11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

There's really not much more to say, other than, delicious! The change I made was in the cooking method. I was a little disorganized and ended up baking it in my Dutch Oven at 325 for approx. 2 1/2 hours. I also didn't use the baby carrots. Don't like the way they turn out when cooked, so used regular. Winner! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 04, 2008

Despite me being a bit loose with the recipe we loved it. I substituted some onion powder because I did not have onions. Also I was not sure what type of chili sauce was meant, but as I live in Asia, I used chili and minced garlic sauce (about 4-5 tspn) so that added garlic. Also I did not have time to throw it in a slow cooker, so I cooked for 1.5 hours after browning and adding sauce. Guess what, it turned out fantastic. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl April 13, 2014

Very good meal! I need to put on more salt next time but that was my fault. I used carrot chunks, onions and celery. We ate it over mashed potatoes. Wonderful! Made for Everyday's a Holiday Tag Game 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 18, 2014

Love this recipe. My husband always looks forward to eating this delicious meal. I have made this numerous times and can't get enough of it. Instead of cooking it on the stove, I prepare this recipe in a crock-pot. I find that leaving the meat cook all day gives its rich ultra flavor to this recipe. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladytiger84 July 31, 2010

Hubby loved it! I halved the meat, otherwise left everything as is - will be plenty of leftovers. Super flavorful. I would put the carrots in much earlier next time around - as some were difficult to cut with a fork. The meat was more than done in the specified time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 25, 2010

I walked in the door this evening and my husband was chewing on something. What are you eating, I asked? He told me the smell was driving him nuts all day and he couldn't resist tasting what was cooking. The carrots weren't done but that may have been from him taking the lid off and standing over the crock pot, drooling! I have the remaining in the freezer and when that's gone, I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes August 19, 2009

Family reviews on this came out positive but lukewarm: everyone liked it, nobody raved about it. We blame the crockpot rather than the seasonings -- the balance of sweet and sour was just right -- and would probably suggest shortening the cooking time for the beef itself. I followed the recipe exactly except for using carrot chunks instead of baby carrots. Made for Zaar Stars, March 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 10, 2009

Delightful! I made this exactly as posted, except I got a late start, and ended up cooking it on High for 4 hours, added the carrots and cooked for another hour. I was a little light on the salt, and next time I will add a more generous amount, because it really enhanced the flavor. I served this with brown & wild rice and sauteed Swiss chard. Thanks for posting! Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 27, 2009

This was yummy! Made just as posted except I made my own chili sauce and added half of a green bell pepper at the the end with the baby carrots. Served over sticky rice. Delicious. Will make often. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff November 07, 2008

I chose this recipe to serve for my visiting sister and niece. We all LOVED this "stew with its saucy sweet/tangy sauce!" I browned the beef in the oven (Oven Baked Beef Stew) and cooked Classic Roast Potatoes separately. I had a problem with my crock pot (blew a fuse) and I came home to cold meat. I proceeded to cook the stew in my pressure cooker (only 18 min. on high and let rest for 30). I added 2 cups of water since the p. cooker requires more liquid and thickened a bit at the end with some flour/water. I served with soft seeded rolls and it was "fit for a king!" Thanks Weekend Cooker, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado October 16, 2008
Sweet and Sour Beef Cubes With Baby Carrots