27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for a July 4th cookout and followed the recipe as written, except that I made these in a crockpot. I prepared the chicken as you would for the oven, but I layered the wings in my oval crockpot and then poured the sauce over the wings. I cooked then on low for 8 1/2 hours and they turned out perfectly. They were a big hit at the cookout and were gone almost immediately. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 March 31, 2010

Yum, beautiful blend of flavors yet so simple to put together. I can't really think of many more compliments to add that other reviewers haven't already covered other than to say it's probably also the ultimate in a budget meal as well. A real restaurant quality meal for the cost of a cheeseburger! It was amazing served along with rice and a couple of steamed vegies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J November 02, 2010

Oh my! These were SO yummy! Made these exactly as written and they were awesome! Perfect for a "takeout" dinner at home! Served with rice and eggrolls. Will definately be making this one again! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in Kansas September 06, 2009

Absolutely delicious! Make sure and foil your pan...I did and still it made the pan difficult to clean...I served it over rice like others did...wasn't sure if hubby was going to enjoy picking up the wings to eat them...but no worry...they were fall off the bone good...I wish there had been a bit more sauce...only for the rice...next time I will increase the sauce mixture...made for Best of 2014 tag game...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 22, 2015

I had to try these since several people chose this as their favorite from CQ 14. I used one domestic rabbit fryer, cut-up, and cooked at 325 but otherwise followed. It was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 03, 2014

Made as written for the Culinary Quest 2014 & for the Agents of QUEST. I tried these easy-to-fix & delicious chicken wings as part of a Chinese chicken wing feast (2 varieties) for dinner last nite & paired them w/side-dishes of carrots & noodles. These are classic for the genre & as good as any I've eaten in restaurants. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis September 17, 2014

Delicious!!! I love that the wings still stay a bit crispy even after baking in sauce. Speaking of sauce, it was fabulous. I was nervous about the amount of sugar, but it really was perfect. Now, I won't be making these every week, but for a once and a while treat...YES PLEASE! Yum! Made for Culinary Quest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 10, 2014

I have to add my acclaim for these delicious wings! My son devoured them. Nice and crispy, even with the sauce. Made for Culinary Quest Summer 2014. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 02, 2014

forgot the stars ......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datagirl June 08, 2014

I've made these for a get-together with friends a couple of weeks ago, and they were a hit! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't have changed anything. I'm now thinking of trying this sauce with different cuts of chicken or even pork. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maridae February 12, 2014
Sweet and Sour Chicken Wings