221 Reviews

I live in Germany and used the American measurements (cups instead of grams, etc.), but after the first time, it took over an hour in an 8x8 pan at the given temperature and was crumbly. For my taste, it needed more cornmeal. The second time I tried it, I added a third egg and used 1 cup of flour and one cup of cornmeal. I then baked it at 150° Celcius (170° is the recipe equivalent). As far as tasting more corny the second time, it was fabulous! I still have the problem that after almost an hour in the oven, it's still not done in the middle. I believe next time I will be using a larger baking pan at the normal temperature. My guess is it won't be as thick, of course, but it will only need the given 35 minutes to bake and be done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phyrenrain13_6205226 August 30, 2014

Definitely more than 5 stars!! I usually buy the Marie Callendar's mix but thought I'd try this one. Boy, am I glad I did. Now I don't need to buy anymore mixes and hubby said it's better than Marie Callendar's. So we have found our recipe for cornbread. Thanks so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 26, 2009

This is exactly the type of cornbread I was looking for! Excellent! I did adjust the amounts a little to 1 C. cornmeal and 1 C flour, omitted the butter and used 1 whole egg and 2 whites. It was very moist and had a great light texture. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate January 19, 2006

Made exactly as recipe is written, turned out perfect! Just the right amount of sweetness for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy G. April 06, 2016

Great sweet cornbread recipe. This was just what I wanted. I wanted a change from our usual skillet cornbread I grew up on . My dtr's love this ! No more "jiffy" for them. I followed the directions to a T. I poured the batter into a greased & heated cast iron skillet. I let it bake for 45 minutes until the top was golden brown . I will definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trouto984 March 13, 2016

I'm so happy that I made this cornbread!!! I made a pot of great northern beans and wanted some good cornbread. This was just the icing on the cake. Followed everything,came out great!! Moist with a touch of sweetness.The whole house loved it, will never use a box again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
letmeloveu31 February 04, 2016

I had to substitute but it was so close to the recipe that I think this is an honest review. I used 1 cup cornmeal and 1 cup flour. Also, I used a stick of butter for the oil and butter mix. This was the best cornbread EVER!! I wrote it on a card and put it with my families recipes. That's how good it was!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefhomemaker January 07, 2016

Really good recipe, however, I have modified mine. Instead of oil I use cream corn. Add a small can of green chilies for a little bite and cook in a smaller sized preheated cast iron skillet. 15 min before done I cover the top with sugar. And continue baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondieb December 18, 2015

I just served this to a guest to accompany beef stew. She (a home economics teacher) declared it the best she's ever tasted. I followed the recipe exactly and this will be the one I use from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lanjo December 11, 2015

My kids are not a big fan of traditional stuffing, so I prepared this recipe for my cornbread stuffing recipe. It was so yummy. My kids loved it. It was a big hit. I would make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lamb_chop October 12, 2015
Sweet Cornbread