74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED IT !!!! Little too much ketchup,but GREAT dinner!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtchbx20 April 01, 2010

A classic! Just the way we like it, too. I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup, otherwise just like our local Chinese used to make it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare May 12, 2013

OSO good! So easy for the result. I used white wine instead of the sherry, just preference. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis April 11, 2010

quite plain to the pallet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie Coles April 24, 2002

Definitely Firehouse approved!! JBMDL Station 5. (Lakehurst,NJ) Used half rice wine vinegar and ACV with dark brown sugar. Instead of rice I used Udon noodles. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike J. January 09, 2015

Great, cut the catsup and sugar in half per other reviewers. Better than take-out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke246 February 17, 2014

I used apple cider vinegar and it was awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kanooter October 24, 2013

Easy and oh so good. DW and DD were glad I made a double batch. Followed the recipe exactly for the sauce. Cooked the chicken on the griddle instead of deep frying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joseph December 12, 2012

Prepared this last night. My wife said to give it 5 stars and to make it again soon. We both enjoyed it so much we had the left over, for lunch today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Edgar January 30, 2012

My "very good" is for the chicken, its' a great and fast way to cook chicken and I think you could use it in a lot of Asian style dishes. My husband requested that I use the chicken in my fried rice the next time I cook it. The sauce was not that great, after reading others reviews I halved the ketchup but it still overpowered the dish. The sauce from the jar is better :( but the chicken is great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLW81 January 05, 2012
Sweet and Sour Chicken