50 Reviews

This recipe was the closest to what I've eaten at Chinese restaurants. What gave it its most genuine chinese restaurant quality, was the breaded pork. I added a little baking soda to the batter, and deep fried the pieces of battered pork, which made it very authentic. Before I deep-fried the pork, I baked the pieces in the oven on a large cookie sheet for about 20 minutes, so they were actually already done all the way through. The deep-frying took very little time, and they came out golden brown. If I hadn't pre-baked, they may have been a little undercooked inside. I also used rice vinegar, instead of white vinegar, because it's been sitting in my cabinet for months, and I wanted to use it. I used about a quarter cup less, because it was all the rice vinegar I had, but I didn't need to add any white vinegar, because it turned out just perfect. I also sauteed my vegetables in a separate sautee pan. Even though it sounds like I changed this recipe a lot, I'm sure if I had followed it to the letter, it would have been excellent too. The Chinese restaurant version I am used to has a red sweet and sour sauce, and this is not red, but it is very good! If you want red, go buy it, unless you know how they make that stuff. I would love to know. But this sauce is excellent. The batter is an excellent recipe for batter. I plan on using it for onion rings and mushrooms too! Thanks for posting! By the way...this recipe was about the only one without stars posted behind it, and I chose it anyway, because of the batter, which was what I was looking for to mimic the Chinese restaurant's version. I'm glad I can give it the credit it's due - now it will have 5 stars. Thanks again!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H. Cato August 12, 2002

Oh boy, this was excellent and as good or better than the Sweet and Sour Pork I have had in restaurants. The pork was tender with a wonderful battered crust. I threw in some onion rings and mushrooms. The sauce was a perfect blend of ingredients. Thanks BarbaraK, for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' December 30, 2003

A very nice sweet and sour dish! I made it almost as directed - just used fresh pineapple and also added some onion wedges. The batter was great and one day I will figure out how to keep the coating from getting soggy once the sauce is introduced. That is true of every battered dish with sauce that I have made not just this one. :)
Thanks very much for sharing this recipe. I expect to be making it again in the near future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned March 15, 2011

I substituted almond meal for the flour, rice wine vinegar for the white and at the end added some Sweet Chili Sauce for the red! Yummo! This is the same recipe from my old Betty Crocker cookbook. Try it, yur sure to like it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny Day March 12, 2010

Hey there-this is the recipe for Sweet and Sour Pork I've been waiting for. The sauce is a perfect balance of vinegar/sugar/juice. The veggies were great-tender crisp. I did add 1 onion sliced, and the pork came out just right, a little juicy with a nice crust. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. My family thanks you as well. Di

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's December 12, 2002

Turned out great except for the frying. Nice sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 23, 2015

This is just the best and easiest recipe.. It was easy and my husband and I loved it. Try it you will like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackie a. September 07, 2015

too much vinegar for our taste. sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole February 03, 2015

I made this recipe for something different and easy as my daughter and grand daughter were coming for dinner. I made it according to the measurements in the recipe. I made the sauce in a medium size Lagostina pot (I don't have a double boiler) and ensured I kept it cooking at the right temperature. I used five medium carrots sliced relatively thin. <br/><br/>I cubed the meat (3 large and thick pork tenderloins) and sauted it in the batter in a regular frying pan with high quality olive oil. (The batter is similar to a tempura batter). I cooked the meat on medium heat so that it was cooked evenly and not burned. (Less oil is used if not deep frying). I added the cornstarch and water mixture to the sauce just before adding the meat. Once it thickened which took only a few minutes the thickened sauce was just right. This was topped over Batsumi rice. It tasted great and as it makes alot, I have enough left over to freeze for at least three or four more meals. I will save this recipe and use it again. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. It took me a little less than an hour to make all from scratch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.cheryl December 02, 2013

This was fabulous! An absolute keeper! I thought it looked like a lot of extra work to cook the pork like that, but it made the dish. I loved it! Since I have a "thing" about sweetness, I did reduce the amount of brown sugar I used in the sauce to 3 Tbls. and think I could have reduced it even more for my own personal tastes. But it is, after all, "sweet and sour pork" and actually nearly perfect. I'd not hesitate a minute to serve it to guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 13, 2013
Sweet and Sour Pork