Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2010

      I don't give out many 5s, but I LOVED this! It had this mysterious tang to it that was just perfect. I am guessing because I used Granny Smith apples. I used more like 1 cup coconut milk and 3/4 cups water, because I love coconut milk! I also used more sweet potatoes. It was a 12 oz precut bag, so maybe more like 2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This dish has a wonderful mix of flavors. But, it is definitely not a casserole. I've made it twice. The first time, I added the full amount of water and it was way too watery. This time, I only added 1/3 c. of water and it still turned out more like a stew than a casserole. A very delicious stew though. I'll try it again with a lot less liquid. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I found this recipe for my son who wanted a curry dish to bring to a potluck. I tasted it before he left and had to keep a big bowl for myself. I have made it several times and find that I like it best cooked in the slow cooker rather than in the stove - maybe the flavours meld better. Either way it is easy and so delicious, even more so after a couple of days in the fridge. Thank you for a recipe that has become a keeper for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Not sure I would call this a "casserole," but it is super easy and darn tasty. Prep time was only 10 minutes for me (I'm not a chopping perfectionist). I used fresh ginger and next time I will increase the spices and add some hot pepper. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      Most delicious. Made it yesterday and let it sit for a day. Had it tonight. Great! I only added one can 14oz can of coconut milk. I'll put a little chili powder in it next time. Also, a pinch more salt. Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Great dish !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Updated review: have made this a few times now and have taken parts of the other version of this (#218447) and made it a little healthier. Hubby's on a low-carb diet so I omitted the sweet potato (tho it's great w/it) and used broccoli and carrots in place. I used 7oz reduced fat cocount milk + about 4oz of water and that made a good sauce for me. Also used 1.5 TB Patak's mild curry paste, granny smith apple, low-sodium chickpeas and minced jarred ginger instead of powder. I think it's close to perfect now :). The curry flavor definitely improves the next day so i recommend making it a day in advance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This was very easy to make in the slow cooker. I doubled the recipe but only used one apple - it seemed to be sweet enough that way. I finished it off with the juice of half a lemon and some red pepper flakes - delicious over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This is simple, versatile and tasty. I doubled it and made it on the stove top, serving over brown rice. I also cut down the curry and upped the cumin so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. Thanks for posting! We'll continue to use this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I made this as the bisque and the prep took me about 35 minutes (I tend to be on the slow side). The only change I made was to fully pureed the soup instead of 3/4. We really liked this recipe, although I may add just a little less water next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      DELICIOUS! I used yellow curry instead of all the spices listed because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe and used about 4 tablespoons curry. YUM! It tasted wonderful and we all felt so healthy eating it. Thanks, death by parsnip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This is yummy and very easy to make. I needed it to be more spicy though. I added some Thai sweet chili sauce and that made it perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      Was very tasty and seems to be adaptable. I anticipate playing around with this dish to see what it can become.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Delicious recipe. Easy to make. Cooks quickly. Nice and healthy. I like a bit more spice, but it was loved by everyone who tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.9
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    24%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 796.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 36.0 g
    144%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites