9 Reviews

YUM!! Used 4 carrots and 4 Potatoes because my crock-pot ran out of room. Used a Shoulder Roast, started cooking at noon, took out 9pm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JayMatt19 December 17, 2009

After reading this recipe I thought yum then my next thought was I go to bed at nine, eat at 6:30, 22 hours in the crock pot? Plus I wanted to eat it tonight! I get up with my husband at five and I am hoping by starting it early enough on high for a few hours and then cooking the rest of the way on low it will be good. That will be a little over 12 hours. The only thing I did different was added vegetable broth in place of the water and salt. All day the aroma was killing us, it smelled so good. I left it on high until noon and then I turned it to low, and it was done by 5pm. The flavor was incredible…my husband doesn’t want me to cook a roast any other way but this recipe from now on. Your stars are endless… Thank you for a Superb recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia January 22, 2009

I thought this was great! My husband did not like something, about it, but could not tell me what. However, I am reviewing it and I would make this again. The meat was wonderfully tender and flavorful, so it is all personal preference. Thank you for posting it. ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio June 27, 2007

This was marvelous!! The entire family enjoyed it - especially the meat - it was very tender like a corned beef and had a wonderful flavor. We'll make this again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast June 26, 2007

Excellent flavor! I used a 3-lb chuck roast and made this exactly as written. I really liked the "Swedish" taste of the nutmeg and cinnamon. The onions were especially yummy because they seemed to soak up all the flavors of the spices. After reading other reviews, I decided to add just 1 tbsp of cornstarch in water near the end of cooking. I was very pleased with the result, but I would have been very pleased even without the cornstarch. Thanx for posting this yummy pot roast. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 21, 2007

Well, I used a 3 lb roast and we are going to have about 2 servings left over with 3 of us eating. One of us eating like a horse (it was me). So, I would say it is definetly serves more than 4 normal humans. I, however, am cranky and having some cravings...sooo...well, you get the picture. My son gave it a 17 out of 5 stars, so we will be making this again and again. Reviewed for ZWTIII

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK June 20, 2007

WOW! There was hardly anything left of our 3-lb. roast and only two of us eating! The seasonings on this were fabulous! I didn't use carrots (didn't have any on hand) so used extra potatoes. I took the hint from the other reviews and left a bit of extra time for making gravy from the drippings. Mix 1/4 c. flour with 1/4 c. water, make sure there are no lumps. Gradually add 2 c. drippings then heat over medium-high or high heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. - YUM YUM YUM. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k June 19, 2007

We enjoyed this pot roast recipe, and the sweetness was nice. I would have liked it more if there had been a "gravy" type sauce. The broth was just too watery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 17, 2006

I loved this. Even dh who claims to hate pot roast loved this. Haha! I did cheat - I missed the crock pot deadline so I put it in my cast iron Dutch oven on low for 3+ hours & it was very good. I think I added too much water because 'water to cover' left me w/watery broth instead of a thin gravy which I was expecting/hoping for. The BIG pot probably contributed to that. But the flavor? OH YEAH! Delicious. Just needed a good dose of salt & pepper. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 10, 2006
Swedish Pot Roast