38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was m-m-m good1 This is one of our favorite receipes! Thanks a lot for posting it!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria Gregory September 09, 2002

This is a great receipe.It's been in our family for years. The only other thing we added was a slice of bacon across each on and you can add cinnamon and sugar or nutmeg. Both are great on it. This is the only way my teenager will eat it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetsue August 25, 2002

This recipe was a great alternative for a side dish on a chilly winter night. I made this with a pork loin roast. My husband was surprised to like it himself. :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom March 02, 2002

Delicious! I baked the whole butternut squash, with slits cut in it to let steam escape, at 375 degrees for about 45-50 minutes. Then I cut it in half, cleaned out the seeds, and put the butter and brown sugar on. The only other thing I did differently was to cut little slits in the flesh of the squash and stuff them with raisins before adding the brown sugar and butter. I then baked it at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. We give it five stars!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 January 17, 2011

I made a mistake and put the butter mixture on the bottom with the squash face down and, if I say so myself, it wasn't exactly a bad idea. The caramelized surface was like eating candy. Well, go ahead, talk about it amongst yourselves...while I indulge.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 12, 2012

I make this all the time in the winter except I keep the squash right side up the entire time and add cinnamon to the butter and sugar. One other thing is I add water to the pan for the squash to sit in; it helps to soften the skin to a soft texture. I eat it with a spoon as an appetizer or snack. YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie #3 December 12, 2008

I loved this recipe. I made it two nights ago, and again tonight! The second time, to cut down on the "mess" factor, I put a little water in the bottom of the pan. I also used only 2 tbs of butter per half to cut down on the fat content... didn't even taste a difference. This was very yummy, and I will make it again and again I'm sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl Scientist October 28, 2003

I used Smart Balance spread and Splenda Brown Sugar blend for a lighter version of this dish. My squash was large so even with the extra 15 minutes it wasn't completely soft. But I just put it in the microwave to finish it off. This was a tasty and easy side dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jes32 November 12, 2008

I baked up 2 large squash for my family holiday dinner. I give it 5***** for the ease of preparation alone, and another 5***** for the flavor itself! So that's 10***** for this one!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pots & Pans November 28, 2010

I made Linda's Standing Rib Roast, Yorkshire Pudding, Mashed Potatoes and this delicious squash to surprise my DH for our anniversary. We totally loved this squash and it will be repeated during the holidays each year from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoopers May 25, 2010
Sweet Butternut Squash