      It was great nice sweet . The texture was soft .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      The dough rose way too high in my bread machine which made the middle doughy so I had to finish in the oven. It still turned out delicouse! I may have just needed to use slightly less yeast. Next time I will make the adjustment and try it again. No one else seemed to have the same problem so it must have been my mistake. Still, even with the flub, a great, soft slightly sweet bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I made this yesterday and it is DEE- licious!!! Only thing, it took me a little longer for the prep-time. First off, it took me 30 minutes to find my kneading paddle (I looked at least a dozen times in each place I thought it could be!) Then, when I went to get the ingredients, found my DH had used all the eggs, so that consisted of a trip to the market in the next village (I live in a teeny-weeny place) so all together my prep time was almost an hour & a half. But it sure was worth it. Thanks for the recipe! Deb! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Great everyone liked it. Drained juice from can of lite pineapple so it was not as sweet as it could have been but was still very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      It is a nice fluffy light bread. But doesn't taste like King's Hawaiian bread. It's ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Although I did transfer this to the oven to bake, this is the best thing that has come out of my bread machine so far! The first time I tried to make this, I used a pineapple puree/water mixture since I didn't have the juice. I would not recommend doing that. However, as written, this recipe is amazing. I halved the recipe (halving an egg is interesting!), and I let it go on the dough cycle in my bread machine. Then, I shaped them into 6 rolls, placed them in a 9x9 casserole dish sprayed with Pam, let them rise for an hour, and baked them in the oven at 375 F for 10 minutes. I would advise others to watch them as this dough browns pretty fast, but these taste great and have a wonderful texture. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Great bread! We ate this warm, right when it came out, with butter. When we ate it we couldnt tell a difference than any other fresh white breads that I make in the bread maker. It was VERY soft on the inside and the outside was nice and chewy how we like it. After it sat and cooled, the next day I had a slice and I could then definitely tell the sweetness in it! Very good! Maybe it being eaten warm was hiding the sweetness. But it was delicious both ways! I will make again, great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This recipe is FANTASTIC! It was sweet and delicious just like the Kings bread at the store.
      My husband and I LOVED it! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Can't figure out what went wrong, but this bread was a dismal failure for me today. Followed the recipe to a T other than swapping pasteurized milk in place of dry milk. It didn't rise much and the taste and texture are just plain strange (almost bitter). I'm so sad as I was really looking forward to this bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Good recipe. Mixed on dough cycle in ABM, then baked in the oven. Used AP flour and mango honey. Really nice looking, tall loaf. Can't comment on the flavour as I gave it away, but I will make another one for myself later on and update my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      wonderful sweet bread!! has good flavor and will add a little bit of sugar next time. had made in bread machine and used sweet bread setting on light. also used regular flour and added two TBSP of extra pineapple juice. Thanks for yet another great recipe Chris!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Hawaiian Yeast Bread (bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.8
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    17%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 157.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites