175 Reviews

I made a double batch to take to a friend's house a couple weeks back. They went fast while we were watching the football games. Only problem...... now I've been begged to make them every weekend! They were so tasty and just the right size to snack on through the day. Super tasty and not hard to make at all (just a little messy). Only tip I can give is to line your bottom broiler pan with tinfoil as clean up was a little rough. Other than that, no complaints at all. Thanks for sharing this recipe and I'm off to make another batch for the SEC championship game in about fifteen minutes! GO GAMECOCKS!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Concubine December 04, 2010

They sure didn't taste funny to us! They were awesome says everyone at the Halloween party I just went to! Lovely flavor with just a little kick from the chili powder. Great recipe and one I will use many times in the future while entertaining! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Sharlene! Linda Update: I made these for an 80th birthday party for my aunt, and everyone went crazy for them! I made them up ahead of time and let them marinate for about 2 hrs. Took them out of the fridge, put them on a broiler pan and baked them for almost an hr. The cooking time is definitely off on these. (If you want crispy bacon that is). For any occasion these will be a hit in my family and I will make them every chance I get. Yes, I love em and so does everyone else! Linda

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen May 30, 2011

I tried making these for the first time last football season and I gotta tell you, this is one of the easiest most reliable football appetizer recipes ever. Everyone loves them- no matter how many we make they go like that! Last superbowl, my boyfriend accidentally used ceyanne pepper instead of chili powder, and I thought they would be ruined! We brought them to the party anyways and though they were hot at heck, they still got gobbled up. Also, I just made them for my health-nut mother in law and substituted turkey bacon. Though REAL bacon is DEFINITLY better, they really held their own and everyone loved them still.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyTamilyn November 14, 2010

This recipe is wonderful. I mix the brown sugar and chili powder in a ziploc bag and add the chicken pieces to coat them before I wrap and toothpick them. The bacon crisps better this way. My advice: make extra!! They will get devoured!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fmbevra November 29, 2009

This was the highlight of my family's SuperBowl meal. I had tried this recipe last year with chipotle seasoning instead of using chili powder. The chili powder was much better. A few suggestions... use the broiler pan with the top covered in baking spray and line the bottom with aluminum foil. And most importantly, cook for 45 minutes at 350 for the wraps to come out perfect. Great recipe!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seancsullivan February 06, 2012

I doctor these up-I use about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup chili powder and 1/4 cup of a creole blend I make-we like it hot. I'm so glad I found this recipe (thought I had reviewed it before now) it's a total repeat!!!!!
***I'd like to add this recipe works great for the grill-I just skewer 4 on a bamboo skewer-great smoky touch!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 07, 2011

I made this recipe last night for dinner and DH took one bite and said "WOW these are amazing!" I didn't have any chili powder, so I went without which was fine because these are great even without it! We host UFC fight nights at our house, and DH suggested I make these for the next one. So we will be making these again, next time adding the chili powder for a little kick. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seresuto February 11, 2011

very yummy! so easy

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traceycooksalot February 06, 2011

I could not stop eating these, they were awesome. I didn't change a thing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellison Mix January 18, 2011

Loved this! Pretty easy to make. I made sure to spray my rack really well & cleaned it as soon as I pulled it out of the oven. Cleaning wasn't so bad that way. I also followed the suggestion of lining it with tin foil. This would make a really great Super Bowl appetizer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smartblonde #2 January 04, 2011
Sweet Chicken Bacon Wraps (Paula Deen)