Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Ribs for Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Ribs for Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2002

      I knew this would be great when I got home from work, and the house smelled so wonderful from it cooking all day. I added extra garlic, but otherwise made it exactly according to the recipe. The flavors mixed so well together, and the ribs just fell apart. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Ding,Ding,Ding!!!!!My fellow Zaar friends we have a winner here!!This is by far the very best recipe. I used Chicken..thighs and legs. I cut off all the skin and fat. Turned out nice and tender. Served with rice and a garden salad. Wonerful meal. Daughter loved it so she took the left overs and the recipe with her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      Man, was this good. I couldn't find boneless pork ribs so the supermarket people told me to take a pork roast and butterfly it and cut it into strips. I used 2 roasts that were 1.5 pounds each. I mixed all the ingredients the night before and let it sit in the fridge to marinate overnight. In the morning I dumped it all into our crock pot and let it cook on low for 10 hours. The pork just fell apart so it turned into pork pieces and sauce. We ate it over rice and my wife said this was "possibly the best crock pot meal I have ever made in all of existence." Her words not mine. This recipe has it all. It is super easy and has a lot of flavors so it's exciting to eat. Thanks, Sandy! We'll make this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      Very, very good.....the sauce is delicious ...... When the meat was done, I removed it and took half of the remaining sauce and ran it through a food processor, and then added some flour and thickened it the crockpot. Served it over rice with the meat on the side....I'll be making this again and again I'm sure.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      Delicious, Made this for dinner last evening. I did make it on top of the stove, as I didn't have time to make it in the crockpot. turned out great. Tender, Yummy, served it with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      I have a similar recipe for sweet and sour that includes the same ingredients except for the tomato sauce and tomato paste. With ommitting these items I believe the sweet and sour taste would be enhanced. Next time I'll try that, but with the tomato products my family and I didn't care for it. Next time I'll also use boneless ribs, using bone-in ribs made the meat very dry. Thank you for posting the recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      I didn't care for this-perhaps i did something wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly (I even bought 3lbs of "boneless" country style ribs). I added a little extra garlic. My family and I found it tasteless, not sweet, not sour, nadda. Not sure what went wrong but I won't be trying it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      My husband loved this. I made it into a delicious sweet and sour pork because my ribs were totally falling apart. I pulled them out of the crock pot, removed the fat and cut them into chunks. While the ribs were out of the pot, I mixed up 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with 1/4 cup cold water and added it to the sauce in the crock pot. Switched the setting to high. When the sauce was thickened (10-15 minutes), I added the pork chunks back in , with a tablespoon of soy sauce. I served it over jasmine rice and garnished it with sliced green onions. It was delicious. I will make it again. I did add more than one clove of garlic, it needs about 4 cloves. I think 8-10 hours is too long, I cooked mine 6-7 hours and they were falling apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      did not find ribs or sauce had alot of taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I found the sauce to be very watery and greasy from the ribs, I think too much vinegar as well - I spooned as much of the grease off as possible then I added plum sauce and ketchup, more brown sugar and some orange juice then boiled it on the stove for about 30 minutes to thicken it up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      This was good and very easy to make. My kids thought it was a little too much on the sour side, so the nex time I will increase the brown sugar a bit. The whole house smelled really good while they were cooking and the ribs were very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      This was terrific. I cut the meat in half but not the sauce. The sauce was great over rice and I have some frozen to put on chicken at a later date. Thanks Sandy One

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      The ribs came out tender and done perfectly, however, the sauce just didn't agree with our taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Served this dish with rice, and couldn't eat enough! Best as a leftover, as flavours have a chance to mature even more. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      This was so good. After cooking on low for almost 10 hours,I actually pulled out all the ribs with tongs. They were as clean as could be. Our guests loved it. Served it with beer bread for dipping and rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Ribs for Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.5
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    64%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 557.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 33.8 g
    135%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes