Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Tangy Flank Steak (Oamc or Make Ahead) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Tangy Flank Steak (Oamc or Make Ahead)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2009

      I made this using beef stew meat. I simmered the beef in the marinade for about 40 minutes then served over rice. Very easy & tasty. Made for Zaar Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This was DELICIOUS! Followed recipe for marinade exactly. Used other readers suggestion and simmered stew meat for about an hour in the marinade. Served over rice - YUMMY! Can't wait to actually use it for a grilled steak. I'm taking another readers suggestion and trying it with chicken. I, too, used regular soy sauce. Will use low sodium next time , as it was just a bit salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This was made awhile back and put in the freezer for DD and family. They enjooyed it so such that when visiting again it was suggested and this time I got to enjoy it. The only change I made was to use tri-tip in place of the flank steak. Very flavorful and delicious. A real winning recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Thanks for posting this, Toni! Our local Super Suppers just went under so I can't get this from there anymore. I used to get it from the freezer section so I never saw the recipe. This dish tastes EXACTLY like the Mongolian Lamb from P.F. Chang's. I know, I know, this dish is for beef and I'm comparing it to lamb. But the flavor is exactly the same. So anyone craving P.F. Chang's OR Super Suppers will benefit from this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Excellent. I'm new to Flank Steak, but am really enjoying the different ways it is used. The combination in this recipe is perfect for us. I'm not sure how large my steak was, but after 2 days of marinating, I cut it in half length wise and proceeded with the freezing directions for one half. I sliced the half left very thin at an angle and stir-fried it with red and green peppers, carrots and red onion. I made another serving of the marinade, diluting it with some water, and served that on top of the cooked meat and veggies over rice. Absolutely excellent. Now I have quick stir-fry meat in the freezer for a quick meal next time. Thanks Toni :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      Not tangy just sweet. Delicious! Huge hit w/ the picky hubby. Will make this many more times. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Unfortunately my hubby and I didn't care for this recipe... but I think that is more personal taste than it is a reflection of the recipe (so I'm not rating with stars). We just don't care for our main dishes to be very sweet and the sweetness of this was a little much for us. I had hoped it would be balanced by the savory flavors but it just wasn't for us. I think anyone who likes sweet dishes would like this though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Had a 2lb package of flank steaks (2 x 1 lb. each) so I marinated one for cooking with half the marinade and froze the other with the rest of the marinade. I had to cook mine a little bit longer on the grill, but it came out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I loved this marinade. I used two pounds of an inexpensive cut of beef. I cut it up into strips and then added the marinade. I am going to use it for stir frys. Before I froze the entire bit, I prepared some Asian egg noodles, sauteed some onions, broccoli and yellow peppers and added a bit of the marinaded steak. It was wonderful. Don't skimp on the fresh ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This was fabulous!!!! The steak was fork tender and the sauce was outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      We made this for a food-banking group of women, and so far everyone has been raving about it! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I ended up marinating this for two days, when some last minute dinner plans popped up and delayed my cooking by a day. The flavor was AWESOME. Next time I will definitely use low sodium soy sauce as mine was a tad salty, cause I used plain, it was all I had on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Wow, this is a keeper for sure. I had never made flank steak, didn't really know what to do with it. We got a 1/2 beef this summer & ended up with a package of flank steak so I tried your recipe. Now I wish we had several packages. I didn't use the freezer method, just marinated it for 5 hours. I grilled it using my pampered chef grill pan on the stove top. I made no changes to the recipe with the exception of cutting the seasame oil down as I think the flavor is pretty strong. I used a touch of olive oil to make of the difference. My husband really liked it too, I will have to check at the store & purchase more flank steak so we can have this often. Thanks for sharring a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I put this together last month and put it into a ziplock bag and froze it. I defrosted it and cooked in the crock pot today (on high for 4 hrs) and it was great!! Very tender and flavorful. My husband and daughters loved it. Husband said it was the right amount of sweet with tangy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This marinade made one tasty steak! I can't wait to try it on chicken. I bet it would be great. Loved the ginger in this recipe along with all the other Asian ingredients. Will make again and again! Thanks for sharing this with us Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Fabulous Flavor. I had an already frozen flank steak, so I defrosted it and marinated it my fridge for a week. Grilled with onions, squash and mushrooms for a wonderful dinner, served with salad. Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      My favorite freezer meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Love Love Love this!! MMM. i have some in my freezer at all times. i start panicking when i get low. i've actually just made the sauce before to put over noodles. It's just that good. Definately not diabetic friendly though. i'm going to try it w/ some splenda for the hubby (just not for me)! Thanks for posting it, justcallmetoni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This turned out really good! I followed the recipe exactly and froze it. I removed the morning I cooked and defrosted. The steak was really tender and well seasoned. My hubby and I are trying to watch clories so I put it on top romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, reduced-fat feta cheese, red onion and rice noodles. It was so yummy and easy. Thanks so much justcallmetoni! This will become a regular at our home! Who needs Super Suppers anymore ;)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I'm going to add my raves to this recipe! I adored it. This will be my marinade from now on. I didn't have soy sauce, so subbed Teriyaki sauce, and didn't want to pay a fortune for sesame oil, so just used olive oil. Even with those subs, it was fantastic. My husband, who hates it when I do anything with a steak other than put it on the grill plain, said he ALWAYS wants me to do steak this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Tangy Flank Steak (Oamc or Make Ahead)

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.0
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    41%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 557.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes