Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2009

      This was so tasty! I put this on just after lunch today, and it was ready by 6 PM. I used ground chicken for the meatballs and it worked great. I had to keep switching between High and Low heat, and I did stir it every hour or so just to get the sauce mixed in. I have to agree - there is a bit too much cornstarch. When mine was done, the sauce was lovely and thick but the mouth feel of the starch was still there. I didn't add extra liquid, but I did use OJ in place of the pineapple juice. My kids happily ate it on rice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      A previous reviewer mentioned the lack of a "tomato"/"red" element, so after some thought, I added a small tin of tomato paste to the ingredients given here. It was superb! Lots of compliments! I did have to add a cup of water in the middle of cooking; the sauce got WAY too thick. And I added a red pepper because it looked so sad without a veggie... :-))) YUM! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I'm not sure if I would make these again. It seemed to be missing a tomato ingredient (catsup, tomato paste) which is found in many S&S recipes - I didn't think about this until the recipe was in the crockpot and wondered where the red color was. And there was too much cornstarch - I stirred at one point and it was still very thin; 30 minutes later it was paste! I had to add another 3/4 cup liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      This was a delicious meal. I served them over rice, and even my 7 year old picky eater ate them all up...even the rice! This will be apart of my cookbook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      The meatballs and sauce are delicious. I served them as part of a luau buffett and there wasn't one left. I've had several requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      This didn't work out very well for us - I think I like the more traditional meatballs better. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      never made sweet and sour meatballs before and was hesitate at first. but i made it with frozen meatballs i purchased at the grocery store and followed the recipe for the sauce. it was a huge hit a my father-in-laws birthday party!!! will be making them again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      This was really good. I had to finish it on the stove because my husband accidentally unplugged the crockpot halfway through the cooking time! Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.1
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    31%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 129.9 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1180.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 69.2 g
    276%
    Protein 24.3 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites