Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Pork

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2003

      This was simple to make yet very tasty. I will definately make it again. I added a couple gloves of garlic to the oil to brown the pork and tossed in a handful of walnuts with the pineapple. I served it over brown rice. Hubby raved over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      Made this recipe as stated, tasty and easy to make. I used half a green pepper and half a red pepper. Served with steamed rice. Love this type of sweet and sour, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      I just adore Sweet and Sour Pork and this would have to be the best recipe I have tried. I have made it several times now and it is always delicious. I also find that it is a very easy recipe to whip up after work. Not a lot to do once it is underway. I originally thought that the cooking time was a bit long, however it certainly ensures that the meat is tender. Delicous! Thank you Carol :) for posting a 'true gem'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This is the dish of my youth. Used cheap ol' pork too. The perfect amount of vinegar (cider of course) etc. I have to admit it seems sweet now days though. I really enjoyed it . Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was good, but it seemed to be missing something. It was quick to fix, and that is always a plus! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      My husband loved this and it really was good...but after about 3 bites it was WAY too sweet. We will make this again, but cut the sugar by at least half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Very authentic tasting sauce! I did decrease the brown sugar a bit and add a little more vinegar as one reviewer suggested as I knew we wouldn't like it real sweet. One of my new favorite recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This is easy to make and tastes wonderful! The only comment I have about it, is that I am just learning to cook, so with step #5, my thought is to add the corn starch last, and make sure that you don't just put the power in, mix the starch in a bowl with 2 tablespoons of water and mix. I know 95% of people know that, but I'm not that smart! ;-) Thanks Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I made recipe as listed with the addition of carrots. I did change the order of the sauce...instead, I stir fried the vegetables, added the meat and then the sauce and let it thicken at the end...with the pineapple going in very last. I prefer the veggies stirfried instead of boiled. I thought the sauce was very sweet...too sweet and not tangy enough. Perhaps reducing the brown sugar to a couple of tablespoons and increasing the vinegar a little would have helped. Thanks for the delicious dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      We enjoyed this very much and will be making it again. Lovely sweet and sour taste! I only had a small red sweet pepper , it went very well with the onion, pork and pineapple. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      I cut this recipe in half, added carrots and celery, and took out the green peppers. All in all, this was a very very tasty dish! But, didn't taste very sweet and sour, more like sweet and savory. We will make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      I used this recipe to-night with some pork left over from Sunday's dinner. The chops were more than we could eat, so made the sauce and after it had cooked and thickened added the pork which I sliced thin, and the green pepper and onion. I let this simmer about 10 minutes and then added the pineapple while the rice was cooking. It was excellent! It reminded me of a crockpot recipe from years ago in the Hamilton Beach recipe book that came with the crockpot. I used to make it a lot when all the family was home or if we were entertaining. This is definately a keeper. (I may even cook more pork than we need so I can use the leftovers to use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I wasn’t happy with this at all i made it just like the recipe asked. It ware bearable to eat but only bearable. This reminds me of a sweet and sour dish that I didn’t like from some restaurants that leave a funny taste of the Worchester sauce. If you do decide to make it I would suggest tasting it and seeing if you like it before you add the Worchester sauce. I don’t believe that belongs in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      This was great. I don't own a Joy of Cooking Book but surely wish I did! Bf was in off the road today and requested Sweet and Sour Pork, so where did I turn? Zaar!!! This fit the bill, was simple to put together with items on hand, and tasted wonderful! TY Carol:) from me and from the BF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 553.5
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    43%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 124.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 477.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 42.8 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites