77 Reviews

LOVED IT !!!! Little too much ketchup,but GREAT dinner!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtchbx20 April 01, 2010

AWESOME!!!! deffinately sweet n sour!!! all loved, no one complained!! thanks for a super recipe!! used 1 whole onion and 2 green peppers and had tons of sauce for a great meal!! will make many more times!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes March 20, 2010

This recipe was wonderful. Easy to prepare and the flavors blended perfectly. I used a 14.5 oz of the pineapple tidbits instead of the chunks of pineapple and they were perfect. The tidbits beings smaller blended well in the sauce. I will make this recipe again. Next time I may add some onion with the bell pepper and maybe some sliced water chestnuts too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desertryder August 26, 2015

A classic! Just the way we like it, too. I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup, otherwise just like our local Chinese used to make it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare May 12, 2013

OSO good! So easy for the result. I used white wine instead of the sherry, just preference. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis April 11, 2010

quite plain to the pallet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie Coles April 24, 2002

We really enjoyed this recipe, even though I made the mistake of putting a little too much extra cornstarch in, which made it overly sticky (fyi: the sauce may look too thin at first, but it thickens up very quickly as you stir... My bad!) I didn't have any sherry, so I substituted apple juice; as per others' suggestions, I also used apple cider vinegar and laid off the ketchup juuust a smidge. It was very tasty and pretty easy to make. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThisCatCanCook November 22, 2015

We liked this in my home, especially my husband. I agree with other reviewers who said to add chopped onion at the end. The onion was a good compliment to the texture and flavor of the sauce. I disagree with the reviewers who said to cut back on the sugar and ketchup. I think with less of those two ingredients, the sauce would have been bland. I made this in a regular frying pan since I don't own an electric one. I will be making this again but, for next time, I won't add the cornstarch to the chicken coating at the beginning of the recipe. I don't think the chicken needed the cornstarch and cornstarch, generally, is a clumpy and difficult ingredient to work with. However, I will keep adding cornstarch to the sauce at the end of the recipe, since it helps to thicken the sauce. There was an ingredient missing from the sauce that I can't place but that would have pulled the flavors together a little better--maybe extra garlic or black pepper. Definitely a recipe to keep on file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 October 20, 2015

Definitely Firehouse approved!! JBMDL Station 5. (Lakehurst,NJ) Used half rice wine vinegar and ACV with dark brown sugar. Instead of rice I used Udon noodles. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike J. January 09, 2015

Great, cut the catsup and sugar in half per other reviewers. Better than take-out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke246 February 17, 2014
Sweet and Sour Chicken