Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Bake

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2007

      I hate to not give everything 5 stars, but I think this website is only useful with honest reviews. Although these were tasty, we didn't feel they were worth all the calories. I followed the directions exactly (I used butter and the full amount of the seasonings) but I didn't think they had enough flavor. Thank you though for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made these for Thanksgiving and we really enjoyed them. I added the larger amount of chili powder and cayenne pepper.......we like spicy foods. I also added an additional 1/4 cup of brown sugar. There were leftovers so I mashed the potatoes, added one egg and made potato croquettes which didn't change the integrity of the recipe. Yum! I actually perferred them mashed and when I make them again I'll serve them that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I tried this, as written except for a little less seasoning salt, for Thanksgiving. It was easy to make, I put it together the night before, put it in the frig amd left it in the bag till baking time, but my family gave it mixed reviews. I thought it needed more brown sugar. I probably won't bother to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      We really enjoyed these. I used two fairly large sweet potatoes, cut into 1" cubes, and all of the sauce ingredients, including 1/2tsp chili powder, 1tsp seasoning salt, and 1/8tsp cayenne pepper. That was about right for us, though next time, I'll up the cayenne just a tiny bit. I think I would prefer to toss it all in a large bowl, rather than a ziploc bag, so that I can get all of the "marinade" into the baking dish easier. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      I loved these sweet potatoes. Mine ended up kind of soft, probably because I cooked them too long. The flavor combination was great. I used 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1 tsp chili powder and they were just the right amount of spicy. I only used 1 1/2 tsp of seasoning salt. I will make these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I love this combination of spicy and sweet. Was easier for me to just bake the potato in the microwave (poke holes in it first), then cut in half and pile ingredients on top (nothing fancy, just if you are cooking for 2 or alone). Thanks for the yummy combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I imagined a carmelized sweet and spicy sweet potato but it didn't really turn out that way. They were o.k., too spicy for my kids though and not the best sweet potatoes that I've had; I'm sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Excellent mix of sweet and spicy. Also really nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Yet another great recipe, KITTENCAL. The sweet/savory blend of spices is perfect. I usually make it with the lesser amount of spices and even the non-sweet potato eaters love it! Thank you for another great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Oh I cant believe I've forgotten to rate this one. They're so good, especially for me - who usually just roasts them (plain) or boils them! Thanks for sharing yet another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This was one of the biggest hits at our holiday table! I recommend lining the pan with aluminum foil. People who don't even like sweet potatoes raved about this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      KITTENCAL this is an AMAZING sweet tater recipe! thank you. This is an update, I made this again, with Kit's turkey these potatoes are the best! thanks Kit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Great recipe! I've made this twice now and love it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

    • on October 25, 2006

      I made this to take to a Thanksgiving-style potluck dinner. I wanted something that wasn't as sweet as your typical sweet potato casserole. This really hit the mark. The flavor was great. I ended up with enough for two casserole dishes. There were too many pieces for just a single layer in each pan, so I stirred them more frequently to make sure all the juices/liquids were basted over all the potato pieces evenly. I found the spices to be a tad too hot, and I even did the smaller amounts of both the cayenne and chili powder, so next time I will reduce these even more. The kick is nice but I felt the need to reach for a drink after each bite. But I love having this alternative to the marshmallow/pecan topped casseroles of the past. It was easy as pie to make, minimal clean-up, and everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      In a word. Awesome. Made it for my son's 4th birthday and guests young and old loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This was so delicious! lightly sweet with a little kick - very good. I wasn't able to stir it that well, as the potatoes produced liquid that sort of rubbed off the seasoning, but they still cooked evenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Delicious! I somehow managed to burn a few (opps) but they still tasted soo good! I'm trying not to eat them all before DH gets home....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      We loved this. Thanks for a great, unusual recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Excellent recipe. It tasted like it had a carmelized sweet/spicy sauce which really enhanced the flavor of the sweet potatoes. I did add a little extra brown sugar. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.9
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    39%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 121.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites