205 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely more than 5 stars!! I usually buy the Marie Callendar's mix but thought I'd try this one. Boy, am I glad I did. Now I don't need to buy anymore mixes and hubby said it's better than Marie Callendar's. So we have found our recipe for cornbread. Thanks so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 26, 2009

This is exactly the type of cornbread I was looking for! Excellent! I did adjust the amounts a little to 1 C. cornmeal and 1 C flour, omitted the butter and used 1 whole egg and 2 whites. It was very moist and had a great light texture. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate January 19, 2006

wow! love this!!!! my sister told me she wants this for Birthday cake. :) thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth_Joy March 27, 2015

This corn bread was awesome,I will definitely continue to make this cornbread recipe. Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheriset1234 March 12, 2015

Tried this recipe and loved it!!! I cooked it a little longer (5 extra minutes) because the middle was still "jiggly" after 35 minutes. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
housekeeper February 17, 2015

We are a cornbread-loving family and this recipe fits the bill! I was looking for a quicker/easier recipe to work in when I don't have as much time, but I think this will be my go to now! I grind my corn and wheat, so I used whole wheat for the flour and it worked great. I halved the recipe for my first go and only used a 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/3 cup, baked at 400 for 18 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfhouser January 11, 2015

These BEST corn bread I've ever tasted!! My whole family loved it and I even let a few friends try it. It doesn't get any better than this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonnethechef December 21, 2014

Simply put, the best cornbread I've ever had!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimiKooks November 20, 2014

Over-mixing is a dangerous thing. <br/><br/>The first time I made this, I ended up with something resembling cake batter. It was a bit runny when I poured it into my baking pan. I figured it was because of the flour to cornbread ratio. It seemed to have baked just fine, but when I cut into it, I immediately noticed that the texture was very dense and even a bit gummy. The flavor was fine so I went with it and cut myself a slice. All was going well until I got a mouth full of baking powder. I don't wish that on anybody, so I'm glad I tasted it myself before serving. <br/><br/>Well, I'm not one to give up so easily, so I tried it again. This time I put the dry ingredients in my mixer and had the whisk going while I added the baking powder and salt. Then I moved the dry ingredients into another container so that I could put the eggs in the mixer. I whisked the eggs for about 5 seconds on medium-low. I added the rest of the wet ingredients to the eggs and whisked them for another 8-10 seconds on medium-low. Then I SWITCHED from the whisk to the flat beater and added the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients in the mixer. I mixed this on the LOWEST speed for about 5 seconds, or just until everything was combined. This time my batter looked much thicker and condensed. This baked perfectly into a light, fluffy texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobree November 11, 2014

Perfect! Followed the recipe as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clevergirl7 September 21, 2014
Sweet Cornbread