Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Jelly Meatballs AKA Jelly Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Jelly Meatballs AKA Jelly Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2010

      I make these every St. Patrick's Day. They're not very Irish BUT, everyone loves them and they only last a few minutes once they're ready. Everyone always asks me for the recipe. I always send them to this site! Thanks for sharing such an easy and delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      These were really good. Love the added pep of the peppers & chiles, but I left out the can of tomato sauce, it was really SO much sauce that I felt it was silly to add anything else to it. Maybe next time I will try a few tablespoons of tomato paste if I have it on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      What a delicious and easy recipe! This dish will be served again this year for our Christmas brunch for the family. It's a hit with everyone, young and not so young.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This was good, my husband has never had anything like this before and thought I was joking when I said to get grape jelly. I did not have the ancho chili powder so i subbed regular chili powder and some cumin. On Super Bowl they were served right out of the crock pot but the next night I put the meatballs on sub rolls and topped with mozzarella then ran them under the broiler and they were really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I made these meatballs for a holiday party but sorry I have not rated it until now! I raced to Ikea for meatballs but they were sold out so I used ones from Trader Joe's. I mostly made as stated, but used a 24 ounce jar of grape jam instead of the jelly and I didn't have ancho chile powder or dried chipotle powder so I put in 1/2 teaspoon regular chili powder instead and 2 teaspoons of sriracha for kick. The green chilies are a great addition. Everyone adored these and a few people asked for the recipe. Thanks, Julesong, this makes great party food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      awesome!! The kids loved it, hubby loved it, company loved it ...what more can I ask for. I made homemade meatballs. I had a hard time finding can chilies so I just used the dry ones. There was tons of sauce left over so I froze it. I used it again in the crockpot with some frozen precooked meatballs and BAM fast dinner for a second time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Made these on Sunday for my twins' 1st bday party. So easy and not one meatball was left - this was the only item that was DEVOURED! Thanks!Delish!! I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I began making these as my potluck contribution and they always get rave reviews. Now people ask me to make them 'just because' and I never have left overs. I wish I could take credit for this recipe because everyone loves it so much. Easy to make and great tasting. Try it for Superbowl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      Made these for a Boy Scout potluck and everyone, young and old, gobbled them up ! Used the leftover sauce to cook a pork tenderloin I had in the freezer and got 2 great meals out of one. They were so good I am making a smaller batch tonight for just the family ! Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Julesong, this is sooooo good! I will not rate this recipe since I had to make so many substitutes, but this is delicious! I had to sub 1-29 oz. can of enchilada sauce for the chili and tomato sauces because that is what I had. Oh, just reading through the recipe again and realized I forgot the chopped green chilies. Since I put in the already-flavorful enchilada sauce, I did not include any chipotle powder. I pan-fried Savory Flavory Meatballs (Savory Flavory Meatballs) to go in here, and these were devoured at the Superbowl Party!

      Thanks again, Julesong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      OMG....Made this last night for Appetizer Christmas Eve Family Gathering. Used 5 lbs of meat balls with the same amount of ingredients except I used 2 bottles of heinze Chili Sce in place of the tomato sce. Also doubled the spices n used reg. chili powder spice since I didn't have Ancho chili powder., also added a 1/4 tsp of Jalepeno powder. They were all gone in 2 hours. Every teenager, young adult and adult were scarfing them down and commenting how incredible they are. I could of added a little more spicy but I used caution, next time I will tripple the spices to give it a bit of a kick. Enjoyed this soooo much more than the regular jelly n chili sce meatballs. Everyone at the party will be making these... Thanks again for perfecting a good recipe and making it GREAT !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      This was amazing! The ingredients are a bit bizarre, but the final outcome is fantastic! I wanted something more than just the "grape jelly and bbq sauce" recipe and this is it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I have not tried this yet but I think I can rate it without tasting. I wonder if it would be good with jalapeno jelly because I make my own pepper jrlly. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      We took these to a potluck and they completely disappeared. Sauce was sweet and tangy and the meatballs were tender. I substituted diced tomatoes for tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      We had a baby shower at work today, so I volunteered to bring in something. I made these and let me tell you they went over really well. Everyone was standing over the crock pot and sticking toothpicks into the meatballs in the pot and eating them. They didn't even dare leave the pan for fear of not getting close enough to them again :) They were really great and different than the ones with just the jelly and the chili sauce. Thanks for sharing Jules!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      A staple at all my parties! We love to serve the leftovers in hot dog buns topped with a little jalapeno jack cheese. Our own meatball subs! Really great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Yummy, yummy sauce. Would have been enough for 4 lbs of meatballs, if I had a bigger crock pot. I think this would be great with polish sausage, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      These were the most moist and delicious meatballs I have had in a while. Never too much sauce. I served them over a bed of egg noodles. Scrumptious. The only different thing I did was I only added 4 oz green chillies cause I couldn't fine 7 oz. I was actually going to buy 2 of the 4oz because I love green chillies. And the other thing was I didn't add the chipotle powder, not fond of it. These are going to make great lunches. Next time I will serve them over a bed of rice to vary it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These were really good. I reduced the recipe because I was cooking for two. I used half of a chopped onion instead of the dried onion flakes. I omitted the chilies, curry powder, chile powder and chipotle powder. I baked mine in the oven. I'm thinking of ways to use the leftover sauce. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Wonderful meatballs! I usually don't like meatballs and I couldn't stay out of these. I used the remaining juices to cook a pork tenderloin in the crock pot the next day as someone else suggested. If I were to do that again, I'd marinate the pork tenderloin overnight and the roast it in the oven. You can't go wrong with the meatballs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Jelly Meatballs AKA Jelly Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (1951 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    89%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1020.3 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 53.1 g
    212%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    meatballs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites