33 Reviews

I worked at Cheesecake Factory a few years ago and this was my favorite item on the menu. I looked up the recipe one day (the cooks let me) and this is the EXACT recipe. I only prepare the corncakes and the red salsa (and top with avocado and sour cream), omitting the salsa verde and southwestern sauce--still excellent and much less work!! The way they cook it is on a skillet, NOT in the oven. Just cook on low-med heat like you would pancakes until very golden brown. YUM.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Annie August 26, 2008

These are delicious! I cut the butter in half. This made the batter thicker. I used a small Pampered Chef scoop and made balls instead of 3 inch patties. I baked them for 15 minutes. The recipe yielded about 20 cakes. This was nice because they were less fattening and the batter went further.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi E. February 04, 2011

I was very pleased to discover that these taste just as good as the ones at The Cheesecake Factory! I have made them several times now and everyone always loves them. However, I agree with a previous review, you have to eat these right away b/c they don't taste as good when they are cold. I only make the southwestern salsa and the green salsa. I have never made the red one but the other two are great! Make this recipe... you won't be disappointed.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodymom November 21, 2010

I made this about a year ago and decided to look it up and make it again for some food photography. The sweet cake and spices are great. The sauces are surprisingly mild, but then I cut the jalepeno to not use the tip or white parts inside. The last time I tried store bought salsa verde to save time, but this time I made the recipe and was much much improved. We have found that you must serve the cakes piping hot. If they start to cool down (which happens on a cool plate in cool sauces), the cake loses its punch. The hot/cool is about as important as the sweet/spicy, creamy crunchy. Instead of 4 cakes, I make 6 smaller cakes and there is still too much southwestern sauce and salsa verde. You could easily double the cake and tomato salsa portions to get 8. Make 50% more salsa verde for 12 cakes. I hadn't seen the review to do it on the stove, and it didn't brown up enough on parchment paper, so the pictures I posted w/ black specs is from a blowtorch to get color/crunch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pjpo98 February 02, 2010

I just tried the actual corn cakes. They are pretty good. I will make them again. The bottoms browned faster in the oven than expected. Next time I'll watched them between 20 & 25 min before turning them. I would bake them like the recipe suggests. I couldn't imagine pan frying them on top of all the butter in this recipe. I baked them and they had the perfect crispiness.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURA F. October 20, 2009

Spectacular! I cut the butter down to 1/4 cup and added a 1/4 cup milk. Both salsas and the sauce are well worth the effort to make and actually don't take much time at all. Based on other reviews I used a 1" scoop to shape the cakes and then flattened them with a floured fork. I pan fried them and it worked great but it might be easier to bake them as directed in the recipe. Next time I will thaw the corn first to make it easier to puree. I know I will make this many times!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crunchy Numbers May 30, 2010

I've had this dish at Cheesecake Factory, and remember that it was delicious, but I can't compare this recipe to the original. Nevertheless, I don't think this recipe needs a comparison. It is positively divine. The freshness of the ingredients is a major plus. I was initially worried that the "batter" was too thick and would be dry, but I worried in vein. Excellent recipe. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Pallack September 03, 2011

The cakes are grilled on a flat top (not baked) and are never flattened any smaller than an inch. And the tomatilla sauce is cream based. Ask people that work there...I did and find these tips helpful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvluv2cook November 22, 2010

Wonderful! Made exactly per your recipe with all three salsas. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil November 13, 2010

I can only give credit for the actual cake as I ate these with store bought salsa... they are amazing and sweet and a perfect fill me up meal! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
12345678980123455677889 May 28, 2010
Sweet Corn Tamale Cakes the Cheesecake Factory by Todd Wilbur