Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2010

      LOVED IT !!!! Little too much ketchup,but GREAT dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      OSO good! So easy for the result. I used white wine instead of the sherry, just preference. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      quite plain to the pallet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Great, cut the catsup and sugar in half per other reviewers. Better than take-out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I used apple cider vinegar and it was awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      A classic! Just the way we like it, too. I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup, otherwise just like our local Chinese used to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Easy and oh so good. DW and DD were glad I made a double batch. Followed the recipe exactly for the sauce. Cooked the chicken on the griddle instead of deep frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Prepared this last night. My wife said to give it 5 stars and to make it again soon. We both enjoyed it so much we had the left over, for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      My "very good" is for the chicken, its' a great and fast way to cook chicken and I think you could use it in a lot of Asian style dishes. My husband requested that I use the chicken in my fried rice the next time I cook it. The sauce was not that great, after reading others reviews I halved the ketchup but it still overpowered the dish. The sauce from the jar is better :( but the chicken is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I like the sauce with white rice.
      Pretty simple and easy to heat up lunch for the work week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      My 15 yr old son made this for dinner one night. This is one of the best recipes ever. I will never buy chinese take out again! He followed the recipe exact, but added red and green bell peppers. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Very tasty, used a splash of v8 splash instead of sherry and apple cider vinegar ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This was something like the sweet and sour chicken I grew up with. The chicken of my past had a goopy fried batter on it. Which was the reason I stopped eating it. I was very happy with the chicken in this recipe. My DS (picky boy) goobled it up with catsup, no sauce. I couldn't stop taking bites as I put it away. I would have no problem making the chicken without the sauce for dinner. But I love the sauce. It is exactly like the one that was on the goopy chicken. That sauce had pineapple and crisp cooked carrots in it besides the peppers. So I threw in half of the can of pineapple chunks but skipped the carrots. Next time I will double the chicken. Which I cooked in about 1/2 the oil. This will be made many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This is so delicious! I used a 20 ounce can of pineapple and had exactly 1 cup of the juice so I did not need to add water. Out all of the things to be out of, it was ketchup so I added mild taco sauce and it still turned out great! I added baby bella mushrooms, pepper flakes and some of the pineapple chunks. Also upped the corn starch by 2 tsp for thickness. It was sooo good. I liked this a lot better than takeout!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      So good I was a little worried about the batter after reading the reviews but I doubled the cornstarch and it was awsome. I even fried the extra batter, it was so good. It looked like the stuff at the mall but tasted so much better. I will be making this again and have already shared this recipe with a friend. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This was very good. I made this last night for supper and we enjoyed it very much. The only thing I did differently was I added some chopped green onion to the mixture and I used finely chopped green peppers since my kids aren't fond of them but DH and I still wanted the flavor. We really like this and I will make again, its just so simple, who knew???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I made this and my fifteen year old boy said, "Mom you need to make this more often". This is the best homemade sweet and sour chicken recipe I've ever found. I will make this again. It was quick and easy to make. The only change I made was to add some red pepper flakes, it didn't make the dish hot but gave it a little kick, and I did add more cornstarch to the batter so that it coated the chicken better. I highly recommend it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Great recipe. I made a couple changes. I used just a few tablespoons of oil to fry the chicken - not the full 2 cups. I didn't have any garlic powder, so I added Adobe seasoning. I also didn't have white vinegar, so I used red wine. My husband says next time he'd like it with a little less vinegar, so I'll try that. Also, I added some of the pineapple pieces, which I thought really added to the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Great recipe... quick and easy. I had fresh pineapple that I needed to use up so substituted it for the canned. Since there was no juice as called for from canned pineapple, I used 2/3 cup pineapple juice and 1/3 cup water. No fresh peppers so I used pepper chunks from the freezer from last year's garden ... I was also out of cooking sherry so I used white wine as suggested by Big Sis. (Must be time to stock the pantry - LOL). Served with brown rice and was a hit with DH ... ample amount to make 4 servings (yea leftovers!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Bloody brilliant. The batter doesn't stick to the chicken as well as it should though. That needs to be solved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1367.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1020
    74%
    Total Fat 113.3 g
    174%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 119.1 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1326.6 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 44.9 g
    179%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites