Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Tangy Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Tangy Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2013

      Made these for DD & DH one night for dinner and they really enjoyed them. I did have to leave the lid off while simmering in order to get the sauce to thicken up. The orange juice gave this a little bit of a different flavor, but it was good. Thanks for posting this recipe Kelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I had such high hopes for this recipe, but he feedback from my family was so-so. I think the recipe is good, but my family prefers a tangy/spicy sauce rather than a sweet recipe -- who knew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      These were tasty and easy to make. Hubbie and I thought they were a little too sweet-we like things on the spicier side at

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Although I liked the simplicity of this recipe, I really didn't care much for the taste of it. It was a little on the watery side so I cooked it for a little longer then suggested. I tasted it and it still need "something". I'm rating the recipe based on following the recipe as-is. However, I added about 1/4 cup of our favorite BBQ Sauce and it tasted heavenly! I would rate a four star with the added BBQ sauce to it. The recipe is a keeper for me but with the added ingredient. I've never had Sloppy Joe out of a can, so, perhaps to some people, this homemade version is an upgrade :-).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Well. This IS embarrassing. I just found a pile of recipes, among which was this one that I made for RSC #9 & turns out I never reviewed it. Many apologies! We loved these! I'm glad I stumbled on the recipe again because it has been requested to eat again soon. Absolutely delicious & sooo much better than the canned sloppy joe stuff or sodium in a packet seasoning! This recipe has really nice flavor - not too anything - well balanced. It's just YUMMY!!! Well done, Kelly!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      My family loves this recipe. It is very easy to make and freezes well. We bagged the leftovers and they were great for lunch this week. Instead of tomato sauce, I use 1-6 oz. can of tomato paste plus 1 can of water. We don't use the cayenne pepper. And, when we use a electric mixer, this recipe comes together even faster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I dont know why, but I didnt get alot of sauce outta this recipe. I too added some garlic powder. I like this alot and will use it as my main "sloppy joe" recipe. I guess I will just have to up the amount of sauce tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      These were good, and make a very generous portion. I followed some other reviewers and added 4 cloves garlic, 1 red pepper and halved the OJ and brown sugar. These changes worked out well, and gave it a nice balance of sweet, spicy, and tangy. I did have to add about 50% more tomato sauce though, otherwise it would have been too dry. Overall a good sloppy joe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Thought these were really good! The soy sauce and the oj give it a very unique taste. This will now be one of three sloppy joe recipes that my family will regularly use. Thanks Kelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This is a weekly recipe in my house. Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Loved this recipe. Sloppy Joes are not your average Dutch meal so these were a treat! DH, DS(13) and DD(11) loved them and I loved the sweetness in the sauce. I have one question: How do you eat these??? With knife and fork or do you just abandon any thoughts of eating without getting really messy? We were all licking our fingers upto our elbows! LOL...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I'm a little surprised that such a basic recipe that people have been making for years won top honors. I tried it just because I've never made sloppy Joe's with orange juice or soy sauce. I didn't find either one added anything to the basic recipe. I look to this site for new, unusual or innovative cooking- this wasn't it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      These were very good! I'm not a big fan of tomatoey sauces and the cider vinegar gave it a nice flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      This made a great hot lunch! I was a little worried about how it would taste with the orange juice and soy sauce, but it turned out VERY GOOD! After simmering for a little while, it became thickened and a perfect consistency. Very easy to make and one of the best sloppy joe's I've had!! Thanks for posting your winning recipe Kelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      This is the best sloppy joe's I've ever had and I've had a lot of them. So essy to prepare. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Loved this! Very flavorful. I see why it took first place in the contest. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I didn't get a chance to try this before the contest ended, but this sounds like a really good sloppy joe. I will have to try this, for sure! Too bad bf doesn't like sloppy joes *sigh*, guess I'll just keep it all to myself. I'll post back after I get a chance to make it. Thanks, Kelly, I can't wait to try! Congrats on winnng the RSC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

    • on April 12, 2007

      Maybe I'm strange, but I absolutely love Heinz sloppy joe sauce from a can and I despise the Hunts brand. I am picky about my sloppy joe sauce because the sauce is really the show of the meal...right? Anyway, I made this because a previous review or two described it as light and refreshing with the O.J. I did not start with a fresh orange but used orange juice not from concentrate thinking that would be close enough. Otherwise followed exactly. I thought I would have too much liquid in the end if I covered the brew, so I simmered without my lid. After 20 minutes the consistency was perfect and we had sloppy joes on bread (but we like it on hot dog buns when we want to pick it up and eat it...less messthan hamburger buns). Now, this is a compliment, remember...this tasted just like Heinz with a hint of orange and now when I run out of my fav I will make this from the ingredients I usually have in my pantry and satisfy that mighty sloppy-joe craving! Here's a funny...I could not find my soy sauce anywhere and I was panicked because I had everything else already in the pot cooking so I remembered the leftover chinese takeout packets of soy sauce that I always have around in my pantry...just so you know 2 TB is almost exactly 2 1/2 packets of soy sauce! ;-). I did expect something unusual and extra-ordinary but it missed the mark a little for the "different" catagory...that's why I'm rating it 4 instead of 5 stars. However it rates a 5 for becoming a new favorite and a very good standby for my tried and true cookbook. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Thanks for sharing your tasty creation with us. We enjoyed this quick and easy to make dish very much. The sloppy joes were saucey, sweet and tangy. I especially like the addition of the fresh orange juice to the sauce. It gave it a fresh, alive taste. This was a very mild sauce, next time I make this I will add more cayenne, some fresh garlic and sea salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Tangy Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.5
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    49%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1046.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes