33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these yesterday with a few modifications. Unfortunately, I ended up with a migraine and couldn't enjoy them but everyone else assures me they were marvelous! The best meatballs ever! I needed to cook them earlier than we were going to eat, so I fried them over high heat to sear the outside, made the sauce, and then dumped the half-cooked meatballs and sauce into the crockpot. I set them on high for about 2 hours, then switched them to warm. They sat about another 30-45 minutes. Supposedly they came out perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird April 19, 2008

These are some of the most tender, moist, flavorful meatballs I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe pretty closely, I did cut the amount of allspice in half as I was afraid it would be a little too much for my kids. I baked the meatballs on a preheated baking sheet and they cooked beautifully :) My kids, and my super picky nephews loved them. I will add this recipe to my collection, which says a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom January 13, 2013

Awesome recipe!! I only made a few changes to suit our taste buds. I added garlic to the onions when they were cooking. And doubled/tripled the flour and beef stock to have more sauce. The first time i ran out of sauce...we are definatley a "saucy" family. The meatballs are by far THE BEST meatballs i've ever eaten and they are truly moist and delicious. I even added some fat free 1/2 and 1/2 to the mixture to make sure they weren't dry!! Awesome!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rocky Mountain RN February 27, 2011

Really nice recipe without any additions. Just an FYI... I thought I'd cook up three batches and freeze some. I made the mistake of trying to fry several batches of meatballs in a row. The pan in which I was frying them got coated with too much burnt material, so when I tried to make the roux, I had all these little black bits (not pretty). I cooked the rest at a lower temperature one batch at a time and made the roux in single-recipe batches... very nice. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cucinatrix February 03, 2011

These meatballs are just so moist and tender! The allspice gives them a wonderful subtle flavour that is so comforting. I doubled the sauce (gravy) so we would have lots for the leftover noodles. I did have to sub the ground pork with ground turkey....as both of our supermarkets in our wee town didn't have any pork. DH hummed through his dinner and wants me to make it again. Thank you for sharing Karen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n November 22, 2010

Underbar! Wonderful in every respect! Can’t wait to share this with guests. Thanks FT for posting a keeper. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence during ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal June 06, 2010

These were excellent meatballs! Loved the sauce too but next time I would scale back a bit on the allspice - just a personal preference thing. :)<br/>I made the full recipe for 2 of us and I'm really happy to have these in the freezer for a quick and very, very, tasty meal. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned November 27, 2013

I had a serious craving for Swedish meatballs, and since it is autumn, thought the cranberry sauce would be a perfect side. Wow, this was good. Even better as leftovers. The meatballs barely held together during the cooking process but oh so tender and tasty. Better over pasta than mashed potatoes, to get some more texture variety - I tried both. Thanks - this hit the spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eccoglyph November 17, 2013

oh la la! I just made these (opting out allspice altogether as i strongly dislike it) and just left it with salt and pepper.....well, they are finger licking delicious! My husband is super picky when it comes to food and i literally have to cross my fingers every time i try a new recipe....This one was such a hit he asked me not to throw away the left overs and leave it for dinner for tomorrow:) It DOES take time to make this dish - and at 9 months pregnant i'd prefer a 2 min preparation time :) but it was all very worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofya_thecook June 04, 2013

Excellent! I used only 1 tsp of allspice because 2 sounded like a lot. Next time I will try 2 tsp. I also finished mine in the crock pot, just like a previous review (strawberrybird). The meatballs were very tender! Will definitely make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirndlfrau June 24, 2012
Swedish Meatballs With Lingonberry or Cranberry Sauce