Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Biscuits for Breakfast or Shortcake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Biscuits for Breakfast or Shortcake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2010

      11/08/2008 It seems like I've tried every biscuit recipe under the sun. Well, this one is the winner. My family loves them and prefers them above all the others I've tried. They're sweet but not overwhelmingly so and can accompany just about anything. The only trouble I had was making sure there was enough for everyone. LOL. Thanks for sharing. *******UPDATE******* 01/02/2010 These freeze very well. I layer them in cellophane then store in a freezer bag and remove only the biscuits I need and bake for 20 minutes in a 400 degree preheated oven. I set the oven temperature to 425 if I'm doing more than four biscuits. I make several batches so that they can easily be whipped out for Sunday brunch whenever needed (which is often). :-D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      These biscuits remind me of the ones my mom used to make to go with her veggie soup. The sweetness of the biscuits goes VERY good with the savory veggie soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

    • on July 16, 2012

      Just made these (used skim milk because that's what I had) - delish! I ate half warm with butter and the other half with strawberries and whipped topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      It's the best I've had yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Awesome recipe! Just the right amount of sweetness and very light! I served these with macerated strawberries and a blueberry/raspberry combo with fresh whipped cream. They were a hit! Maybe a wee but dry, but worked really well for soaking up the juice from the fruit and gave a really nice contrast in texture. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Delicious!!! This recipe was EXCELLENT. I made them for a get-together and everyone loved the taste and consistency. Wonderful. :) I will probably make tis VERY often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Yum! I never buy unsalted butter so I just cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp which worked well. I don't have a pastry cutter, so I improvised and used a wire whisk to cut the butter in. Thanks for the recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      People! Promise me you will try these biscuits before the end of strawberry season! They are soooo good. I could tell just working the dough that these biscuits were going to be wonderful & they did not dissapoint. The strawberry shortcakes were just plain grand! Thank you, Julie! — adding to my review the factoid that if you are out of half & half, liquid Coffeemate will work in a pinch! honestly, I couldn't tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Great biscuit for strawberry shortcake! I also used 2 cookie sheets for insulation. This recipe is easy and a definite keeper. Thank you for posting it Julie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Oh wow! These are very good. I used the 2 cookie sheets together as suggested in the directions. These biscuits are very light and delicate. Perfect with the fresh strawberries that I sprinkled with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Biscuits for Breakfast or Shortcake

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.0
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    42%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 34.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 389.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites