Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Spicy Garden Relish/ Chow-Chow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Spicy Garden Relish/ Chow-Chow

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2013

      Very good. I used mostly cucumbers as the veggies with some jalapenos (seeded), red and yellow peppers and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      A friend gave me the recipe from your site, as my garden is well over planted, and I have much excess. As a I am new to farming, but not new to canning , I made some of this Chow-chow, last week, filling 24 QT jars, (Trippled the recipe) did samples of it on blackened chicken at the farmers market in Alden, NY, and I now have people calling every day for this Chow-Chow. It is wonderful. The only things that I used, that was diffrent, as I have an abundance of them, were snap peas, and yellow beans, which I cut into1/8-1/4" pieces, I also added Green tomato's as well., My entire garden is represented in that Quart Jar. I just love making it, and its so good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      Love this, I did strain the pickling spice out. I also used zucchini and yellow squash. I substituted anaheim peppers for the bells. I can't wait to eat this on some buttermilk cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This is soooo good. I did make some slight changes. I used cabbage instead of zukes or squash and I put the pickling spices into cheesecloth (using a little more than the recipe called for) just because I cannot imagine biting into the hard chunks of cloves, peppercorns, etc. Removed before adding the veggies. I only got 4 pints and some for a bowl to eat right away, but it tastes fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Wonderful recipe. I love the versatility of it because I can use what I have in my small garden. I don't have an over abundance of anything, much to my dismay, but I was able to come up with a combination that equaled 4 quarts (green tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, eggplant, cucumber, zucchini, jalapenos, cayenne peppers, bell peppers, garlic, onion, carrots). I chopped everything in the food processor and let it sit overnight as one reviewer suggested. Great flavor and with a hint of spice from the jalapenos. Love it! Can't wait for my husband to taste it. My yield was 5 pints.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I did add a couple of jalepenos to the mixture because I had some to use. The relish is wonderful, very easy to make and I will make it again. I used a food processer and chopped everything up very fine. I let the mixture stand overnight, rather than the 1 hour recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      Super yummy! I grated 6 quarts of veggies and this made 4 1/2 pints. I subbed two chopped cucumbers for two of the bell peppers. Will definitely make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      This is a great way to end the garden. I used cucumbers and it is awesome. Thanks The Bacon's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Spicy Garden Relish/ Chow-Chow

    Serving Size: 1 (3749 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    61%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6314.1 mg
    263%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 74.2 g
    296%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickling spices

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes