Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2013

      This sauce was simple to make with ingredients which I had on hand. It was nothing at all like the red sauce in Chinese restaurants, however. It was pretty good, but I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Well, it doesn't get any easier than this. Homemade sweet and sour sauce with ingredients that are always readily available. This has the right balance of sweet and sour and was good on egg rolls, fried wontons and the chicken skewers. I used Splenda to make it more diabetic friendly. Made for November 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This was very nice. So quick and easy. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I was looking for a sweet and sour sauce that I could make on short notice with ingredients I had on hand, and this worked out perfectly. I left out the salt because soy sauce is already salty enough. Great flavor and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Yum! Sometimes I find bought / Chinese restaurant sweet and sauce sauce a little too sugary and sweet but thought this was spot on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Great stuff! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is now my go-to Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce. Made as directed, although I can see using chili sauce for the tomato sauce as I usually have that on hand over ketchup. Thanks, Chickee! Made for Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This will be our home staple sweet and sour sauce. We had this when I cooked Mersaydees Chicken Wings Frank's Redhot Buffalo Chicken Wings. Just great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      I recently ran out of sweet and sour dipping sauce a few days ago and had springrolls as is. I happen to pass this by, mixed the ingredients making sure to remove the lumps, zipped it in the microwave for 1 1/2 minute, quickly stirred it and there it was, a thick sauce, not salty, just right, not too sour nor too sweet. In fact, a bit milder than the bottled sauce. Went well with the springrolls that we're having again today. Should have found this sooner! Thanks, Chickee. :) Made for Aus Recipe Swap #29.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      sorry, I did not care for this. It was not at all like the restaurant sweet ans sour sauce. Not sweet enough and too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Oh Chickee, if you only knew the story how I got to pick this recipe. Short version I needed something in a hurry for New Years 2007/2008. Ten teenagers, no pineapple in the cupboard and needed a really quick sweet and sour in a hurry...REAL HURRY!!! So lucky all ingredients were in my pantry! It went down so well...DH knew the story and asked where the pineapple came from!!! Chickee this is my new favourite dipping recipe, it was made in about 5 minutes and so very very good!!! My new lifesver is CHICKEE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Very good. Made some Surinam chickenpastries and this sauce matched perfectly. Must admit that I added about 5 drops of tabasco to get more heat. Easy to make, tasty, will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      This was really easy to make with items I already had in my pantry. Although it was not as sweet as I had anticipated, it was very flavorful with potstickers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes