14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't give out many 5s, but I LOVED this! It had this mysterious tang to it that was just perfect. I am guessing because I used Granny Smith apples. I used more like 1 cup coconut milk and 3/4 cups water, because I love coconut milk! I also used more sweet potatoes. It was a 12 oz precut bag, so maybe more like 2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neomia May 05, 2010

This dish has a wonderful mix of flavors. But, it is definitely not a casserole. I've made it twice. The first time, I added the full amount of water and it was way too watery. This time, I only added 1/3 c. of water and it still turned out more like a stew than a casserole. A very delicious stew though. I'll try it again with a lot less liquid. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki November 15, 2008

I found this recipe for my son who wanted a curry dish to bring to a potluck. I tasted it before he left and had to keep a big bowl for myself. I have made it several times and find that I like it best cooked in the slow cooker rather than in the stove - maybe the flavours meld better. Either way it is easy and so delicious, even more so after a couple of days in the fridge. Thank you for a recipe that has become a keeper for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gluten Free Peony March 21, 2008

Not sure I would call this a "casserole," but it is super easy and darn tasty. Prep time was only 10 minutes for me (I'm not a chopping perfectionist). I used fresh ginger and next time I will increase the spices and add some hot pepper. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne February 03, 2008

Most delicious. Made it yesterday and let it sit for a day. Had it tonight. Great! I only added one can 14oz can of coconut milk. I'll put a little chili powder in it next time. Also, a pinch more salt. Great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yohandre@bellsouth.net November 13, 2013

Great dish !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doug2 scott December 09, 2011

Updated review: have made this a few times now and have taken parts of the other version of this (#218447) and made it a little healthier. Hubby's on a low-carb diet so I omitted the sweet potato (tho it's great w/it) and used broccoli and carrots in place. I used 7oz reduced fat cocount milk + about 4oz of water and that made a good sauce for me. Also used 1.5 TB Patak's mild curry paste, granny smith apple, low-sodium chickpeas and minced jarred ginger instead of powder. I think it's close to perfect now :). The curry flavor definitely improves the next day so i recommend making it a day in advance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dre S March 23, 2010

This was very easy to make in the slow cooker. I doubled the recipe but only used one apple - it seemed to be sweet enough that way. I finished it off with the juice of half a lemon and some red pepper flakes - delicious over brown rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellybelly1980 December 28, 2009

This is simple, versatile and tasty. I doubled it and made it on the stove top, serving over brown rice. I also cut down the curry and upped the cumin so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. Thanks for posting! We'll continue to use this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. November 24, 2009

I made this as the bisque and the prep took me about 35 minutes (I tend to be on the slow side). The only change I made was to fully pureed the soup instead of 3/4. We really liked this recipe, although I may add just a little less water next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mctet December 17, 2007
Sweet Curry Chickpea Casserole