Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet and Sassy Mixed Nuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sassy Mixed Nuts

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2010

      Made these and love them! Very tasty. The only thing I might do differently next time is add a little more fruit. These are so easy to make, so try them out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Very nice. I used a mixture of cashews, almonds, macadamia nuts (my favourite) and brazil nuts. I'm going to be cooking them again for Christmas and packaging them up in nice glass jars with ribbons as gifts for the savoury-lovers. Very easy to make! Personally, I'd add more cayenne when cooking them for me (I like the heat) but the amount stated in the recipe is perfect for people who aren't so keen on having their mouths blown away.
      I might try with quartered dried apricots next time to add some more fruitiness. I don't think the cranberries really added anything, since they dried up too much. Sultanas would have been very similar and a lot cheaper.
      Generally, good stuff though, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      These were so so so good!!! I used green raisins and they turned out great!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Brooke, these nuts are soooooo good!!!! They are easy to make, very beautiful to look at and the tase is superb! They are sweet, but not overly so and the cinnamon adds a lovely warmth to them. The cranberries' fruity taste is a nice addition to the earthy flavour from the nuts and the cayenne adds an unexpected kick and makes the nuts special! I made the recipe for my mum's bday party and all the guests raved about them. They were amazed that something as tasty as this was home-made and wanted to have the recipe, which I happily shared. :) THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your wonderful recipe with us! It will be made again! Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars Tag Game May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Just made these for the third time today--they make a good gift when put into a nice jar! I'm actually taking some over to a friend tomorrow as part of a house-warming gift basket. These nuts are nice and simple, but special at the same time. Thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      these were great, everyone loved them. i made them the day before thanksgiving, but next time i'd like to make them up several days before serving because they were a bit sticky and almost wet for the first few days. after that they almost dried up and hardened more, which i liked better. i cut back a bit on the brown sugar, loved the cayenne in there. great holiday snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      WOW! These are so delicious - and SO simple to make! I used pecans, walnuts, cashews, and almonds with the cranberries. I have to take these to work tomorrow, or I'll surely eat them all! Previous reviewers are right - the heat creeps up, sort of like a warm hot chocolate on a cold day. Thanks, Brooke - these are AWESOME! Made for Sweet Traditions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the dried cranberries as I don't care for them. I just added another 1/2 cup nuts since I didn't add the cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This is one of these recipes where you come away with something fantastic with minimal effort. I had both kids and adults raving over these nuts to the point that I felt almost guilty about how easy they had been to make. The spiciness is just perfect; it sneaks up on you. Any more cayenne and you would have flames coming out of your mouth quickly. I used mostly peanuts with a bit of pine nuts. Made for Sweet Traditions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      OK here is sit with burnt fingers and only 1/2 my recipe. Why? Because I couldn't keep my fingers off the pan till they cooled. This recipe is off the charts. Made the recipe as written and they are so good. Used mixed nuts then made a second batch with dry roasted peanuts and they are very good also, but think the mixed nuts are better. Want to try with just a pinch of smoked paprika next time. Will let you all know how that works out. Thank you Brooke!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Wonderful! I thought the seasoning was perfect. I made this for a snack to have while traveling, and it really hit the spot. I'll be making this for gifts at Christmas! Definitely a keeper recipe. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      So good. Only change was that I used 2 egg whites. Seasoning was just right. Thanks for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      These are delicious. I love the dried cranberries! The amount of seasoning and spices was just right for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Yummy! I added an extra 1/2 c of dried cranberries, just because I love them. I thought the amount of cayenne pepper was perfect. Thanks! These were a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Fantastic!! The cranberries add a wonderful tang! I used raw pecans for the nuts, and only 1/2 t cayenne for fear of too much heat. I added 1/2 t paprika for pepper flavor without heat, and 1/4 t salt since my nuts were unsalted. I will add more cranberries next time! The choice of nuts will dictate how healthy this treat is - raw nuts or dry roasted will be healthier than the oil roasted nuts that come in cans are essentially deep fried. Theses are addictive - thanks for posting!! Made for vegetarian recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I can't believe how simple and yet Soooo good this recipe is. My kids aren't big fan of any nuts but they ate these when i made them. They did however asked if I can add a tiny bit more sugar. Simple and yet sooo yummy and good for you treat anytime of the day. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      From now on, I intend having a small container of these in my bag at all times for instant energy bursts when I need them, particularly when yet another tedious meeting drags on and on. These are delicious and so VERY quick and easy to make. Sassy is not to my taste, so I omitted the cayenne pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I used macadamias and cashews and cranberries: a great combination! I look forward to making these again and varying the nuts. As other reviewers have commented, these would make great and very welcome gifts, at any time of the year. They are also ideal for taking to shared morning teas. Thank you, Brooke, for sharing this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      these are delicious, I increased the cayenne to 1 teaspoon, since I baked these in a convection oven I reduced the heat slightly and stirred them twice starting after 5 minutes of baking, mine were done in about 12 minutes, thanks for sharing Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      these were great I used unsalted nuts, so I added a tsp. of kosher salt, I also upped the cayenne to 1 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      DEFINITELY A WONDERFUL NUT TREAT, even if I did cut back on the cayenne pepper a bit, & even if I did use a rounded 1/2 cup of cranberries! Great thanks for sharing a recipe such as this, & definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sassy Mixed Nuts

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    71%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 204.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes