Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Skillet Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Skillet Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2003

      This was a real winner in my house!! I used 7 skinless chicken legs quarters and there were no leftovers!! (Our exchange student polished off 3 in one sitiing!!) I was curious about the ingredients in the sauce, but they blended together nicely to make a very tasty sauce. I actually made these in the oven in a covered casserole dish with great results. I think that this would work very well in a crock pot too! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I am glad I picked you as "my chef"!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Very nice dish. I used chicken breasts, so I reduced the cooking time to 1 1/2 hrs. I think I'll try it with bone in skinless thighs next time only because I believe they have much more flavor. :)<br/>Update: I have used this recipe with boneless/skinless chicken thighs and they are equally delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I used chicken breasts and they were so tender (and fully cooked after an hour). I also added pineapple and red bell pepper and substituted pineapple juice for some of the maple syrup. The sauce was a little more sour than sweet. I might add a little brown sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I have made this several times, and my picky husband LOVES it. Recently I made it for a friend who had just had a baby and her hubby said it was the best meal he'd had since the baby had been born (and they'd had family in town taking care of them for a couple of weeks!). I do add powdered ginger and soy sauce to make it taste more like a restaurant-style sweet and sour sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Very nice dish Laudee. Made as directed but scaled the chicken back for two of us. Left the sauce the same. Dh wolfed it! I liked it too but found it the chicken overcooked. My fault entirely as I cooked it for the time specified without taking into consideration the reduced quantities. I'll definately make this again but will shorten the cooking time by about 45 mins. I used skinless chicken quarters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Overall this was quite good. Just a tad on the sweet side, but still nummy! I'll be making it again with a few minor adjustments to suit my family's taste buds. I served this with mushroom fried rice. Thanks for a great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      We really enjoyed this supper. I made it in the oven and it was very delicious and easy.Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This made a good tasting chicken. Different from the usual sweet and sour. Prepared as written. Thanks Laudee. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      This was very good and very simple. I was curious about the ingredients so we had to try it. Very good blend of flavors. I did add 2T brown sugar because I tasted it as it was cooking and thought my husband would like it a little sweeter. I made it with boneless skinless breasts (halved) in the slow cooker on high for 3 hours. Served over rice....very yummy. Next time I may add a little less water to keep the sauce a bit thicker. Overall a yummy and simple meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      YUMeeeee! Whipped this up tonight in my electric skillet for DH and myself. I used chicken thighs and legs. I sauteed the onions (with fresh minced garlic) for about 5 minutes before adding in the chicken pieces. The sauce was so delicious, DH gave it two thumbs up! I served it with oven-baked rice, and peas, what a wonderful meal Laudee, we enjoyed it very much... this is a repeater for sure, thanks so much for posting!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      Oh, Laudee another good one. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I didn't have quite enough chili sauce so I added a bit of ketchup. Cooked it for an hour and it was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Fixed it in the crockpot with skinless breasts and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      This is a great change of pace from the norm. I loved it and my husband and guests did too! I think it would aslo be wonderful on flatbread as a sandwhich or even on a bun for lunch. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      This gets 5 stars because before I even asked hubby if he liked it he commented on how good it was!! That never happens!! I made this in the crockpot and it turned out great! The sauce was tasty and we served it over rice for a great meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Laudee Laudee was this ever good! I was in a panic because DD#2 brought home chicken and needed me to make a sweet and sour chicken dish to share for school. All I had was the boneless chicken and little else, so I pulled your recipe and used the great substitute chile sauce Chili Sauce Substitute from Princess Buttercup. DD raved as did her school chums and I came out looking like a champ! I literally had to threaten my other kids from stealing this! The only thing I did differently was to saute the onions with two chopped green bell peppers and I was able to cut the cooking time in half.Your recipe was a lifesaver, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      What a great find this recipe is! It just doesn't get any easier than this and proves once again you don't need a lot of complcated ingredients to produce a satisfying meal with great flavor. Both my husband and I thoroughly enjoy the sauce and the chicken turned out very tender. Thanks Laudee for sharing a "keeper" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Skillet Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.1
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    62%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 34.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1711.8 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.4 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 58.7 g
    235%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites