14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was simple to make yet very tasty. I will definately make it again. I added a couple gloves of garlic to the oil to brown the pork and tossed in a handful of walnuts with the pineapple. I served it over brown rice. Hubby raved over it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clintsmom721 January 07, 2003

Made this recipe as stated, tasty and easy to make. I used half a green pepper and half a red pepper. Served with steamed rice. Love this type of sweet and sour, thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* November 16, 2002

I just adore Sweet and Sour Pork and this would have to be the best recipe I have tried. I have made it several times now and it is always delicious. I also find that it is a very easy recipe to whip up after work. Not a lot to do once it is underway. I originally thought that the cooking time was a bit long, however it certainly ensures that the meat is tender. Delicous! Thank you Carol :) for posting a 'true gem'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy November 05, 2011

This is the dish of my youth. Used cheap ol' pork too. The perfect amount of vinegar (cider of course) etc. I have to admit it seems sweet now days though. I really enjoyed it . Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie K. Dowell May 22, 2010

This was good, but it seemed to be missing something. It was quick to fix, and that is always a plus! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds January 03, 2010

My husband loved this and it really was good...but after about 3 bites it was WAY too sweet. We will make this again, but cut the sugar by at least half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmiej7 July 02, 2009

Very authentic tasting sauce! I did decrease the brown sugar a bit and add a little more vinegar as one reviewer suggested as I knew we wouldn't like it real sweet. One of my new favorite recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. April 17, 2008

This is easy to make and tastes wonderful! The only comment I have about it, is that I am just learning to cook, so with step #5, my thought is to add the corn starch last, and make sure that you don't just put the power in, mix the starch in a bowl with 2 tablespoons of water and mix. I know 95% of people know that, but I'm not that smart! ;-) Thanks Carol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soonbmd October 25, 2007

I made recipe as listed with the addition of carrots. I did change the order of the sauce...instead, I stir fried the vegetables, added the meat and then the sauce and let it thicken at the end...with the pineapple going in very last. I prefer the veggies stirfried instead of boiled. I thought the sauce was very sweet...too sweet and not tangy enough. Perhaps reducing the brown sugar to a couple of tablespoons and increasing the vinegar a little would have helped. Thanks for the delicious dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am January 11, 2006

We enjoyed this very much and will be making it again. Lovely sweet and sour taste! I only had a small red sweet pepper , it went very well with the onion, pork and pineapple. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf July 24, 2005
Sweet and Sour Pork