28 Reviews

I have made this twice now, and will be making it again very soon. The onion soup mix was perfect seasoning, but I did cut down the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Best part was that supper was ready when we got home on a busy night. Just had to toss a quick salad and serve. Loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef March 19, 2010

We really enjoyed this recipe ~so easy and so tasty! I didn't use my crock pot because I forgot to get the chicken out last night and used chicken tenders because that was all I had. Browned the tenders in a small amount of oil and then covered them with the sauce and simmered them for about 30 minutes and served with rice and green beans. DH thought the sauce would be good over a pork loin and then made into BBQ sandwiches. Made for the winner of 1~2~3 Hits It's Not Easy Being Green ~ March 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft May 02, 2010

What a tasty 5 star easy chicken recipe. After reading thru the reviews I made one change to the sauce and reduced the brown sugar to a 1/2 cup. I used chicken breasts; I'm not big on dark chicken meat. I cooked mine totally different. I put 1/2 the sauce on & baked them @ 350. After dumping off the accumulated fat, I put the rest of the sauce on & broiled it until it was carmelized. I love cooking in the crock pot & this recipe would be delicious cooked that way; time did not allow me to crock pot it this time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy April 01, 2010

On 9/08/09 this was made for mine and SO's dinner. After reading a few of the reviews, I did make a couple of changes to the recipe. And they are as follows: I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup, used regular barbecue sauce, the full amount of onion soup mix, and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Poured the sauce over the chicken, and let the crockpot do it's thing. With it some Oriental style veggies and rice were served. Let me finish up by saying, " I don't really care for chicken thighs, but these are so good I had two " :) This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling : ) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � September 09, 2009

The 5 stars is for the flavor combination. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breast and cooked on low for 6 hours and they were so overcooked that we can barely eat them. I used a sweet chili sauce so cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet. I want to make this again, but I think I'll bake it in the oven for about 30-40 minutes next time. Thanks weekend cooker. Made for zaar stars tag game. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 29, 2009

This was very very good. I made it while my sister was visiting. Both our kids ate all I put on their plates. The only thing i'll do different is using less of the onion soup mix. It seemed to take over the flavor. Thanks for a great chicken recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes August 14, 2009

I used 2.5 pounds chicken thighs and Copycat Lipton Onion Soup Mix to make this. The results were good with regular, not spicy, BBQ sauce. The chicken was tasty, tender, and succulent. We enjoyed it very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 15, 2009

Really delicious chicken! I used boneless breast tenders, otherwise made as specified. Just loved the sweet and spicy sauce, and it smelled so good cooking all day. This recipe made a lot; I shredded the leftover chicken and mixed it with the remaining sauce - it'll make great bbq sandwiches! Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 04, 2009

Delicious! I loved the sweetness and the spiciness together. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 17, 2009

Made this in the crockpot with one change, used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar. The flavor is so much more complex than just using BBQ sauce alone, DH loved it. Next time I will bake this or simmer on the stove as the sauce was a tad too thin for my taste. Great recipe weekend cooker, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws June 21, 2012
Sweet and Spicy Chicken