Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Challah Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Challah Bread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2012

      This is good and fairly correct by my standards. I would use five egg yolks and reserve the white of the egg mixed with a little water to glaze the bread. Be sure you preheat your oven and bake the bread in the middle of the oven, I would say 350 degrees but everyone's oven is different. If you have trouble getting your bread to rise put a small crushed tablet of Vit. C in the yeast sponge. This speeds up the rising process and has always worked great for light and delicious loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      I made this with your Southwestern Pasta Salad (Mint Chocolate Brownies) and what a combo! As I said in my other reveiw, I made these for a company barbaque for my father and nothing lasted to the end. I mean, these people just loved both of these dishes. I just wish I could have told them that they were my recipes! LOL Thanks for posting, and keep up the good work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I was a bit surprised that it didn't rise much in this one hour before putting it in the fridge, but it blew up in the oven. This bread is really yummy. I crave more although my stomach says NO...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was easy and yummy. My DH wanted to eat the whole pan of bread. I used some white whole wheat flour and a dash of cardamom and then shaped it into buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      I was concerned that it wasn't rising well, but it fluffed up beautifully in the oven! We LOVED the texture and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is not a traditional challah bread by no means. Tasted like cha siu bao pork bun dough... would make great pork buns, but for a challah..... very DISAPOINTING! need to find a really good recipe... HELP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      VERY good! Perfect sweet challah for Rosh Hashanah! It didn't rise well for me - but I have that happen sometimes so I'm assuming it's my own problem rather than a flaw in the recipe. This is a def keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I don't want to rate this recipe because after making it, I realized that I don't like sweet challah. I'm used to and in love with the savory kind. But they were nice enough. I froze them and will try to make bread pudding out of them later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This challah recipe is fantastic! While some may complain about the wait time, I actually enjoyed the many steps because it allowed me to work on it a little at a time, thereby making it soo easy! I served this at my son's birthday party, and it was gone in the blink of an eye, with many moms requesting the recipe. This will certainly be my go-to recipe for challah! Just a note, you can bake these on parchment paper on baking sheets instead of using the loaf pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      The taste and texture of this bread is wonderful, it also has great moisture! However, I did have to use more Bread Flour in the recipe. All together I ended up using 4 1/2- 5 cups of flour. I would recommend backing the baking temp. down to 350. My bread was perfectly cook but the bottom did become more brown then I would have liked. Also, I found that I needed to cover the loaves 20 minutes into the cooking time to prevent excess browning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Excellent taste! I had given up on making challah since it seemed to always be dry and too brown on the outside. I used regular vegetable cooking oil and needed to use more flour - don't know how much though. The dough, and then the braided loaves never rose much. Once I baked them, they rose and were perfect! I also used the leftover egg white to brush the tops and they were golden and not too brown. I also bake my loaves on a high quality stone, and never worry about burning the bottom. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      just made this for dinner tonight- I made 1/2 the recipe-which makes one nice loaf. After letting the yeast proof, I used my standmixer to mix the ingredients - i mixed , using the dough hook, for 5 minutes atre level 2. Then I let the dough rise for 2 hours at room temp, punched down the dough, made the braid shape, let rise again for 1 hour and baked. Came out great. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Very very good! It was a pleasure to make and eat this. I cut back on the sugar by 1/2, and that worked well for us(my husband doesn't like bread too sweet). And I got caught up in activity, so the dough sat in the fridge for about 17 hours - no problem! I made one loaf un-braided, and one braided, and they both came out wonderfully. I am looking forward to using it for french toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      This is the only bread I've ever made that did NOT turn out tasting like stale saltine crackers. THIS WAS DELICIOUS! I'm not Jewish nor will I be using this for a Shabbat, but man, this is the best bread I've ever made and it definitely makes a good breakfast bread. I used the remaining egg whites from the bread mix to coat the top of the bread, and I did it about 3-4 times. I also did this with whole wheat flour. I recommend this recipe to ANYONE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

    • on January 13, 2007

      I made this Challah Bread for Sabbath this week it was the best we've had ever had. Received many compliments on it. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe that is simple to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Wonderful, delectable bread! I had no trouble making the loaves. You'll love the taste! Thank you for the recipe! Katie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      I haven't attempted to make a Challah again in 3 years, when my very first try was a complete disaster. This recipe was not only easy to follow through the long Challah making process, it was absolutely delicious! I love a sweet Challah, and it came out perfect. My son is looking forward to Challah French Toast tomorrow morning, Challah being the very BEST bread to use for french toast. I've read some concerns here about the bread not rising much before baking, and would like to offer a suggestion that worked well for me. Since bread rises best where it's warm, I placed a dish towel over the bread and put it in the oven at 100 degrees. It's just barely warm, but enough to make the bread rise in the steps where indicated, before baking.(Make sure the temperature is no higher with the dish towel in there) This recipe for Challah made one of the best I have ever eaten, and now MINE is up there with the very best (if I don't say so myself!) Thank you SO much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      I haven't made bread in over 30 years, but I tried this recipe (for one loaf instead of two) last weekend, made a few minor mistakes, and yet it turned out great and had the best taste! The bread really didn't rise much until it was baked. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone--even neophyte cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Delicious and sweet! My family loved this challah for a change for our Shabbat dinner. The only complaint is that it takes so long to get the dough ready. It was difficult for me to find the time needed for this challah since I have three little kids running around. I did use quite a bit more than 3 cups of flour but it is probably due to the high humidity here. I was surprised that the dough did not rise very much, but I went along with it. I left the dough in the refrigerater for 5 hours and it still worked fine. The dough worked really well when I rolled it out and braided it into two challot. I did not use cornmeal. I let the challot rise for 1 hour but again they only rose a little more. When they were baking was when the challot really rose. I was pleasantly surprised! We loved the taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Challah Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1599.3
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    23%
    Total Fat 42.0 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 506.8 mg
    168%
    Sodium 1402.4 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 271.4 g
    90%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 102.3 g
    409%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites