31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this using beef stew meat. I simmered the beef in the marinade for about 40 minutes then served over rice. Very easy & tasty. Made for Zaar Stars

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh October 23, 2009

This was DELICIOUS! Followed recipe for marinade exactly. Used other readers suggestion and simmered stew meat for about an hour in the marinade. Served over rice - YUMMY! Can't wait to actually use it for a grilled steak. I'm taking another readers suggestion and trying it with chicken. I, too, used regular soy sauce. Will use low sodium next time , as it was just a bit salty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakeworks September 19, 2011

This was made awhile back and put in the freezer for DD and family. They enjooyed it so such that when visiting again it was suggested and this time I got to enjoy it. The only change I made was to use tri-tip in place of the flank steak. Very flavorful and delicious. A real winning recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 13, 2011

Thanks for posting this, Toni! Our local Super Suppers just went under so I can't get this from there anymore. I used to get it from the freezer section so I never saw the recipe. This dish tastes EXACTLY like the Mongolian Lamb from P.F. Chang's. I know, I know, this dish is for beef and I'm comparing it to lamb. But the flavor is exactly the same. So anyone craving P.F. Chang's OR Super Suppers will benefit from this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ciocia DD June 24, 2009

Excellent. I'm new to Flank Steak, but am really enjoying the different ways it is used. The combination in this recipe is perfect for us. I'm not sure how large my steak was, but after 2 days of marinating, I cut it in half length wise and proceeded with the freezing directions for one half. I sliced the half left very thin at an angle and stir-fried it with red and green peppers, carrots and red onion. I made another serving of the marinade, diluting it with some water, and served that on top of the cooked meat and veggies over rice. Absolutely excellent. Now I have quick stir-fry meat in the freezer for a quick meal next time. Thanks Toni :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 09, 2009

Not tangy just sweet. Delicious! Huge hit w/ the picky hubby. Will make this many more times. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies June 04, 2011

Unfortunately my hubby and I didn't care for this recipe... but I think that is more personal taste than it is a reflection of the recipe (so I'm not rating with stars). We just don't care for our main dishes to be very sweet and the sweetness of this was a little much for us. I had hoped it would be balanced by the savory flavors but it just wasn't for us. I think anyone who likes sweet dishes would like this though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee September 10, 2009

Had a 2lb package of flank steaks (2 x 1 lb. each) so I marinated one for cooking with half the marinade and froze the other with the rest of the marinade. I had to cook mine a little bit longer on the grill, but it came out great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave in Alpharetta, GA July 30, 2009

I loved this marinade. I used two pounds of an inexpensive cut of beef. I cut it up into strips and then added the marinade. I am going to use it for stir frys. Before I froze the entire bit, I prepared some Asian egg noodles, sauteed some onions, broccoli and yellow peppers and added a bit of the marinaded steak. It was wonderful. Don't skimp on the fresh ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elat27 July 05, 2009

This was fabulous!!!! The steak was fork tender and the sauce was outstanding!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lawisthelaw June 29, 2009
Sweet and Tangy Flank Steak (Oamc or Make Ahead)