113 Reviews

WOW!!! That is all I can say!! Myself and my family are deer hunters so I have eaten Deer ALOT of different ways, but OMG this is the BEST I have EVER tasted!!! The Sugar on top was a wonderful added touch for me and my family. By the way, my husband HATES deer, but LOVED this recipe!!! THANK YOU !!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metrotara March 26, 2008

I made this recipe for the first time tonight after seeing it on-line. The marinade was simple to make, and it was better than I expected. I used thick sliced bacon to make sure it wasn't overcooked, but I would recommend less than 30 minutes if the tenderloin is less than 2 inches in diameter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie 50 March 25, 2008

holy cow. just tried this for the first time....there are not enough stars. this was excellent

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jshwheat November 13, 2010

I have made this recipe several times and it is a family favorite. I recommend trying it with different sugars to find the right mix for your family. Our favorite is using all dark brown sugar, while a neighbor prefers half light brown sugar half granulated sugar. I have also used 2 cups honey 1 cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce. Find the mix that works for you. This is an awesome recipe and does well on the grill also!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravyn_Silverwing May 06, 2010

One of the best tenderloin recipies I've made. It was fairly simple yet looked like a masterpiece. There was alot of marinade left, I think next time I'll cut that in half. I also cooked it for an hour because I like mine medium well. It was still tender and juicy. Maybe a detail that is well know to others, but don't use colored toothpicks. They left little bits of color in the meat after they were pulled out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chipittydoda February 19, 2010

I used to think I HATED deer meat...not any more! Amazing and perfect in every way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Martin KV May 25, 2009

I can't say enough about this recipe! It is great! I have been cooking deer meat for 25 years and this is the best loin recipe I have tried. If you haven't tried it yet, this is a must!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdennysgirl April 19, 2009

I have been hunting and cooking wild game my entire life and I have to say. The worst thing you can do is put soy sauce in a marinade which is being used on venison. This recipe had such high reviews that I decided to go against everything I have ever been taught and try it. My wife threw hers in the trash and I threw up from the smell of it being cooked. although some may like this it is an acquired taste and ruined our dinner. I followed the directions to a "T" and when it was done I couldn't hardly feed it to my dogs. Sorry but if you want good venison rule number one is "NEVER" use soy sauce. It ruined the best piece of meet on my deer and I would never recommend this recipe. Very misleading

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kory W. February 01, 2016

Awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luanne B. January 25, 2016

This is an awesome recipe. I cooked ours on a Big Green Egg. Seared it at 600 F for 2 minutes on each side, then removed it and reduced temp to 350-ish ( had trouble keeping temp down). Put loin back in Egg with thermometer in thickest part and monitored until just below 140F. Removed and lest rest for 3 minutes. It was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craig November 08, 2015
Sweet Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin