Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    197 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 197

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2012

      This was really good. I didn't have high hopes because there was relatively little cornmeal in it but it worked out well. It was a little more bready and had less of that typical cornbread grit but was really yummy. I might bump up the cornmeal next time but there will be a next time for sure! Thanks Lvs2Cook...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I love this cornbread. I will start by saying one reviewer commented that it tasted oily. I had the same problem at first. I turned to the wonderful community and asked how to fix this problem. One suggested using Canola oil. I bought Canola and made it again. What a HUGE difference. I couldn't taste the oil at all. By far my favorite cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Great cornbread!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      I was really disappointed in this recipe with such great reviews. I guess Cornbread is one of those things that we each have a different taste for. It was light and fluffy, and that part I liked. But it just tasted so oily to me, and it left a film on my tongue after I ate it. With so many reviews saying it was too sweet, I almost cut back on the sugar, but I like to make a recipe the exact way it's printed the first time I make it, then tweak it as I need/want to. I didn't find it too sweet at all, in fact, I didn't think it was sweet enough for a "sweet" cornbread.

      If I were to make it again, and I probably won't, I'd add more sugar and more cornmeal, it was too cakey for my liking. I'm glad so many found it great, but it just didn't do it for me, I guess just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Amazing recipe, I never have any luck with cornbread until now. I did cut the sugar & salt like suggested in a pervious review, DH is on a diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Made the first time at Thanksgiving and have been making every since. I have shared the recipe with family and friends as people are always commenting on the bread. I do add creamed corn and diced jalpenos and bake as corn muffins and people just love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Truly an outstanding cornbread recipe!! Perfect in every way...don't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Tasty! I made corn muffins with this recipe. Cooked at 400 degrees for 13-15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly and this was the best cornbread I've ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      This was delicious! I've been searching for a good sweet cornbread recipe. I used 2 C of cornmeal mix instead of the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, and salt., and cooked it in an 8in cast iron skillet (as is southern protocol). The middle didn't quite get done, but my husband raved about it anyway! Next time I'll use the 10in skillet and we should be sitting pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Made this in a 10" Dutch Oven. It turned out very good but would agree that it needs a more corn taste next time will adjust the flour to cornmeal amounts. My wife and I agree that it tasted better the second day as leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I will start with saying that I dislike almost everything made with almost any kind of cornmeal. DH however really likes cornbread so I selected this recipe to try. WOW... while I still dislike almost anything made with cornmeal this recipe is now my sole exception. I found it light, slightly sweet and moist. I ate my share at dinner and could not resist going back throughout the night 'for just another sliver' LOL The following day there was just enough left to toast. :) So good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Very good cornbread. I followed others comments and cut back on the sugar (third less). I did add a little more honey than what is listed on the recipe. The cornbread had a cake like consistancy, which I like. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I am sorry, I did this last week and texture was good but not so corn taste/flavour and I used polenta (dont know if thats the correct ingredient, but I cant find cornflour) and you feel the polenta is not cooked. If you have some hints pls advice thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      This is my favorite cornbread recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      this stuff is soo good, you don't even need to put butter, honey, or honeybutter on it! period! and I'm an avid user of the three with cornbread! thanks, hun for a recipe thats awesome and i always keep on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Wow, I haven't made corn bread in a while and this one was great. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and left out the salt to suit our family preference. The corn bread was sweet enough for us, very moist and delicious. I will be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Excellent thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      As my husband said last night after eating this," its award winning cornbread!" It is my go to cornbread and it is just delish. I've made it at least a dozen times and each time its wonderful, light, and sweet with just the right amount of cornyness. All its needs is a nice plop of warm butter and its a treat all by itself. Seriously awesome recipe. Thanks a ton.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I have never made corn bread and thought it needed to be cooked a bit longer than 35 minutes. Next time I will follow the directions and only cook it for 35 minutes to make sure it stays moist. I will also let is sit a little longer before putting into the oven so it is not as crunchy. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.3
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    42%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 42.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 239.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites