9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so delicious. Mmmm - crispy and sweet, with a little bit of zip. Everyone loved this - and it was great for company since it bakes in the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 11, 2004

I made this for my family for Sunday brunch. DD went nuts over it. They all agreed it was five stars. Thank you for posting....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 04, 2008

Our family really enjoyed this bacon recipe. It was so easy and the bacon cooked perfectly. I think I'll start cooking all of our bacon in the oven now. Thanks WaterMelon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf January 26, 2007

Wonderful! Everyone loved this bacon for Christmas breakfast. Just the right amount of spiciness balanced with a touch of sweetness. Thick cut bacon is so good here. Easy to prepare with no splatters to clean up. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2006

I served this on a buffet of finger foods at a breakfast party. With the bacon slices cut into thirds, this made perfect little portions. I only rubbed the brown sugar and cayenne mixture on one side of the bacon, but the flavor was still excellent. I also lined my baking pans with foil first for easy clean up. This was a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 27, 2006

This added a nice flavor to the bacon.It wasn't overly sweet with a mild spicy taste. The only thing I will have to different next time will be to shorten the cooking time. Thanks WaterMelon. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle June 07, 2005

was was good, I added red pepper flakes for a little more kick.The house smelled so good while this was baking,and was so much easier than frying.TFS this WaterMelon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jt*s_mom December 16, 2004

Yummy! I loved this! I used my pampered chef baking pan and although the bacon did get quite black it did not taste burnt. I will make this again, thanks for suggesting this to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 13, 2004

This is so GOOD!!!! We decided to have breakfast for dinner tonight and I figured this would be the perfect opportunity to enjoy this recipe that I chose for Pick Your Chef Nov '04. Crispy, sweet and zippy... just wonderful! I made a third of the recipe for 2 people (that is, 4 slices). I also had to cook at a higher temp - 400F- because we were also cooking Spicy Hash Browns #519 in the oven. So I just adjusted the cooking time and they came out perfect! I have never made bacon in the oven before, but I have heard others rave about it, and now I'm glad I have! It leaves you with a wonderfully crisp piece of bacon! I was really amazed at how much bacon grease drained off these- I think that its nice that they weren't fried in their own grease too. I am really enamored with breakfast recipes that can be cooked in the oven (like Spicy Hash Browns #519) because usually breakfast has so many stovetop dishes (pancakes, bacon or sausages, eggs, french toast, etc.) We served this with blueberry pancakes, the hash browns, as I mentioned and fried eggs. So yummy! I think that you could up the cayenne a bit if you wanted it a bit spicier. I used Niman Ranch nitrate-free applewood-smoked bacon. Thanks for a delicious change from the norm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 10, 2004
Sweet and Spicy Bacon