Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swedish Pickled Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swedish Pickled Beets

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      Update, still delicious, added some dill and yellow mustard seed to this too. I can see why it was a 2009 favorite! After only 6 hours they taste like 6 stars, cant wait for 12. Phenomenal and easy. I think bc of the vinegar they could be water processed too which allows putting up a lot. I used a can of small rosebud beets, but kept the liquid the same so it covered them completely in the jar. Oh so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      These beets were delicious! I used a can of sliced beets, Splenda in place of the sugar and some thinly sliced onion layered with the beets.I marinated the beets for about 8 hours (didn't start them early enough!) and they were great. Thanks for posting this,it's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Wow, a taste of home! Yes I can buy pickled beets here (The Netherlands), and no, they do NOT taste as the ones I grew up with (Sweden). And these pickles? YES, this is the taste I have been looking for. Made it just as stated and would not change a thing. When reading the recipe I thought, hmmm, isn't it too much sugar. But it was perfect, again, I would not change anything here. Maybe I should mention that I used already cooked beets, two rather large, about 1/2 pound. I cut the beets in thin slices and marinated overnight. Oh, they were so good. I am VERY happy to have found this recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      These were delicious! Exactly what I was looking for with a couple of minor changes. I used 2 cans of sliced beets, drained and used reserved juice in place of water and added a cinnamon stick to the liquid and other ingredients to boil. Once I poured over and let sit for 12 hours I discarded cinnamon stick. I think next time I will try with canned, whole beets. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      My favorite! This recipe is the only way I can eat beets. They are so good, I crave them.Every year I can't wait for beets to come into season so I can make a big batch of them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      these beets are so good, the only change I made was I added in some garlic powder, thank Sharon! this was made for Sharon's Kittencalskitchen forum cookathon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This is a neat little beet with a nice little punch, and DH is swooning! We only waited 6 hours, before my DH pronounced this was enough! He downed them faster then a cow after alfalfa. Didn't change a thing! Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I made this especially for my DH and he absolutely loved them ~ almost ate the whole bowl for lunch! Me, I didn't care for it too much, but then I don't really care for beets. I'll definitely be making this again for my hubby since beets are one of his favorite foods, and it was so very easy to make. Thanks for posting Sharon ~ made for ZWT6 ~ Scandanavia Region and the Queens of Quisine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This was so easy to make and so delicious, too. I started with fresh beets and followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      These are great, easy pickled beets. I use canned, sliced beets and everyone in my family who likes pickled beets likes these. A Keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Wonderful - the best homemade pickled beets I've ever made. And very simple. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a dash, or so, of Allspice to the brine. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      simple and taste good, thx

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      FANTASTIC! I used canned sliced beets and after about 6 hours they were perfectly marinated inside and out. If you cut them into thicker slices or cube them, it would surely take longer. My aunt always uses cinnamon and cloves in her pickled beets, so I threw in a cinnamon stick and about 3 dashes of all spice. AWESOME!!!! Recipenap for June's VEG*N Swap

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Everybody loved this. So easy, so delicious. I used canned beets, and added one minced fresh jalapeno to the vinegar mixture before boiling. Can't wait to try them with fresh beets!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Since I am the only beet lover in the family, cut the recipe back and made this for a special New Year treat for myself :o) One thing is for sure, I will no longer purchased pickled beets from the store as these beets are FANTASTIC and so simple to make! I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe...you've made me a very happy camper! Made and reviewed for the 24th AUS/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I made this dish for the beet lovers in the house. They said they were the best pickled beets they had ever had! I used fresh beets from my mother's garden. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I had some beets from my garden and decided on this recipe to make as a surprise to my DH. We both really enjoyed them. They were a nice change for us! Great recipe Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Wow! These have lots of sweet tang! I really like these beets. I have not waited the 12 hours before serving but will happily post again once the 12 hours is up. (: Made for ZWT3. Photo to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Very easy and delicious! My sons and I are beet lovers, and this recipe is so tasty, and so easy! I roasted fresh beets, then peeled and sliced them. I made the recipe exactly as written, except that I threw some thin-sliced onion in with mine. Thank you so much for sharing this one! Made for World Tour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      DH loves beets fixed this way. I used 1/4 C of vinegar and a bit less sugar as he likes them milder. I used canned cubed beets and let them sit overnight. This was a hit,I can tell you. Oh so easy and nice in the summer and the flavor went very well with the smoked salmon dish it was served with. Open, mix, chill and serve, how can you go wrong?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swedish Pickled Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    51%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1298.6 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 38.7 g
    154%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes