49 Reviews

This recipe was included in Book#228608. May 29, 2008 -- These are terrific!! They were gone so fast that next time I'm going to make a double batch. The chipotle added such a kick to the shrimp -- it was simply delicious. I'm going to try a little more chipotle next time (just because we love spicy and hot foods). I also tried these with the Lime Cayenne Mayo, Lime Cayenne Mayonnaise, as you had done. What a perfect complement to the flavors of the fish. Thanks, Rita, for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 30, 2009

PERFECT!! These were a hit and were very easy to make. I let them marinate for 1/2 hour and did not use the cilantro. Will definitely make them again but will use jumbo size shrimp, mmmm!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buck Lake Jo January 30, 2009

"This Is A Keeper Forever!" - I made them yesterday as a starter for my family cookout. My mistake! I should have made more. They were fantastic! I used extra lg. shrimp, did them on the grill and per your suggestion served them with the Lime Cayenne Mayonnaise. The shrimp were so good we almost forgot to dip them. Best of all, I know they will be "great", if I do them in the broiler, in the winter. I can enjoy them year round. "Thank you, thank you".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal August 04, 2008

I had only cooked shrimp in the freezer and REALLY wanted to try this recipe, so I marinated the cooked shrimp in the sauce for a few hours. Then I removed the shrimp, heated the sauce (to a boil) in a big frying pan. I then lowered the heat, added the shrimp just to take the chill off being careful not to overheat them. OH MY!! Wonderful! We found the shrimp is great as a hot dish or at room temp. I am already planning to make this as an appy for our next party. Thanks so much for this very tasty, easy dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemeOne July 03, 2008

Another hit, Rita! We made these skewers for our BBQ last night and thought they were delicious! We loved the heat from the chipotles in adobo. I used a very generous 1 Tb. I didn't realize that I, too, accidentally mixed the cilantro in with the marinade until I just saw Beverly292's review, but I think it only enhanced the dish. I marinated the shrimp in the refrigerator for well over an hour, just because I had my hands full with the party. We skewered the shrimp with bell pepper, tomatoes, and red onions. Everyone thought they were great. I will definitely make this recipe again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 22, 2008

Great recipe. I added about 1/2 tsp of cumin and added more chipotle. Served with chipotle remoulade. I would like just a bit less sweet and a bit more spicy. I squeezed a bit of lime over mine and served with yellow rice. Definite keeper, but will cut the honey a bit and add even more chipotle next time. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! May 29, 2008

Rita hit the jackpot on these babies!!! We wanted to try these so bad I drove to three different grocery stored to find the chipolte chiles in adobe sauce, finally found them at Winn-Dixie! These were even better the next day as leftovers. Two thumbs up and five stars to Rita!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Booker of 5 May 26, 2008

I'd never used chipotle chile in adobo before. What a unique flavor! The sweet/spicy combo was great. I put the shrimp on the skewers with green pepper and onions between... very tasty. Thanks for sharing this keeper-- it was a great way to kick off grilling season!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 10, 2008

Fantastic!! These had just a little kick of heat and a hint of sweetness and took nothing away from the flavor of the shrimp. Simple to make!! We have a gas grill and ran out of gas so I finished these up under the broiler, which worked fine. Served this with (half) grilled pineapple and rice which was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 May 07, 2008

These were so good. We didn't grill them as it was cold but even on the stovetop they were good. Will definitely do these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love May 05, 2008
Sweet and Spicy Shrimp Kabobs