58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking for a recipe to make King's Hawaiian Bread. While this isn't an exact duplicate, I found the bread very good. It was sweet and did have the pineapple flavor I was wanting. I used the dough cycle & then formed into 12 rolls placing in a 11x13 pan. After rising I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees. The rolls were light & fluffy with a tender texture. A definite keeper! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D July 19, 2010

I was too lazy to go to the store for pineapple juice so I juiced oranges and grated about 1 tablespoon of orange zest into the flour. Baked it for 40 minutes at 350*. My house smells so good! Gonna make orange honey butter to go on it. I did have to cover the top with a sheet of foil because it browned so fast, but that's the nature of sweet bread! Thanks for posting this yummy recipe! SA ;) PS I also subbed 2 T of cream for the powdered milk because I was still too lazy to go to the store!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent March 30, 2010

I made this recipe as written but substituted fresh milk instead of dried. It worked perfectly but I will note that I used an expensive bread flour which was 'ideal' for sweet breads. It really worked because my husband and my picky MIL went nuts over this bread. A winner!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook September 10, 2009

It does not taste like King's Hawaiian Bread at ALL. I don't know why people think this is even close. Having said that, it's still delish. It's not as sweet as I imagined, but it has enough to give that golden glow and make you THINK it's a lot sweeter than it really is, which is just fine by me. Who needs the extra calories? What it IS really great for are dinner rolls. I think most people would enjoy this recipe over those fattening crescent rolls. These are great right out of the oven, though I did have to slap some butter on it (just a smidgen). Thanks for sharing (esp. those who gave directions about how to make them into rolls instead of a loaf in the bread maker).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allamericangirl2000 December 30, 2011

I'm now making this for the second time in a week, Family loves it!! This time I will mix in the ABM then bake in the oven as rolls. I'm not a baker but i'm learning quick and this is a great learning recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FireCaptJim October 30, 2011

This bread was very good, but not quite what I was expecting. I would call it a great bread for sandwiches or toasted with butter. Not necessarily a "sweet" bread and as others have said, does not taste like King's Hawaiian bread. Had a nice tender crumb and sliced easily. Enjoyed this very much and will make again. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 17, 2014

Made this one for Thanksgiving...and received lots of compliments! Put it in my "favorites"s file. I don't own a bread machine anymore, so I just made it into rolls and baked them off. I would suggest starting early and giving them an extra rise because it enhances the taste of the yeast. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Gay December 05, 2013

I tried this with C4C gluten free flour, and it didn't rise at all. the flavor of the bread is great, though, so I'm going to try again, this time in my conventional oven and see if it works. I will review again then.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LimeHatKitty April 12, 2013

This was my first time trying a Hawaiian sweet bread and found it very flavorful. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for but my family devoured this one quickly. Thanks for sharing. Made for What's on the Menu tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 23, 2015

I would love to try this recipe, but I do not own a bread machine. Will try this recipe by hand and see how it comes out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teacha.knowles January 28, 2015
Sweet Hawaiian Yeast Bread (bread Machine)