11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

11/08/2008 It seems like I've tried every biscuit recipe under the sun. Well, this one is the winner. My family loves them and prefers them above all the others I've tried. They're sweet but not overwhelmingly so and can accompany just about anything. The only trouble I had was making sure there was enough for everyone. LOL. Thanks for sharing. *******UPDATE******* 01/02/2010 These freeze very well. I layer them in cellophane then store in a freezer bag and remove only the biscuits I need and bake for 20 minutes in a 400 degree preheated oven. I set the oven temperature to 425 if I'm doing more than four biscuits. I make several batches so that they can easily be whipped out for Sunday brunch whenever needed (which is often). :-D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle January 03, 2010

These biscuits remind me of the ones my mom used to make to go with her veggie soup. The sweetness of the biscuits goes VERY good with the savory veggie soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awvmamacooks August 28, 2013

Just made these (used skim milk because that's what I had) - delish! I ate half warm with butter and the other half with strawberries and whipped topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowkes July 16, 2012

It's the best I've had yet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinksapphire777 July 11, 2011

Awesome recipe! Just the right amount of sweetness and very light! I served these with macerated strawberries and a blueberry/raspberry combo with fresh whipped cream. They were a hit! Maybe a wee but dry, but worked really well for soaking up the juice from the fruit and gave a really nice contrast in texture. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 June 20, 2011

Delicious!!! This recipe was EXCELLENT. I made them for a get-together and everyone loved the taste and consistency. Wonderful. :) I will probably make tis VERY often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neddie May 03, 2011

Yum! I never buy unsalted butter so I just cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp which worked well. I don't have a pastry cutter, so I improvised and used a wire whisk to cut the butter in. Thanks for the recipe:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 13, 2011

People! Promise me you will try these biscuits before the end of strawberry season! They are soooo good. I could tell just working the dough that these biscuits were going to be wonderful & they did not dissapoint. The strawberry shortcakes were just plain grand! Thank you, Julie! — adding to my review the factoid that if you are out of half & half, liquid Coffeemate will work in a pinch! honestly, I couldn't tell the difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii April 17, 2005

Great biscuit for strawberry shortcake! I also used 2 cookie sheets for insulation. This recipe is easy and a definite keeper. Thank you for posting it Julie :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic March 23, 2005
Sweet Biscuits for Breakfast or Shortcake