Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    197 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 197

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2009

      This is soooo good. I made this for a family bbq and it was delicious. This is sweet and moist and yummy. I ususally use butter and honey on my cornbread but this is good enough on its own. My nephew kept wanting another piece of "cake".....lol. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

    • on August 24, 2009

      very very good this is not gritty like most

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      The only way I will eat cornbread is if it is sweet! This was a little too sweet by itself, but when i crumbled it in with my ham and butterbeans, it was delish! Next time I make it, I will cut back a little on the sugar. Otherwise, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      DH and DS loved this bread, and said it tasted a lot like Chi-Chi's Sweet Corn Cake. Very dense, sweet, and satisfying; a great accompaniment to Chili Con Carne With Beans Chili Con Carne With Beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Wonderful, Great cornbread when I took it out of the pan everyone was amazed at how lite and fluffy it was. I doubled the recipe and added more honey. I also added 10 more minutes to the cook time. As it was cooling I covered the top with melted better. It did not need any butter added to it when we ate it. A huge hit with the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Wow, this cornbread was AMAZING. Sweet, moist, light, mmm. My mom actually said it's the best cornbread she's ever had, and I agree. I'll definitely be using this recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Excellent cornbread and so good with our dish of kidney beans and burger pattys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I have not made cornbread in years and didn't want to use a mix. This was rated highly and I know why. Yummy Yummy Yummy. Great recipe...almost like desert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      This is pretty good, though I'm used to a lot more cornmeal in my cornbread, and less sugar. Might have to play around with the proportions a bit on this one, but overall, it's pretty decent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I've made this recipe for years. I got it from Steph's kitchen too. It's absolutely fabulous. My family refuses it eat Jiffy mix anymore. We make muffins with it too. Also I use a rectangular pan (about 7 by 10) instead of square which helps the middle cook better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Very good. I used some ww pastry flour, added a can of corn, subbed 1/2 c of sucanat w/the sugar, and doubled it into a 12" cast iron skillet. Only one problem--I forgot the salt! Not to worry, the little bit from the butter helped, though it still tasted more like cake than bread. The texture was lovely and yummy. I'm sure the salt would take it to perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Excellent recipe - I have never made any changes, and I wouldn't want to! Everyone in my household loves it :) It is never dry, has just the right amount of sweetness, and doesn't have that nasty grittiness that sometimes occurs when there is too much cornmeal, and not enough flour. This is my go to recipe for cornbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      We all loved this cornbread! This is the best cornbread I have ever had! My kids loved it as well. It was just sweet enough and light and airy but didn't fall apart. We don't like bits of corn in our bread, so we loved this. Some Southerners might not like the sweetness of this cornbread as they are used to no sugar in their cornbread and to them it will taste like what they call "Johnny Cake", but man is this stuff awesome! Gotta give it a try! Very easy to make. Will make over and over again. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I thought this came out fantastic, and it was so easy! It had a nice balance of sweet to it and didn't come out dry at all (as cornbreads can sometimes do!). I also brushed the top with melted butter and lightly sprinkled with sugar once it came out of the oven, as suggested by other reviewers. Yum! Thanks for the fantastic recipe! Will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      By far the best cornbread I've had. I didn't even use butter or honey on mine! It was so moist and sweet it could stand alone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Fabulous!! Ty ty ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This is the best cornbread ever!!! I take it to my bible study almost every week and it gets gobbled up each and every time! There is NEVER anything left!!! 5 Stars from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I made this as a request for a friend from Mississippi, and he said it was great. I thought it was good too, but I was told I don't know anything because I'm a Yankee lol. Thanks Lvs, it was simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is the best cornbread recipe I have ever found. Coming from the north, cornbread is not a normal choice here. This one is terrific! I admit it being sweet is part of why I like it but it was also very easy to make and it is moist and tasty. We had it with catfish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.3
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    42%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 42.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 239.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites