43 Reviews

Made these for DD & DH one night for dinner and they really enjoyed them. I did have to leave the lid off while simmering in order to get the sauce to thicken up. The orange juice gave this a little bit of a different flavor, but it was good. Thanks for posting this recipe Kelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 05, 2013

I had such high hopes for this recipe, but he feedback from my family was so-so. I think the recipe is good, but my family prefers a tangy/spicy sauce rather than a sweet recipe -- who knew!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( June 01, 2009

These were tasty and easy to make. Hubbie and I thought they were a little too sweet-we like things on the spicier side at

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatscooking? April 16, 2009

Although I liked the simplicity of this recipe, I really didn't care much for the taste of it. It was a little on the watery side so I cooked it for a little longer then suggested. I tasted it and it still need "something". I'm rating the recipe based on following the recipe as-is. However, I added about 1/4 cup of our favorite BBQ Sauce and it tasted heavenly! I would rate a four star with the added BBQ sauce to it. The recipe is a keeper for me but with the added ingredient. I've never had Sloppy Joe out of a can, so, perhaps to some people, this homemade version is an upgrade :-).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveMy2Angels March 24, 2008

Well. This IS embarrassing. I just found a pile of recipes, among which was this one that I made for RSC #9 & turns out I never reviewed it. Many apologies! We loved these! I'm glad I stumbled on the recipe again because it has been requested to eat again soon. Absolutely delicious & sooo much better than the canned sloppy joe stuff or sodium in a packet seasoning! This recipe has really nice flavor - not too anything - well balanced. It's just YUMMY!!! Well done, Kelly!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo November 24, 2007

My family loves this recipe. It is very easy to make and freezes well. We bagged the leftovers and they were great for lunch this week. Instead of tomato sauce, I use 1-6 oz. can of tomato paste plus 1 can of water. We don't use the cayenne pepper. And, when we use a electric mixer, this recipe comes together even faster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom October 31, 2007

I dont know why, but I didnt get alot of sauce outta this recipe. I too added some garlic powder. I like this alot and will use it as my main "sloppy joe" recipe. I guess I will just have to up the amount of sauce tho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily September 19, 2007

These were good, and make a very generous portion. I followed some other reviewers and added 4 cloves garlic, 1 red pepper and halved the OJ and brown sugar. These changes worked out well, and gave it a nice balance of sweet, spicy, and tangy. I did have to add about 50% more tomato sauce though, otherwise it would have been too dry. Overall a good sloppy joe though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 28, 2007

Thought these were really good! The soy sauce and the oj give it a very unique taste. This will now be one of three sloppy joe recipes that my family will regularly use. Thanks Kelly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me June 23, 2007

This is a weekly recipe in my house. Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
packeyes May 29, 2007
Sweet and Tangy Sloppy Joes