Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet English Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet English Peas

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2005

      This is exactally how Mum used to cook her peas! Yum! Since I was boiling potatoes on the stove top (and to save an extra pot) I placed my peas into tin foil, added fresh mint then folded up the tin foil and sat it on top of the potatoes. Once heated through I followed truebrit's recipe exactally. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      YUM!! These were really good . . . I mean really good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These taste like the peas I had while growing up! I used frozen peas and dried mint and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. Super yummy! Made for Englands virtual culinary tour 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I was looking for a quick and easy way to fix peas to go with meatloaf, and this hit the spot perfectly. I had some Penzey's dried spearmint on hand, and it made for an absolutely delicious light sauce. What a wonderful discovery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

    • on August 07, 2005

      This is a great way to dress up frozen peas. I microwaved the peas and then added the additional ingredients and returned to the microwave for an additional minute. Served these with Garlic Red Mashed Potatoes Garlic Red Mashed Potatoes and Terrific Meat Loaf Terrific Meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      We have peas quite a lot in my house..sometimes I buy minted peas but these are so much nicer..I used dry mint and splenda instead of the sugar. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Memories, that is what these bring back, my mother always cooked her peas this way and I did years ago. Why did I forget. Will certainly go back to doing this again. Used fresh mint as I have it growing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      I made this tonite because I tagged it for the letter S and I am SOO glad I made it. I used dried mint sent to me by evelyn/athens from Greece and it really complimented the peas. My 3 yr old even ate it and he never eats veggies! I will be making this again! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      So simple but what a difference- I had to use dried mint but even that gave a lovely flavor. The bit of sugar is the secret I think. When I have mint in the garden I always put a sprig in with my fresh peas but I have never added sugar.Thanks truebrit for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet English Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.2
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    54%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 107.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes