Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2002

      I found this to be excellent although I couldn't help tinkering just a bit. I added a little more sugar and some orange juice. I also added some red food coloring to get a more appetizing color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      The PERFECT sweet 'n' sour sauce--just what I was looking for and I had all the ingredients in the house already. I just added a touch of ground ginger and garlic powder...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      The only thing I had a little problem with was the oz. configurations. I added 2 cans of chopped apricots to the mixture (I had to scale the recipe to 10) that I chopped and used that juice along with a cup of orange juice instead of water. It was used over pork during and after cooking time. My entire family and guest enjoyed it. I was also asked for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Excellent and easy in a pinch. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Good but I have never been a fan of Sweet and Sour Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This was fabulous! I did wind up halving the recipe since it's just the two of us, but it worked out great! Since it wasn't specified, I used cider vinegar. I wasn't sure what "pineapple tidbits" were - if that was crushed, the small pieces or chunks, so I used crushed, which worked out perfectly for us. I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of Sambal Olek to give a little zing to it. I used it to dip the Oven-Baked Coconut Shrimp, #176403, which were FABULOUS, by the way, in. Looking forward to making meatballs with sauteed pepper chunks and onions and using the rest of this sauce over rice one night next week. This is a KEEPER! Thank you so much! And that it's gluten free is heaven sent as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Loved it. Look the recipe up at moms house, we had it for dinner and had a pint left over. That was Friday....by the time I went back to their house on Mon it was gone!! We have a winner. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Dear Miss Leslie O~~~ I made bitty little meatballs and wanted somthing to dip them in. When I found your receipe, I read i through and deceided, yup this is it. I didn't know a home cook could even make sweet and sour sauce. And, boy, was this good. I followed you receipe to the letter and it turned out WONDERFUL. Thank you so much for posting this....you made my day (and, of course my husband and mine supper) I had 2 cups left over and put it in a glass, pint, jar and put it in the refrigerator. Angelcook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      YUM! Delicious and fast, instead of the pineapple I just used pineapple juice. I"ll keep this one on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I thought that this was very simple to make. I was looking for something to dip egg rolls & chicken tenders in- and this fit the bill. I pureed the pineapple, which made it a bit overwhelming- next time I will not do that. Mine also got very thick- so I added some water. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Very yummy and simple to make. I used this sauce to make sweet and sour farmer sausage.Definitely a recipe I will use again. Thank you for an easy and enjoyable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Made just as directed and it turned out great! Served with Rangoon Crab Dip and it worked great together. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I must of made it wrong cuz it didnt look like the picture or taste good. What kind of vinegar??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      This was pretty good, a little sweeter then I am used to (I do like the sour of a "sweet and sour" quite well), but adding more pinapple juice and a little more cornstarch fixed that. I also added 2 good squirts of soy sauce to give it a little more pep, guess my vinegar was too mild.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      There is an inexpensive Chinese restaurant in town that makes a Sweet and Sour Chicken with a startingly red sweet and sour sauce that has absolutely no character. I wanted to make sweet and sour chicken for my son to expose him to something a little better. This went over enthusiastically with my husband (This was a surpise); I'm working on my son. This is not excessively icky sweet. I used it as a sauce over stir fried chicken, green peppers, onions, garlic and fresh ginger. I can see that this would be wonderful foil to egg rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      My hubby LOVED this recipe! We used it with egg rolls and rice...it was perfectly sweet yet not too tangy. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      My family loved this sweet and sour sauce. I made it with chicken and pasta and I used a fresh pineapple so as it had no juice I used orange and grapefruit juice, and it was superb. Thank you for sharing leslie O

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I used this recipe to make sweet and sour pork. Because the type of vinegar was not specified I used rice wine vinegar which was not sour enough, so next time will use a cider vinegar instead. You might want to edit your recipe to specify which type of vinegar you use in this. I did use the pineapple, but processed it first so as not to have too chunky of a sauce-this worked out fine. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      This is a good recipe. But I don't think you need the whole 1/2 cup of vinegar. Way too strong. Will have to try again and maybe add a little more sugar and a little less vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      This recipe is very good and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    34%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 177.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 42.0 g
    168%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes