211 Reviews

I live in Germany and used the American measurements (cups instead of grams, etc.), but after the first time, it took over an hour in an 8x8 pan at the given temperature and was crumbly. For my taste, it needed more cornmeal. The second time I tried it, I added a third egg and used 1 cup of flour and one cup of cornmeal. I then baked it at 150° Celcius (170° is the recipe equivalent). As far as tasting more corny the second time, it was fabulous! I still have the problem that after almost an hour in the oven, it's still not done in the middle. I believe next time I will be using a larger baking pan at the normal temperature. My guess is it won't be as thick, of course, but it will only need the given 35 minutes to bake and be done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phyrenrain13_6205226 August 30, 2014

Definitely more than 5 stars!! I usually buy the Marie Callendar's mix but thought I'd try this one. Boy, am I glad I did. Now I don't need to buy anymore mixes and hubby said it's better than Marie Callendar's. So we have found our recipe for cornbread. Thanks so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 26, 2009

This is exactly the type of cornbread I was looking for! Excellent! I did adjust the amounts a little to 1 C. cornmeal and 1 C flour, omitted the butter and used 1 whole egg and 2 whites. It was very moist and had a great light texture. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate January 19, 2006

When I was younger I didn't like cornbread, but I've recently grown to love it. It was amazing. It's a keeper for my home. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elleisbelle2 July 27, 2015

This is by far the best cornbread that i've tried. My family loves it!! A winner in my house thanks for sharing. Moist and sweet but not too sweet its just simply Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikeemac July 19, 2015

The cornbread was sweet and moist. I'd recomend the recipe to others. I did mine in a much smaller and taller pan. It took about 45 minutes in my oven to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty C. July 12, 2015

I always make double batches and freeze it. Also, this recipe works perfectly using skim milk. Actually I've never used anything but skim milk. I've baked this cornbread in a 9" cake pan and the GoldTouch mini loaf pan from Williams Sonoma. A double batch will yield sixteen mini loaves which is perfect with a bowl of homemade soup/chili in addition to freezing in ziplock bags. I've given out this recipe to many friends and family and it always gets rave reviews. If you prefer your cornbread to the sweet side, I highly recommend it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottiesophie May 07, 2015

This is an amazing recipe, like the others I am (was ) not a big fan of making cornbread. I purchased jiffy on a regular bases. I am 100% sure that I will no longer be purchasing my sweet cornbread from a box. I will be making it from scratch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LACHELLE M. April 26, 2015

Wow! Excellent flavor and texture! I couldn't find my 8x8 metal pan so i used a round pyrex dish. Perhaps that is the reason there was a huge crater in the middle when it was ready. It didn't mess up the texture in any way. Realized that i had only one egg so substituted with my usual ground flax in 2 tablespoons of warm water mixture (till it was sloppy like an egg) It worked PERFECTLY! Also decided to add a tablespoon of vinegar to the milk to turn it into buttermilk. Was great! No honey in the house so used maple syrup. I plan to double the recipe next time and make it in a 9x13 pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O April 17, 2015

wow! love this!!!! my sister told me she wants this for Birthday cake. :) thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth_Joy March 27, 2015
Sweet Cornbread