29 Reviews

Made these and love them! Very tasty. The only thing I might do differently next time is add a little more fruit. These are so easy to make, so try them out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirchren December 14, 2010

Very nice. I used a mixture of cashews, almonds, macadamia nuts (my favourite) and brazil nuts. I'm going to be cooking them again for Christmas and packaging them up in nice glass jars with ribbons as gifts for the savoury-lovers. Very easy to make! Personally, I'd add more cayenne when cooking them for me (I like the heat) but the amount stated in the recipe is perfect for people who aren't so keen on having their mouths blown away.
I might try with quartered dried apricots next time to add some more fruitiness. I don't think the cranberries really added anything, since they dried up too much. Sultanas would have been very similar and a lot cheaper.
Generally, good stuff though, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowbunny Andorra September 26, 2010

These were so so so good!!! I used green raisins and they turned out great!! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Je see ka June 05, 2010

Brooke, these nuts are soooooo good!!!! They are easy to make, very beautiful to look at and the tase is superb! They are sweet, but not overly so and the cinnamon adds a lovely warmth to them. The cranberries' fruity taste is a nice addition to the earthy flavour from the nuts and the cayenne adds an unexpected kick and makes the nuts special! I made the recipe for my mum's bday party and all the guests raved about them. They were amazed that something as tasty as this was home-made and wanted to have the recipe, which I happily shared. :) THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your wonderful recipe with us! It will be made again! Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars Tag Game May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 02, 2010

Just made these for the third time today--they make a good gift when put into a nice jar! I'm actually taking some over to a friend tomorrow as part of a house-warming gift basket. These nuts are nice and simple, but special at the same time. Thanks for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen January 09, 2010

these were great, everyone loved them. i made them the day before thanksgiving, but next time i'd like to make them up several days before serving because they were a bit sticky and almost wet for the first few days. after that they almost dried up and hardened more, which i liked better. i cut back a bit on the brown sugar, loved the cayenne in there. great holiday snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD December 26, 2009

WOW! These are so delicious - and SO simple to make! I used pecans, walnuts, cashews, and almonds with the cranberries. I have to take these to work tomorrow, or I'll surely eat them all! Previous reviewers are right - the heat creeps up, sort of like a warm hot chocolate on a cold day. Thanks, Brooke - these are AWESOME! Made for Sweet Traditions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen December 20, 2009

Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the dried cranberries as I don't care for them. I just added another 1/2 cup nuts since I didn't add the cranberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 19, 2009

This is one of these recipes where you come away with something fantastic with minimal effort. I had both kids and adults raving over these nuts to the point that I felt almost guilty about how easy they had been to make. The spiciness is just perfect; it sneaks up on you. Any more cayenne and you would have flames coming out of your mouth quickly. I used mostly peanuts with a bit of pine nuts. Made for Sweet Traditions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini November 29, 2009

OK here is sit with burnt fingers and only 1/2 my recipe. Why? Because I couldn't keep my fingers off the pan till they cooled. This recipe is off the charts. Made the recipe as written and they are so good. Used mixed nuts then made a second batch with dry roasted peanuts and they are very good also, but think the mixed nuts are better. Want to try with just a pinch of smoked paprika next time. Will let you all know how that works out. Thank you Brooke!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom November 19, 2009
Sweet and Sassy Mixed Nuts