Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Acorn Squash And Apple Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Acorn Squash And Apple Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2010

      This is the first soup I've ever made "from scratch." The hubby loved it and insisted that I make more so there are leftovers next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This is a wonderful, creamy and tasty soup! I've made it twice now. First time according to recipe. Second time I made some changes. I roasted the acorn squash ahead of time and scooped it out of it's shell...it was too difficult for me to peel it raw. The roasting also brings out a sweeter flavor in the squash. I added another carrot, cut the apple juice down to 1C and added 1/2 cup more of chicken broth. The changes produced a slightly less sweet but, IMO, a deeper flavor to the soup overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      Loved this soup! Just the right amount of sweetness and nice smooth texture. So glad I made this for my payback recipe in Recipe Dare! Thanks Rita! I used butternut squash with a dollop of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Amazing the second day! Cutting the acorn squash was very hard but worth it for the day after flavour. I just used water for the liquid BTW, a local organic acorn squash from our weekly CSA basket, local organic baby carrots,I used only avocado oil in place of butter and olive oil to suit our diet and be healthier (olive oil shouldn't be heated), I used a local organic mackintosh apple, local organic onion, fine grey sea salt, to taste, organic sugar but would like to try with maple syrup Another day! I used lebneh (Middle Eastern cheese, like thick yogurt) mixed with water in replacement of the cream (do not keep milk on hand). Served both warm garnished with Organic crushed allspice in place of nutmeg to avoid intoxicants. I also tried it slighty warm to cool and to me it was even more delicious that way! I will make this again a day in advance the same way except maybe cook the squash first and serve cool with yogurt and allspice garnished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Excellent fall soup. I served it hot with a dollop of sour cream for a Harvest dinner. The apple really adds something special to the flavor. This goes into the "Definitely make again" category.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Excellent soup. Delicious. I cooked my acorn squash (whole) in the oven on a previous day. I used half n half instead of heavy cream. I served this with turkey kielbasa sandwiches. It was a perfect complement. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Tremendous Fall soup. My wife and I absolutely could not get over the flavor. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This is outstanding! The only additions/ changes I made was adding a dash of ground ginger, 1/2 t brown sugar, nutmeg in the soup not as garnich and chicken broth. I also added a splash of brandy at serving. I would highly recommend the brandy. It seemed to cut down on the natural sweetness of the soup. A real winner here. Thanks Rita! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Very velvety soup. I made it with 2 small fuji apples, evaporated milk, and my favorite Martinelli's apple juice. It went well with Cheese and Onion Bread Pudding (Cheddar Gorgeous! Cheese and Onion Bread and Butter Pudding) for a veggie dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This was Soooooooo Good! Even my 10 month old LOVED IT! The SMELL is AMAZING! Once you are prepped, it goes rather quick and simple. Instead of using Vegetarian or Chicken Broth I used beef broth from another nights roast. I loved it!! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      yummy, easy and a great way to use that acorn squash I didn't know what to do with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This tastes great! I made it over the weekend and to cut the fat a bit, I used fat free half & half instead of the heavy cream. Still has a creamy texture and great flavor. I also left the skin on the apple for vitamins and flavor! :) On question though...did you all have a hrad time peeling the acorn squash? I sure did! Worth it though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      A truly outstanding soup, it filled the entire house with the aroma of Fall. I used oil, butter and heavy cream quite sparingly, and it was still wonderful. To give it a little more body, you may want to make sure your squash is on the large side or use two. I opted for adding maple syrup we recently picked up from the Neil and Rita Rowat orchard in Ontario, CAN (awesome stuff). Next time I will include yogurt garnish and the cream sherry. BF made sure to tell me to keep this one. So, I think I just found a wonderful side dish for our upcoming Thanksgiving feast! Thanks so much Rita! Update - Made for Thanksgiving, even tastier than it was a few weeks ago. Decreasing the liquid to squash ratio made it nice and thick too. Really wonderful. Forgot to buy cream sherry, maybe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      Warming and filling soup-I love the creaminess and warm spices subtly sweetened with syrup! I used chicken broth, but think it would be better with veggie broth. I also added extra apples. A great fall recipe; thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      You can make this easy soup with complete confidence that it will turn out perfectly delicious. I used vegetable juice and a half a butternut squash, since that's what I had on hand. I'll bet pumpkin would work also. To my taste it didn't need the yogurt garnish, but the nutmeg was a great touch. This is yet another recipe of yours, Rita, that get saved in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Acorn Squash And Apple Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    56%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 32.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 33.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes