Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2010

      Definitely a must try dish, very tender, easy to make and only requires a few ingredients. I also turned the stove on broil for the last 5 minutes to get the crispy edge of the bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Perfect! I can't eat soy so I sbstituted 3/4 cup Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce instead. Also added sweet paprika, powdered garlic, 2 tsps. powdered curry, etc. to the sauce. Baked 20 min. (tenderloid pieces)--perfect, medium rare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is a family favorite! Something I make AT LEAST a couple times a month. I am now on a low-sodium diet for health reasons. So I sub the Mrs. Dash Spicy Teriyaki marinade for soy sauce now. Still turns out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      My darling SO just came back from hunting with the tenderloin of venison so I immediately decided to try this recipe. All I can say is WOW. It was loved by everyone, they all had 2nds and there were no leftovers! My SO tells me that I need to try this recipe on a roast as well. I did find that the brown sugar did not dissolve completely in the soya sauce. May try it with maple syrup next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I join the multitudes in giving this recipe 5 stars. The marinade can be reduced by 1/2 without a problem. I marinated it overnight in a gallon ziplock bag and found that there was too much marinade to put into my slotted roaster. The trick with this recipe is two-fold. First, determine how well done you want the finished meat to be. (Med. rare is 140 degrees). Then, when the meat is 15 degrees below the that temp, turn on the broiler to crisp the bacon. Flip once. This should only take a few moment. Then take the meat out when it is app. 5-10 degrees less than the desired final temp. *Let the meat rest 10 minutes*! Letting your meat rest assures that juices, which have congregated to the4 center during roasting, have time to work their way out toward the edges. If you don't rest, you'll end up with dry meat, every time! Trust me! This recipe rocks! Peeople who don't ordinarily like game meat will rave. I wouldn't do it with beef or pork, because those meats are too mild to stand up to the marinade. Grea! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      This was so delicious! I used this receipe on elk sirloins and my family just raved about how nice and tender, juicy, sweet and tasty dinner was. I was very proud to say that I got the receipe from recipe Zaar and will definately be back to try others. Thanks for your recipe and the additional step that was included from your users feedback. Very satisfied!!!!!! *****

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Fantastic! This is a great base recipe! My wife was trying venison for the first time and was very sceptical on even trying it. She did and she loved it! Makes going hunting better for me now;) I would say it makes a taste similar to teriyaki jerky. I tweeked it a little. I did not want to try the sugar on top for fear it would be too sweet. I just used some black pepper instead. I liked the idea of crisping the bacon, but it is 10 degree's outside, so I didn't want to fire up the grill. Instead, when preparing it, I placed the toothpicks on the side so I could turn it to both sides for broiling. When it was nearly done I broiled it on high (electric overn)for about 2 minutes on each side. Be careful and watch closely when broiling, it can burn very quickly. This worked great and the bacon was nice and crispy. Next time I think I will make about half the merinade suggested. There was a ton left over and I used a ziplock bag (marinaded overnight) so I did not need nearly what was made. My cost for the sauce and brown sugar was about $4.00, seems a little hight for 2 pounds of meat. I think half will do the trick just fine. Great recipe. Thanks! Joe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This recipe is great, I had some smaller tenderloins but used the bacon to hold them together to make a bigger piece. I used Option 2 and seared the bacon in a pan on medium after I pulled it out of the stove. The crispy bacon complemented the sweetness of the sugar and texture of the meat. Add some garlic mashed potatoes with bacon and a Bells Two Hearted Ale and the meal was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      yumyumyum! This is an amazing recipe and so simple. The marinade makes a fantastic glaze/sauce which goes well with sauteed onions and mushrooms. We also had mash potato, and baked aspargus (w olive oil, salt, pepper, oregano and basil) It was a hit with everyone! And it looks amazing, smells amazing as well as tastes amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I served this recipe to my husband and his hunting buddies. They went crazy over it! So much so, that I now am sure to get tenderloins from their hunting trips! I have also used applewood smoked bacon which we prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      WOW!!! That is all I can say!! Myself and my family are deer hunters so I have eaten Deer ALOT of different ways, but OMG this is the BEST I have EVER tasted!!! The Sugar on top was a wonderful added touch for me and my family. By the way, my husband HATES deer, but LOVED this recipe!!! THANK YOU !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I made this recipe for the first time tonight after seeing it on-line. The marinade was simple to make, and it was better than I expected. I used thick sliced bacon to make sure it wasn't overcooked, but I would recommend less than 30 minutes if the tenderloin is less than 2 inches in diameter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      holy cow. just tried this for the first time....there are not enough stars. this was excellent

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times and it is a family favorite. I recommend trying it with different sugars to find the right mix for your family. Our favorite is using all dark brown sugar, while a neighbor prefers half light brown sugar half granulated sugar. I have also used 2 cups honey 1 cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce. Find the mix that works for you. This is an awesome recipe and does well on the grill also!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      One of the best tenderloin recipies I've made. It was fairly simple yet looked like a masterpiece. There was alot of marinade left, I think next time I'll cut that in half. I also cooked it for an hour because I like mine medium well. It was still tender and juicy. Maybe a detail that is well know to others, but don't use colored toothpicks. They left little bits of color in the meat after they were pulled out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I used to think I HATED deer meat...not any more! Amazing and perfect in every way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I can't say enough about this recipe! It is great! I have been cooking deer meat for 25 years and this is the best loin recipe I have tried. If you haven't tried it yet, this is a must!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2014

      great recipe!!My first time cooking venison tenderloin. At the end of 25 minutes, leaving<br/>the pan on middle shelf, I turned the broiler on and rotated the tenderloin until all bacon wrappings were crisp. Worked perfectly and gave me more control than the grill method would have. Thanks!! Will definitely do this again. Served It to a deer hunter with many tenderloins under his belt...he loved and requested leftovers>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2014

      I have to start with the fact my children do not eat a lot of meat. I have son 10 and a daughter 6. As you can imagine their favorit meat is chicken nuggets. I have made this several times and I have only got to taste it. By the time I go to eat my kids have devoured it. This is def a keeper especially sense I used to hate deer meat. Thank you somuch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

      Didn't think I'd like venison - I certainly do now! Great melt-in-your-mouth flavor, and uncomplicated recipe. Score!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin

    Serving Size: 1 (807 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2546.8
     
    Calories from Fat 570
    22%
    Total Fat 63.4 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 19.8 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 158.8 mg
    52%
    Sodium 17124.9 mg
    713%
    Total Carbohydrate 365.4 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 350.0 g
    1400%
    Protein 141.4 g
    282%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes