11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great sauce!!! I didn't have any pineapple juice so I used root beer and it actually worked and it tastes really good. I will get some pineapple juice and make it again. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDivineMrsM February 17, 2014

Very good and easy. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds April 28, 2013

This was easy enough to make but it didn't look or taste like any I've had before. It was good on my egg rolls. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 27, 2010

*Reviewed during ZWT6 for the Whine and Cheese Gang * Awesome as dipping sauce and great to cook with too. I made this sauce and it was done from start to finish in less than ten minutes. I used this sauce in making Grilled Sweet-And-Sour Chicken Packets. Totally delicious. We still have about 4/5 cup left to use as a dipping sauce tomorrow. Using gluten-free mustard powder and ketchup with white vinegar makes this recipe a great gluten-free sauce. I thought this sauce is much better than many of the ready-made bottled sweet and sour sauces. Photo also to be posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 29, 2010

This recipe was pretty good. I found it to be a little too tart, and my husband said there was a delayed reaction regarding the taste. It was pretty good, and I believe it is much better than store bought.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Layla Noel March 21, 2010

This sauce went very well as a dipping sauce to have with some chicken tenders I prepared. I used the leftovers to dip some chicken rolls in also! It was great with both and we will use this often when making Chinese inspired recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maine E Ack! April 13, 2009

Great sauce for my sweet and sour chicken! My family went wild over it too! Better than any others I have found to try, this one is my new go to recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen January 12, 2009

I have been trying to find a sweet n sour sauce that not only my family would like, but ME too! And I have tried hundreds of sweet n sour sauces to find out they were not worth the time or money. I immediately made this one when I saw it, but mine did not turn out as red as the photo but its still yummy! **I am so glad I ran across this one.** FIVE STARS on this one! Thanks, Valerie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Valerie November 04, 2008

Needed a quick-and-easy dipping sauce for some frozen egg rolls that I had in the freezer and this recipe worked out SO well! I didn't want to purchase a big ol' can of pineapple juice (and then have most of it go to waste--we don't drink much pineapple juice at our house), so I bought a 6-pack of those little 6-oz. cans of pineapple juice and it turned out just fine to use one of those. Now I have everything I need to make this sauce several more times in the future. 16-yr.-old DS really liked it too! Thanks, Slatts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubleTroubletimes2 August 06, 2008

EXCELLENT sauce! My family enjoyed this with Vegetarian Lumpiang Shanghai (Similar to an Egg Roll) and they tasted terrific together. I think it's the ketchup flavor in it that makes it so good and more kid friendly. I believe it would taste good with a variety of things. I've already made a second batch. ;) Made for ZWT 4 (Los jefes de la cocina).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam May 31, 2008
Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce