212 Reviews

If you are looking for a heavy, gritty, dry cornbread recipe this isn't it! I found it in a dinner post & so glad I did. It's much better then Boston Markets cornbread & much, much better then Jiffy with a yellow cake mix added to it. I was afraid it was going to be too sweet reading the reviews but it wasn't for us, but we are up north & that's how we like our cornbread. It was light & cake like.
It went perfect with our bowl of chili on this cold winter night. This will be my cornbread recipe to go from now on, no more bought mixes again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoryJean54 January 03, 2013

Best cornbread ever!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
china.doll1978 January 01, 2013

Beautiful, moist and fluffy! I've made this several times now. I've used different combos of white and whole wheat flour with good results no matter what. I skip on the sugar by a few tablespoons. I've added 3 Tbsp. of diced jalepenos, and 1/2 cup of leftover corn on seperate occasions. Both varitations are wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneeumiami December 13, 2012

Just made this tonight. I screwed up and left out one of the eggs- oops. It was still great. Just the right amount of sweet with 1/2 cup sugar. Will definitely make this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeppelincamper December 09, 2012

My new go to recipe for corn bread!! I wanted to make cornbread and was going to pick up the usual box of Jiffy, when I decided to look online for a recipe that sounded good. I saw all the rave reviews and decided to give it a try - so glad I did. Cornbread can sometimes be dry or too dense. This recipe was just right - moist and just the right amount of sweetness. I forgot to add the salt, got distracted tending to the chili that was on the stovetop at the same time, but it tasted delicious anyway. Thanks for sharing Lvs2Cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook4Fun November 30, 2012

This was really good. I didn't have high hopes because there was relatively little cornmeal in it but it worked out well. It was a little more bready and had less of that typical cornbread grit but was really yummy. I might bump up the cornmeal next time but there will be a next time for sure! Thanks Lvs2Cook...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender November 13, 2012

I love this cornbread. I will start by saying one reviewer commented that it tasted oily. I had the same problem at first. I turned to the wonderful community and asked how to fix this problem. One suggested using Canola oil. I bought Canola and made it again. What a HUGE difference. I couldn't taste the oil at all. By far my favorite cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG September 29, 2012

Great cornbread!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovdevine_11807064 September 26, 2012

I was really disappointed in this recipe with such great reviews. I guess Cornbread is one of those things that we each have a different taste for. It was light and fluffy, and that part I liked. But it just tasted so oily to me, and it left a film on my tongue after I ate it. With so many reviews saying it was too sweet, I almost cut back on the sugar, but I like to make a recipe the exact way it's printed the first time I make it, then tweak it as I need/want to. I didn't find it too sweet at all, in fact, I didn't think it was sweet enough for a "sweet" cornbread.

If I were to make it again, and I probably won't, I'd add more sugar and more cornmeal, it was too cakey for my liking. I'm glad so many found it great, but it just didn't do it for me, I guess just a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathey M. September 10, 2012

Amazing recipe, I never have any luck with cornbread until now. I did cut the sugar & salt like suggested in a pervious review, DH is on a diet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csilcox75 August 30, 2012
Sweet Cornbread