Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Spicy Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Spicy Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      This Chili was delicious!!! I couldn't find Barley Malt either so I substituted molasses. It was still very, very good. I also have chldren so did not put in the hot sauce. My husband, who loves spicey, still loved it and thought it was very good even without it. This is one of the few recipes that tastes best just like it is...I made it again changing it a little in other ways and did not like it as well.
      Definitely a keeper! Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Great vegetarian chili recipe! I added crumbles and used corn syrup instead of the barley malt. I used rotel instead of the green chilis, reduced the Worchestchire sauce to half a TBS and added a tsp more of chili powder and some salt. Wonderful results! Thanks for sharing this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I'm a definite beginner as far as cooking and I found this easy and DELICIOUS. I loved the avocado, and will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This was awesome! I couldn't find barley malt, so I substituted raw sugar. I am a weeny when it comes to spicy stuff, too, so I let my husband add some tobasco to his bowl. He was very pleased with this meal. It can easily be a vegan recipe if you omit the sour cream and cheese. I also ommited the tomatoes, just because I didn't have any. OH... and I added some ground bocca burger. Other than a few small changes, this was a very good recipe! Thanks for sharing :) We will be making this again many times in the future. I even let my 6 year old help! I don't think she would have wanted to try it if she hadn't had a hand in the cooking! But she was impressed with the flavor, as we all were! This is the best vegetarian chili I have ever tasted!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2005

      This is a very good soup. I left out the barley malt and did use about 1/4 tsp salt. Don't be put off by the long list of ingredients - this is easy and fairly quick to put together - you don't even have to drain any of the cans! :) I have made similar soups before but I really like the addition of cocoa powder in this one - don't skip it!! Thanks for posting this Roosie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian, but I omitted it and it still tasted great. I'm sure there is anchovy-free Worcestershire sauce available somewhere. I added 4oz of tomato sauce and meatless crumbles. This chili is really good. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This was recommended to me by Toni Gifford in a thread I had posted for "Chili fit for company." I made this per the recipe, except that I used corn syrup for the barley and used pickled jalapenos instead of green chiles. I even used the juice from the bean cans (usually rinse the beans) and I loved the texture of the sauce. I enjoyed every bite of this chili. Thanks Roosie! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This is the first recipe I've tried out on Zaar and it was fantastic! I can't wait to try more now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      The seasonings in this chili really play off each other so well. The barley malt adds a sweetness that's not sugary but more complex. I tend to like my chili a little saucy so I tossed in a second can of tomatoes along with an extra teaspoon of chili powder and a half tablespoon of barley malt. To stretch my leftovers the next day I tossed in a sliced zucchini. Though good it didn't add much to this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      I think I just found my new favorite vegetarian chili recipe. Roosie, this was outstanding! My friend and I absolutely LOVED the hint of sweetness the barley malt gave this, and the great mix of spices. This was the first time I had ever used barley malt, so I was pleasanty surprised. AND I liked the addition of the bay leaf, nice touch! The only thing I changed was that I drained my can of kidney beans, just cuz I'm not too fond of that liquidy stuff around them. The black beans I dumped in as it, liquid and all! Thanks Roosie, I will definitely make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Spicy Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.8
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 400.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites