Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Chili-Glazed Tofu With Bok Choy - America's Test Kitchen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Chili-Glazed Tofu With Bok Choy - America's Test Kitchen

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2014

    • on June 24, 2014

      This was really great! Surprised to realize I had never cooked bok choy before - and I loved using both leaves and the stems since the stems gave the dish a nice crunchy texture. To make this easier, just chop up the garlic finely and add it with the sauteeing bok choy. Once you add the chili sauce to the pan, the subtlety of the "garlic oil" will be wiped out. Not worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I kind of eyeballed the ingredients and made a little extra sauce. Loved it! Thanks! Made for ZWT 2013 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      wow i really loved this! The tofu was cooked so perfectly. I'll always cook tofu like this from now on. The sauce wasn't at all bland for me but perhaps I used the wrong kind of sauce? I went for the thai sweet chili garlic sauce. I did sub broccoli for the bok choy since it is what we had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      i also found the sauce to be slightly bland. for me, needs a kick. perhaps next time will incorporate powder ginger and five spices as one of the reviewers suggested. the dish was saved by an extra sprinkle of salt on the tofu. eaten with rice, its an amazing dish. colour is good too: of green, white, golden brown tofu, and a glazed red from chili sauce. crispy garlic was full of taste. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      DELICIOUS! Costco had some really fresh looking baby bok choy, and this was the perfect recipe for that. I used arrowroot flour from Penzey's instead of cornstarch, and that gave the tofu a nice sticky-lightly crisp skin with a soft, plump inside that was very much like how I've had tofu at good Asian restaurants. It is not suppose to get super crispy, it is more of a skin on the outside of the tofu, if that helps. I used low-sodium soy sauce & also added some green onions. Make sure the sauce you buy is SWEET Chili Sauce and not the other spicier, similar looking chili sauces. My grocery store only carried one brand - Mae Ploy. Served this with Jasmine rice, and it was a great meal that tasted like something you'd get at a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

    • on September 27, 2010

      This was very simple, easy, and tasty. My tofu never quite crisped up (maybe I didn't drain it long enough?) but it was still delicious. Next time I might try baking the tofu instead--it would cut down on a lot of oil too. I served it with brown rice and it was a filling, yummy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I liked this recipe. My husband is not much of a tofu eater, and did not like it (although he did eat it all). My grocery store did not have bok choy so I subbed thickly chopped up Napa cabbage. The tofu was nice and crisp until I put it in the sauce, the sauce takes all the crispiness away. I also did not care for the garlic chips, although I like garlic, so I would probably not do those next time. I would make this again for myself, maybe when Hubby goes away on business or something. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Really tasty! Like Magpie Diner, I loved the crispy crust on the tofu, so much that I kept it separate from the bok choi and sauce, dipping it in the sauce just before I wanted to eat it, so it didn't get soggy. I added some spices (five spice and (more!) powdered ginger) to the cornstarch just to add a little oomph, since I've always been one of those who hates bland tofu. I also added carrots and spring onions to the bok choi, and it was lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Yum, this was really great. What I love most is this method of frying the tofu dusted in corn starch. It made the best crust, reminded me of a dish I have had in restaurants. I had to sub spinach instead of bok choy, so didn't bother wilting it separately, it just went in at the end with everything else. I was able to fry up the tofu using much less oil than called for, but of course it took longer. The only think I would adjust next time is to use less soy - the final product was a bit salty, possibly due ot my brand of sweet chili sauce. Thanks for posting! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Great flavor! I used half the amount of oil by cooking the bok choy is a little water instead of oil. This is similar to something we enjoyed eating in the Philippines with mung beans. Thanks! Made for ZWT6 LOONEY SPOON PHOODIES.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Chili-Glazed Tofu With Bok Choy - America's Test Kitchen

    Serving Size: 1 (372 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.6
     
    Calories from Fat 286
    69%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 904.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes