33 Reviews

Great appetizer. I made half a recipe for the two of us and got 4 cakes but did have to add milk as they were very dry. I cooked them on a griddle on the stove top and I used canned salsa verde for the topping. Will be trying the different sauces soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 03, 2010

I've never been to a Cheesecake Factory, but I had to try based on the reviews. The flavor of these is out of this world. I'm only giving 4 stars now, because I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Mine always flatten out and are burned on the edges. Its not staying in a cake form. But, with that said, they are still very very good! We've never tried Salsa Verde before but it now has new fans with my family! Each of us liked a different salsa the best. Mine was the southwest. This goes great with Cilantro Chicken

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holley Mc April 30, 2010

I made this for lunch today for my mom and she LOVED it. She said it was better than the Cheesecake Factory's. It was amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara G April 15, 2010

These were awesome I'm so thankful! I found it funny that my daughter didn't like them because they taste exactly like the ones at Cheesecake Factory and she loves those. I think it may have been due to the fact that I fried them in butter and it got a bit crispier than she's use to. Next time I'll do the baking method that you mentioned or brown it slightly then bake it, didn't think it would give me that little bit of crispness I wanted if I baked only so did it on the stove but it was a bit crispier than normal....or I'll just be sure to take them out sooner if I do this method again. So happy I can make these now and save some $$...oh and I did the cakes only not the toppings I'll save that for a special day when company is over or something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmet Lady #2 September 30, 2009

I only made the corn cakes and the regular salsa because there was something else I was making to go with them, but both were great. I doubled the recipe and cooked them up on the stove. They turned out really well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen August 15, 2009

I made just the cakes exactly as written. I didn't make any of the toppings; I served them with homemade chili. The little crisp & sweetness of them was perfect with the chili.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy June 17, 2009

These are great. We did the more pancake shape and suggested time was right on. They were a great appetizer with just some salsa but hubby wants to try them with a little honey on them next time. Quick, easy & delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddy3229 May 03, 2009

Every time I make these for a party they are a hit and always disappear very quickly. These are delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cards*fan January 14, 2009

Yummy! These taste identical to the cakes at the Cheesecake Factory. We can just make these now instead of going there and it saves us a lot of money.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook-it-up December 31, 2008

Very yummy!!! We've made this many times. In fact, we've passed the recipe along to our friends. We have a flat cast iron pan, and we cook these on it in the oven. They crisp up very nicely. The sauces are yummy too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mt House mama October 17, 2008
Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes the Cheesecake Factory by Todd Wilbur