Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    195 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 195

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      I never liked corn bread growing up. I remember making it in Girl Scout camp and I remember my mom making it. It was always dry and gritty (sorry Mom!) and tasted bland. When my husband asked me to make cornbread for him, I reluctantly looked up a recipe on Zaar. Now I can say that I LOVE cornbread! This recipe is perfect in my mind. I make this recipe every chance I get - chili cook-offs, pot luck dinners, and my husband often gets requests from his friends at work, so I'll make up a batch for him to bring them every so often. Make a double batch and put it in a 9x13 pan - you won't be sorry you did. It will come out perfectly moist and the sweetness will make you wish your mama had known how to make it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Perfect cornbread!! I've already had to share the recipe. Moist, slightly sweet and very delicious. Thanks! UPDATE: I make this usually once a week. Since a few family members though it was a bit too sweet, I cut the sugar and salt in half. (If you cut the sugar without cutting the salt, it is too salty...been there done that!! ;) ) It still is an incredibly flavorful, moist, sweet cornbread that we all ADORE! It also work well to bake it a day or two ahead of time. It keeps beautifully! I found this out when I was going to be gone for two nights but would need a meal within minutes of returning home. This recipe saved me a lot of hassle! Thanks again for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      This is awesome, probably the best cornbread I've ever made! It turned out moist and tender, with just the right amount of sweetness. I doubled the recipe, and omitted the honey, as I didn't have any handy. I poured the batter into a 9" x 13" pan, and it took about 45 minutes to bake. This will be our default cornbread recipe from now on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This is a fabulous recipe. I'd give it more stars if I could. I'm not a big cornbread fan but even I love this one and my picky DS can't get enough of it. I follow the recipe exactly and it always turns out perfect, but one time I forgot the melted butter in the microwave and couldn't tell the difference -- so if you're cutting back on calories and leave out the butter you'll still be in heaven with this winning recipe. Thanks Lvs2Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I have never made cornbread before and barely ever ate it, but watching food network, saw cornbread and gave it a whirl... YUMMY! Made it in muffin tins and baked for 25 minutes. So delicious that the whole dozen are almost gone between 2 of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      LOVED IT! I thought I loved my Marie Calandar's copy-cat recipe, but this one's got it beat! I only tried this one because I ran across Nancy on FB and thought I'd check out her recipes. I had my cornbread recipe on the menu for this week, and thought, "what the heck? I'll give THIS one a try". This was so light and flavorful. I think I found a replacement to my old stand-by. Thanks, Nancy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This is the perfect blend for cornbread. I have tried so many recipes that are either too sweet or too bland. I will be using this recipe from now on. I combined it with Fabulous Beef Stew and it made a great side dish for a cold winter night. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Great basic cornbread recipe, fantastic texture. I doubled it and baked in a 9x13 and it looked beautiful, as well. My kids ate it up fast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This was so good! I used a Lodge cast iron pan with cactus forms and baked it for 30 minutes. It turned out perfectly! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Definitely more than 5 stars!! I usually buy the Marie Callendar's mix but thought I'd try this one. Boy, am I glad I did. Now I don't need to buy anymore mixes and hubby said it's better than Marie Callendar's. So we have found our recipe for cornbread. Thanks so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This is exactly the type of cornbread I was looking for! Excellent! I did adjust the amounts a little to 1 C. cornmeal and 1 C flour, omitted the butter and used 1 whole egg and 2 whites. It was very moist and had a great light texture. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      Cornbread turned out great. I used 1/3 cup sugar so it wouldn't be so sweet.<br/><br/>http://cateritforward.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/best-cornbread-ever/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      After trying over a dozen recipes, searching for a good one that my whole family would enjoy, we finally found a keeper. It is easy, a good blend of sweet and savory, and stays moist in stead of crumbly. If you are looking for a sweet cornbread, it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Amazing! I veganized it by added 2 tbsp flax meal to the cornmeal mixture, upped the (hemp) "milk" to 1 1/2 cups, and changed the corn to flour ratio to 1:1. This is the best tasting cornbread recipe I've tried so far and comes out to a cake-like consistency. The only thing it's missing is that greasy buttery crunch of southern cornbread then it'll have everything great about cornbread in one pan. I paired it with a spicy veggie chili. My product came out crumbly and soft right out of the oven (probably because of the lack of eggs) so I had to eat it with a fork and knife, but the morning after it retains its shape like normal cornbread would (and is delicious as ever!) I also used a 1:1 mix of vegetable oil and extra virgin olive oil because I wanted healthier oil, but was afraid the EVOO flavor would be overpowering but it is not. When I try this recipe again, I'll opt for all EVOO. <br/><br/>My SO who's the vegan one in the relationship is from the south and enjoyed it very much. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This Cornbread is incredible!!! Finally a cornbread recipe I can keep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      This is probably the best cornbread I have ever eaten! I read some of the reviews, and cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and a tablespoon. I did everything else exactly, but I did find it didn't cook in 35 minutes, but took 45 in an 8" square baking dish. I will make this cornbread over, and over! Thank you so much for a terrific recipe!! I was going to add my photo, but for some reason I can't from my iPad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      A winner! Everyone kept coming back for thirds, fourths! ;) Prepared for Thanksgiving. Local honey. Baked the cornbread in a cast iron skillet which is my preferred pan. Preheat the skillet first. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Dear Jiffy, I know this may come as a shock to since you've been in my life for so many years, but I no longer have a need for you. I have found something better and I will never come back to you again. Sorry.<br/><br/>This was the best cornbread I have ever had. I made a pot of beans with this recipe and was blown away at how delicious this cornbread turned out. It was so easy as well. Never again will I buy Jiffy mix. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      LOVE! Will make regularly. Perfect recipe to go with chili or cowboy stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Knock out, amazing, ten stars!!! I followed it to a "T" and then added 1/2 a can of whole kernel corn..... perfecto! Thanks so much for sharing Lvs2cook!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.6
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    42%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 84.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 479.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    101%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites