Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2008

    • on September 08, 2007

      Chicken and batter recipe were outstanding. The sweet and sour recipe was a little too sweet. Next time I will use about half a jar of cherry juice (I didn't put any actual cherries in the sauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      i loved it and so did my mom and she's really picky cuz she doesn't like sweet stuff... but i took out the green peppers didn't really like the taste with it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      This was great!! I was asked by my teenage stepson to find a recipe for Sweet and Sour Chicken. I followed the recipe to a T! We had WAY too much chicken compared to sauce so I just whipped up another batch of sauce the next night a voila..just as good as the night before! I had to add some extra thickener, but other than that..I wouldn't change a thing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      What a delicious dish! I actually am reviewing the sauce more so than the chicken, as I used Mean Chef's recipe for her general tso's chicken for that portion...which worked wonderfully...then I made the sauce using this recipe. I tripled the amounts as I was cooking for a group. I used tarragon vinegar....1 cup, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, 1 cup pineapple juice, chopped red, yellow and orange bell peppers, pinneaple chunks, onions cut in large sections, 1.5 tablespoons molasses, and then because I did not have maraschino cherries I put in 1.5-2 tsp of almond extract. then for the remainder of the liquid I used 1.5 cups water with about 2 tsp of organic orange oil. This was fabulous! All guests said it was better than anything they have ever had in even their favorite chinese restaurants! Compliments to the chef. Even though I changed the recipe quite a bit, I never would have thought of the idea of molasses and maraschino flavors. thanks so much! 10 star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      Absolutely brilliant recipe! I fed three people with quite substantial portions, but was unsure intially about how much flour and how many eggs to use for the batter. I found that 2.5 cups of plain flour, 3 teaspoons of baking soda and 3 eggs was more than enough to coat 22 pieces of chicken (5 breasts cut up into smaller pieces). However, I didn't coat the chicken with batter when it was raw. I cooked the chicken in the oven for 30 mins on gas mark 5 (All individually wrapped in tin foil) and then allowed it to cool. This ensured the chicken would be cooked thoroughly. One final thing: I used golden syrup in place of the molasses (I understand molasses is a dark treacle) and I added three heaped tablespoons of shredless orange marmalade. The sauce was superb. Many thanks again for the recipe. It was a real hit with my family! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      Becky, this was absolutely divine! I just made this for lunch for my friends and they loved it too. I didn't have any molasses or cherries, but followed everything else. This is definately a stayer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      i would give the dish 5 stars, but i had some problems following the recipe itself. CHICKEN i had never fried anything before, so i did not know how hot the oil should be or anything - so there was a lot of trial and error which increased my cooking time. also, my advice, **CUT CHICKEN TO 1" WIDE BY 2" LONG no bigger**, otherwise it will not cook all the way - do not worry! the chicken expands as it cooks and with the batter, the chicken becomes a very favorable size - even though it looks too small when cut up raw. i cannot stress the importance of setting the chicken overnight, i can't imagine it any other way. if you cut up the chicken small enough the night before and season it, the recipe isn't as time taking as you would think. the chicken came out AMAZING SAUCE the recipie just says marichino cherry - but i assumed it was an entire jar, juice and all and i eyeballed the amount of cherries (i think it was about 3/4 the amount of pinapple) and i did have to add more cornstarch mixture to the glaze to thicken it up. i liked the sweet and sour sauce even better. i liked it more than the restaurant. the flavors are so potent and strong. and the next day, i used the left over fruit for my baked ham! DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      I raelly liked this recipe. It was a hit with my family. I do like to use half cornstrch in place of half of the flour, but other than than that it is a great recipe!! Thank you for posting it. Amber

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.0
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    27%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 219.8 mg
    73%
    Sodium 1609.6 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 52.4 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites