107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!!! That is all I can say!! Myself and my family are deer hunters so I have eaten Deer ALOT of different ways, but OMG this is the BEST I have EVER tasted!!! The Sugar on top was a wonderful added touch for me and my family. By the way, my husband HATES deer, but LOVED this recipe!!! THANK YOU !!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metrotara March 26, 2008

I made this recipe for the first time tonight after seeing it on-line. The marinade was simple to make, and it was better than I expected. I used thick sliced bacon to make sure it wasn't overcooked, but I would recommend less than 30 minutes if the tenderloin is less than 2 inches in diameter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie 50 March 25, 2008

holy cow. just tried this for the first time....there are not enough stars. this was excellent

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jshwheat November 13, 2010

I have made this recipe several times and it is a family favorite. I recommend trying it with different sugars to find the right mix for your family. Our favorite is using all dark brown sugar, while a neighbor prefers half light brown sugar half granulated sugar. I have also used 2 cups honey 1 cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce. Find the mix that works for you. This is an awesome recipe and does well on the grill also!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravyn_Silverwing May 06, 2010

One of the best tenderloin recipies I've made. It was fairly simple yet looked like a masterpiece. There was alot of marinade left, I think next time I'll cut that in half. I also cooked it for an hour because I like mine medium well. It was still tender and juicy. Maybe a detail that is well know to others, but don't use colored toothpicks. They left little bits of color in the meat after they were pulled out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chipittydoda February 19, 2010

I used to think I HATED deer meat...not any more! Amazing and perfect in every way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Martin KV May 25, 2009

I can't say enough about this recipe! It is great! I have been cooking deer meat for 25 years and this is the best loin recipe I have tried. If you haven't tried it yet, this is a must!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdennysgirl April 19, 2009

I had never cooked deer before and my husband grew up eating it. My son got his first deer this year. Queue the kitchen panic. This recipe made me look like genius! My husband took pics and sent them to all of his family. It was spectacular and pretty to look at! Melt in your mouth good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myhighroad January 16, 2015

great recipe!!My first time cooking venison tenderloin. At the end of 25 minutes, leaving<br/>the pan on middle shelf, I turned the broiler on and rotated the tenderloin until all bacon wrappings were crisp. Worked perfectly and gave me more control than the grill method would have. Thanks!! Will definitely do this again. Served It to a deer hunter with many tenderloins under his belt...he loved and requested leftovers>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni H. December 13, 2014

I have to start with the fact my children do not eat a lot of meat. I have son 10 and a daughter 6. As you can imagine their favorit meat is chicken nuggets. I have made this several times and I have only got to taste it. By the time I go to eat my kids have devoured it. This is def a keeper especially sense I used to hate deer meat. Thank you somuch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn W. November 17, 2014
Sweet Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin