8 Reviews

Cornstarch will make a clear sauce as flour will not. I ate this beet pineapple recipe hot, and didn't like it much, but it is great served as a cold salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quickcooker April 15, 2009

A super easy to put together side dish. I used splenda brown to bring the calories down a smidge (though they are already pretty good). I think next time I'll cut up my beets. I'm looking forward to having this available in the fridge for me to munch on. Get well soon, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 01, 2008

Made this recipe with #80449 Fluffiest Scrambled Eggs, for the first brunch of the new year. And for my first,ever tags. They complimentd each other nicely. DH and I both enjoyed this recipe. Made it according to the recipe, but with Splenda brown sugar blend, and rice flour for my dietary imperatives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon January 01, 2008

I made one major change -- I used one very large fresh beet and diced it, and used fresh pineapple, diced it as well (about 2/3 of a small pineapple). To make up for the liquid from the can, I used about an extra 1/2 cup water. I just prefer fresh to canned. But I am sooooo glad that I tried this recipe -- I would never have thought of this combination on my own, and I loved every last bite of it. I mopped up all that glorious fuschia-pink sauce with a piece of bread once the chunks of beet and pineapple were all gone. This is a keeper for sure. Made for Kittencal's cook-a-thon, sending my very best wishes for a rapid recovery! Thanks for the yum-yums!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too December 28, 2007

I've made these twice this week and neglected to review the first time. Initially, I made them with brown sugar Splenda and flour. Ended up adjusting by adding a little more vinegar as my tastes tend toward tend towards the tangy. The secnd time I used regular Splenda and arrowroot to make the WW Core. Also very good though I missed the bit of flavor from the brown sugar. either way they were a asty treat. Thanks Kitz. Just delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 13, 2006

This is a great way to get kids to eat beets! I used a quart of frozen chopped beets and unsweetened pineapple chunks so needed to add 1/4 c. sugar. Wonderful recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin April 05, 2006

5 stars plus! we loved this dish. next time I will double the recipe. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kusinera May 23, 2005

i was a little nervous about trying this- i love all the ingredients but wasn't sure how they'd taste together. it turned out great. my mother said it tasted like candy! very sweet but not overly so. i will make this again for sure. served it with dancer's sauteed tillapia with lime sauce. what a great combination! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenErinM March 05, 2005
Sweet and Sour Pineapple Beets (Fat Free)