364 Reviews

This is a great recipe ... there are several tweaks that can be done to get even more flavor out of it: skew the flour to cornmeal ratio... it's CORNBREAD :) i make mine with only 3/4C flour and 1 1/4C cornmeal .. the extra cornmeal makes for a richer flavor ... also increased salt to 1 tsp .. and reduced oil to 1/4C perfection when made in a cast iron skillet

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strobotron January 25, 2010

This is a GREAT recipe. I was looking for a cornbread recipe that was a little sweeter than a lot of the others I had found. After reading several of the reviews, I knew this would be a good one. Like some others, I chose to make this in my 12 inch iron skillet and it came out perfect. I greased the skillet and put it in the oven as it was preheating. I mixed the ingredients, poured into the skillet and then drizzled a little honey over the top for some added sweetness. Bottom line? My family can't get enough of this. They love it. I baked it for exactly 29 minutes at 350 degrees. If you don't have an iron skillet, do yourself a favor and get one. They aren't expensive and you'll thank me for nudging you in that direction. Enjoy.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djnoble1 May 08, 2010

This is everything I've ever wanted in cornbread! So good you can eat it plain for dessert. I've never been fond of cornbread because its always been way too dry, crumbly and crusty for my tastes. This cornbread is cake-like in texture, NO crumbles...super moist...and the truly great thing was it STAYED that way....even after it had been sitting for a couple hours and totally cooled off. I went to have a leftover slice, and it was still moist, soft, sweet and wonderful. After reading recipes and reviews, the dryer, crustier, crumblier cornbread is very Southern, and the sweet cake-like cornbread is considered Yankee. You might like only one type, or both for different occasions. This recipe gets tops for the Yankee style! I'm making another pan right now for dinner again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larahafen October 09, 2011

This cornbread was fantastic! Just sweet enough, and nice and moist. I used Skim Plus milk and lowfat margarine, and it still came out great. One suggestion: I find that this recipe doesn't have quite enough corn flavor, so I up the cornmeal (I use yellow) to 3/4 cup, and only use 1 1/4 cup regular flower. Comes out even better this way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffjelo December 27, 2009

Loved this! Made this as suggested by another reviewer with 3/4c flour and 1 1/4 cornmeal and in the muffin tins. It was awesome...the perfect accompaniment to a vegi chili. Thanks so much Mike Garcia.............

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender October 15, 2012

This is by far the best cornbread I have EVER had! I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup though since we don't like things too sweet. I made mine in a square 8x8 glass baking dish. It came out perfect. I especially love how moist it came out, many cornbreads seem to be dry to me. I will make this often, thanks for posting!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl July 05, 2011

I have been making this recipe for over a year now and have finally found the time to submit a review. This is the best cornbread I have ever had. It comes out perfect every time. My family eats a gluten and egg free diet, so I substitute a gluten free flour mix and egg substitute and it is still perfect. I sometimes make this recipe in a muffin-top pan and use them as buns for hamburgers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broiledpotato July 24, 2010

Ooh, this is my favorite, too! I didn't know the recipe was posted or I'd have reviewed long ago. I've made these with white whole wheat flour, super-ripe banana instead of oil, grade B maple syrup for part of the sugar, etc. A very flexible recipe. I always either make muffin tops or use a 9 inch pan to make the bread a little shorter, because I think the crust is the best part, and I always leave out the melted butter with no problems. Truly excellent cornbread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. May 01, 2010

I thought I had reviewed this before! I've made this at least 20 times. We always use cast iron and add jalapenos and cut the sugar in half. Is this really the only recipe he's posted? Encore, please!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl December 03, 2012

Great Recipe....simple as that.
It's hard to find a simple, lower fat, GREAT TASTING cornbread recipe on the myriad food sites.
This one fits that bill to a T.
I made a few modest changes. Sugar 1/3 cup, cornmeal 3/4 cup, milk 1 cup, frozen corn 1/2 cup, flour 1 1/4 cup, whipped butter 1.5 tbsp(pre-melt). The offset in milk is for the corn kernel add. It was plenty sweet with the 1/3 cup. I used a brush to wipe whipped butter lightly on the top. The convection bake took the full 35 minutes at 350.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billbrout December 15, 2011
Sweet Cornbread