Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Oriental Sweet and Sour Meatballs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Oriental Sweet and Sour Meatballs)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2010

      It was pretty tasty, I would make them again. I baked the meatballs rather than fried them, and they turned out well. I would add a little more ginger and a touch of salt to them in the future. Would definitely bring these to a party. Easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I made this for a work potluck and everyone raved about it! I doubled the recipe but didn't double the pineapple or bell peppers, and it turned out great. I made the meatballs the day before and froze them overnight. Made the sauce, but didn't add the produce until the next day, when I put everything in a crockpot on low for about 2 hours. I left out the carrots (they didn't "go" to me) and didn't add the water chestnuts until I added the veggies. I also would, next time, MINCE the onion as fine as you can since dicing it left chunks too large for the meatballs. I also used turkey in place of the pork. But I had 5 requests for a copy of the recipe, so THANK YOU for providing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This was great! Very easy to make and very tasty! I love the fact that the meatballs don't need any eggs since my son is allergic to eggs! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I made this for a church potluck today. It was a hit. I used beef and pork and had to sub flour for the starch. I had lots of compliments. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is a very tasty dish and would be superb over rice. I originally made this hoping for an "appetizer" and then wondered what I would do with the veggies. However, I will serve the meatballs and pineapple in the sauce as an appetizer and the rest is reserved for supper one evening. I have been doing my meatballs in the oven for quite sometime and find them much healthier. I'm thinking this sauce would be great with chicken, pork, etc. Endless possibilities here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      yummy,used redwine vinegar and cider vinegar for the sauce,and sweet onion and a couple dashes of worsheshire in the happy meat balls, super tasty.The CO loved. happy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I'm not a sweet and sour addict but it was quite tasty. Used frozen pre-cooked turkey meatballs. Just boiled them in the pineapple juice and water to heat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Gerry 999 is my grandmother and I just made these and they were soo good.. But not as good as gramma's of course... If my picky 19 month old will clear her plate it must be good...LOL... I would recommend everyone to try it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      I'm sorry that I didn't like this as well as other reviewers. I thought the meatballs had a slightly strange texture. Normally I use an egg and breadcrumb or other filler in my meatballs and I much prefer that to the cornstarch. The sauce was very nice. I used pineapple juice instead of water and used only 1/2 the sugar. Another time I think I would cut the sugar down even more, although I am sure this would be a real kid-pleaser as written. The veggies and pineapple with the meatballs were very nice. I think I might make this again with my traditional meatball recipe and a less sweetened sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      This was a great meal. Quick and easy too. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      This is the best recipe I have ever tried for sweet sour meatballs...easy and taste great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      We really enjoyed this recipe. When I started to make the sauce I thought there may not be enough but there was more than enough once the vegetables were added.I baked the meatballs in the oven---perfect. I did not change a thing. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      We thoroughly enjoyed this dish! I used extra lean ground beef & oven cooking. I turned them every 5 minutes for 20 minutes & they were cooked to perfection. I added the yucky water chestnuts to the veggie mixture - that way I could pick them out & give them to my husband. I increased the number of carrots to eliminate the need for a separate veggie dish - just steamed some rice. It made 18 meatballs (about the size of golf balls) which was great for dinner for 2 & hubby's lunch today. Thanx Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      Killer! I give these 5 stars for taste, another 5 stars for being easy and fun to prepare, still another 5 for lending themselves to freezing and thawing so well, did I mention how great they taste, if not, they deserve at least 5 stars for that. The next time I'll make a double batch to have plenty on hand in the freezer. Oh Yes, the sauce is quite simply the best Sweet and Pour Sauce I've ever tasted. My fevered little brain as busy planning ways to use this sauce in other dishes. When I filed this recipe I placed it in several different folders, Asian, Chinese, Sauces, Crockpot, Freeze, and Favorites. Most definitely it has become one of my favorites. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Oriental Sweet and Sour Meatballs)

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.5
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    35%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 61.2 mg
    20%
    Sodium 333.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 34.8 g
    139%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca starch

    tapioca starch

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites