23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Update, still delicious, added some dill and yellow mustard seed to this too. I can see why it was a 2009 favorite! After only 6 hours they taste like 6 stars, cant wait for 12. Phenomenal and easy. I think bc of the vinegar they could be water processed too which allows putting up a lot. I used a can of small rosebud beets, but kept the liquid the same so it covered them completely in the jar. Oh so good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba July 11, 2010

These beets were delicious! I used a can of sliced beets, Splenda in place of the sugar and some thinly sliced onion layered with the beets.I marinated the beets for about 8 hours (didn't start them early enough!) and they were great. Thanks for posting this,it's definitely a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas June 30, 2009

Wow, a taste of home! Yes I can buy pickled beets here (The Netherlands), and no, they do NOT taste as the ones I grew up with (Sweden). And these pickles? YES, this is the taste I have been looking for. Made it just as stated and would not change a thing. When reading the recipe I thought, hmmm, isn't it too much sugar. But it was perfect, again, I would not change anything here. Maybe I should mention that I used already cooked beets, two rather large, about 1/2 pound. I cut the beets in thin slices and marinated overnight. Oh, they were so good. I am VERY happy to have found this recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo July 30, 2009

These were delicious! Exactly what I was looking for with a couple of minor changes. I used 2 cans of sliced beets, drained and used reserved juice in place of water and added a cinnamon stick to the liquid and other ingredients to boil. Once I poured over and let sit for 12 hours I discarded cinnamon stick. I think next time I will try with canned, whole beets. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefhomemaker October 26, 2011

My favorite! This recipe is the only way I can eat beets. They are so good, I crave them.Every year I can't wait for beets to come into season so I can make a big batch of them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whizzo June 25, 2011

these beets are so good, the only change I made was I added in some garlic powder, thank Sharon! this was made for Sharon's Kittencalskitchen forum cookathon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen October 25, 2010

This is a neat little beet with a nice little punch, and DH is swooning! We only waited 6 hours, before my DH pronounced this was enough! He downed them faster then a cow after alfalfa. Didn't change a thing! Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 07, 2010

I made this especially for my DH and he absolutely loved them ~ almost ate the whole bowl for lunch! Me, I didn't care for it too much, but then I don't really care for beets. I'll definitely be making this again for my hubby since beets are one of his favorite foods, and it was so very easy to make. Thanks for posting Sharon ~ made for ZWT6 ~ Scandanavia Region and the Queens of Quisine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative June 05, 2010

This was so easy to make and so delicious, too. I started with fresh beets and followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 10, 2009

These are great, easy pickled beets. I use canned, sliced beets and everyone in my family who likes pickled beets likes these. A Keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT October 23, 2009
Swedish Pickled Beets