8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I used mostly cucumbers as the veggies with some jalapenos (seeded), red and yellow peppers and onion.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre September 01, 2013

A friend gave me the recipe from your site, as my garden is well over planted, and I have much excess. As a I am new to farming, but not new to canning , I made some of this Chow-chow, last week, filling 24 QT jars, (Trippled the recipe) did samples of it on blackened chicken at the farmers market in Alden, NY, and I now have people calling every day for this Chow-Chow. It is wonderful. The only things that I used, that was diffrent, as I have an abundance of them, were snap peas, and yellow beans, which I cut into1/8-1/4" pieces, I also added Green tomato's as well., My entire garden is represented in that Quart Jar. I just love making it, and its so good too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzy825_54 August 20, 2009

Love this, I did strain the pickling spice out. I also used zucchini and yellow squash. I substituted anaheim peppers for the bells. I can't wait to eat this on some buttermilk cornbread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janamboo June 15, 2012

This is soooo good. I did make some slight changes. I used cabbage instead of zukes or squash and I put the pickling spices into cheesecloth (using a little more than the recipe called for) just because I cannot imagine biting into the hard chunks of cloves, peppercorns, etc. Removed before adding the veggies. I only got 4 pints and some for a bowl to eat right away, but it tastes fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe November 03, 2009

Wonderful recipe. I love the versatility of it because I can use what I have in my small garden. I don't have an over abundance of anything, much to my dismay, but I was able to come up with a combination that equaled 4 quarts (green tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, eggplant, cucumber, zucchini, jalapenos, cayenne peppers, bell peppers, garlic, onion, carrots). I chopped everything in the food processor and let it sit overnight as one reviewer suggested. Great flavor and with a hint of spice from the jalapenos. Love it! Can't wait for my husband to taste it. My yield was 5 pints.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgiagourmet September 12, 2009

I did add a couple of jalepenos to the mixture because I had some to use. The relish is wonderful, very easy to make and I will make it again. I used a food processer and chopped everything up very fine. I let the mixture stand overnight, rather than the 1 hour recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fsronko September 22, 2007

Super yummy! I grated 6 quarts of veggies and this made 4 1/2 pints. I subbed two chopped cucumbers for two of the bell peppers. Will definitely make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
efromoregon August 30, 2013

This is a great way to end the garden. I used cucumbers and it is awesome. Thanks The Bacon's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojobacon September 04, 2008
Sweet and Spicy Garden Relish/ Chow-Chow