Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swedish Meatballs With Lingonberry or Cranberry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swedish Meatballs With Lingonberry or Cranberry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2008

      I made these yesterday with a few modifications. Unfortunately, I ended up with a migraine and couldn't enjoy them but everyone else assures me they were marvelous! The best meatballs ever! I needed to cook them earlier than we were going to eat, so I fried them over high heat to sear the outside, made the sauce, and then dumped the half-cooked meatballs and sauce into the crockpot. I set them on high for about 2 hours, then switched them to warm. They sat about another 30-45 minutes. Supposedly they came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      These are some of the most tender, moist, flavorful meatballs I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe pretty closely, I did cut the amount of allspice in half as I was afraid it would be a little too much for my kids. I baked the meatballs on a preheated baking sheet and they cooked beautifully :) My kids, and my super picky nephews loved them. I will add this recipe to my collection, which says a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Awesome recipe!! I only made a few changes to suit our taste buds. I added garlic to the onions when they were cooking. And doubled/tripled the flour and beef stock to have more sauce. The first time i ran out of sauce...we are definatley a "saucy" family. The meatballs are by far THE BEST meatballs i've ever eaten and they are truly moist and delicious. I even added some fat free 1/2 and 1/2 to the mixture to make sure they weren't dry!! Awesome!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Really nice recipe without any additions. Just an FYI... I thought I'd cook up three batches and freeze some. I made the mistake of trying to fry several batches of meatballs in a row. The pan in which I was frying them got coated with too much burnt material, so when I tried to make the roux, I had all these little black bits (not pretty). I cooked the rest at a lower temperature one batch at a time and made the roux in single-recipe batches... very nice. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      These meatballs are just so moist and tender! The allspice gives them a wonderful subtle flavour that is so comforting. I doubled the sauce (gravy) so we would have lots for the leftover noodles. I did have to sub the ground pork with ground turkey....as both of our supermarkets in our wee town didn't have any pork. DH hummed through his dinner and wants me to make it again. Thank you for sharing Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Underbar! Wonderful in every respect! Can’t wait to share this with guests. Thanks FT for posting a keeper. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence during ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      These were excellent meatballs! Loved the sauce too but next time I would scale back a bit on the allspice - just a personal preference thing. :)<br/>I made the full recipe for 2 of us and I'm really happy to have these in the freezer for a quick and very, very, tasty meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I had a serious craving for Swedish meatballs, and since it is autumn, thought the cranberry sauce would be a perfect side. Wow, this was good. Even better as leftovers. The meatballs barely held together during the cooking process but oh so tender and tasty. Better over pasta than mashed potatoes, to get some more texture variety - I tried both. Thanks - this hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      oh la la! I just made these (opting out allspice altogether as i strongly dislike it) and just left it with salt and pepper.....well, they are finger licking delicious! My husband is super picky when it comes to food and i literally have to cross my fingers every time i try a new recipe....This one was such a hit he asked me not to throw away the left overs and leave it for dinner for tomorrow:) It DOES take time to make this dish - and at 9 months pregnant i'd prefer a 2 min preparation time :) but it was all very worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Excellent! I used only 1 tsp of allspice because 2 sounded like a lot. Next time I will try 2 tsp. I also finished mine in the crock pot, just like a previous review (strawberrybird). The meatballs were very tender! Will definitely make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      I only tried the meatballs. Next time I will try the complete recipe and review again. My husband and I think they are better than the ones we had IKEA. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This dish is awesome! I cheated and just used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce but it was still delicious. I will most definitely be making these again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I tried swedish meatballs at Ikea and loved them. The recipe is a little too time consuming for me as a busy mum with two little ones, so I did cut corners by using jarred cranberry sauce, which I like (sorry!). I made a few mistakes, I probably made the meatballs too big, and I stupidly forgot to season the meat mixture, but I will remember this for next time. As a result mine were a bit bland, but that is my fault and not the recipe's. If I try it again and they turn out better, I will change my rating to 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      No wonder this dish has so many 5-star reviews! These meatballs are so moist! And the lingonberries add just enough sweetness without being overpowering. So glad I made these for KcK's Forum Tag Game. Thnx, Tartie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious, and a huge improvement in flavor over the "unauthentic" Swedish meatballs I've made in the past. I liked your tips such as cooking the roux until it looked sandy, soaking the bread in milk, etc. I couldn't find any lingonberries, so I used cranberries instead and I made creme fraiche, since we didn't have any in our market, by heating cream and buttermilk, and letting it sit on the counter for a day so it could thicken up as the cultures developed. The dill added a wonderful flavor to the sauce as well. I'm looking forward to serving this to my family so they can taste and enjoy real Swedish meatballs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Never made Swedish meatballs before, they were juicy and creamy. Drove all the way over to IKEA and bought frozen lingonberries - the combination is just so good. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Delish, I think the dill works very well in the sauce. I must confess I cheated and used canned cranberry sauce (that and we love it) to attempt to keep this manageable for after work, Made the meatballs the night before. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Very authentic recipe! I have to say, I loved the lingonberry addition (as you can tell from my photo)! It added a kind of sweet/tart flavor. This was great served over noodles. Thanks so much! ~Made for ZWT6~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I made this exactly as listing, choosing lingonberries (I found them at a European grocery store!) and white pepper to keep with the Swedish theme! This dish is very good and I wouldn't change a thing! Made for ZWT6. Thanks French Tart! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Terrific meatballs, i swirled some of the lingonberry sauce into the cream sauce as well as having it on the side. The meatballs were soo tender~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swedish Meatballs With Lingonberry or Cranberry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.7
     
    Calories from Fat 449
    61%
    Total Fat 49.9 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 185.6 mg
    61%
    Sodium 495.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 27.3 g
    109%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lingonberries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites