28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were OK. I usually use the seasoned packets from the store, but didn't have one, so tried this instead. I felt it was kinda bland--could use more seasonings, I just don't know what.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.glenda August 29, 2009

This just didn't come together for us... the taste was bland and the meatballs just fell apart during baking. While mixing everything together, I noticed that the meatball mixture was really soupy, but I trusted the recipe... the texture of the meatballs was not to our liking. I was really hoping this would work for my family since we always have the ingredients on hand, but I will not be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy August 14, 2009

This recipe was a big hit at our house...very seldom do I make something that the whole family will eat. I did make a few substitutions however. I used ground turkey breast instead of beef and oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs (didn't have any breadcrumbs). I did find the meat mixture a bit on the runny side, but perhaps it was due to my subs. I couldn't actually roll them into balls, so I just sort of glopped them onto the baking sheet like cookies. They didn't come out perfectly round, but were fine. They didn't turn brown, but that is because of the turkey, not the recipe. I used cream of chicken soup as that is what I had on hand. I didn't have any kitchen bouquet, so that, combined with the whiteness of the meat made for a very blah looking casserole, but it didn't matter. I served it over brown rice and it tasted great. I doubled the recipe so we get to eat it tomorrow too! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 May 27, 2008

This was just okay for me. I added at least another 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs as the mixture was really runny. Also, after baking... there were big globs of grease on the top. I would definitely use ground sirloin next time to cut the grease. All in all... the flavors were good. This recipe just needs a little tweaking in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melandsid May 02, 2007

I've made these several times. The meatballs are great but are a bit moist. I'll just figure that's how their intended as the flavor is De-Lish eating them alone. As others have stated, they do not form a ball well due to the moisture content but I don't want to change them because the flavor is fine. Maybe less milk if you want them to cook and form into a tighter ball. Add the milk last until you reach the consistency you would like. Sauce is quick and easy, tastes good to me. There are other sauce recipes I've used for a change up. Over all, don't be afraid to try this recipe, especially if you like Stouffer's frozen brand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rich Mann April 26, 2015

The meat mixture is a little soft but works well using a cookie scoop. Mine makes a ball about 1 and 1/2 inches.
After reading the reviews I increased the fresh grated nutmeg to about 1/2 tsp. maybe a bit more. Also added nutmeg to the sauce and a handful of sliced mushrooms. A perfect dish served over noodles and steamed broccoli on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria in Tampa January 26, 2012

Yummy! I made these without the sauce, as I was serving them with lingonberry preserves from IKEA. I cooked them with oil & butter in a fry pan instead. They had a lovely flavor. I appreciate the simple ingredient list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucky ladybug December 31, 2010

Simple and tasty, nice weeknight meal. I made the meatballs the night before, so dinner prep was a snap. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 31, 2010

Really good! Some of the reviews stated that these were a bit bland or that the texture wasn't quite up to par, so I decided to make a few small changes. I ground up some seasoned stuffing in the food processor and used it instead of bread crumbs, reduced milk to 1/2 cup and added a little bit of ketchup to the raw meat mixture (probably not necessary, but it certainly didn't spoil anything). The meat mixture was very sticky, so it helped putting my hands under some cool water every 3-4 meatballs to prevent the meat from sticking to my hands while forming the meatballs. It took 20 minutes for these to brown slightly in my oven. I also baked them on a rack over a baking pan instead of the cookie sheet to let the gease run off since someone mentioned that there was a little bit of grease sitting on these. I made the sauce as instructed, but it curdled. Next time I will make the sauce using heavy cream instead of the milk/sour cream mixture and there will definitely be a next time. I will be making several batches of these meatballs in the future and freezing some (after step 4). Just the fact that my extremely picky 11-yr old ate 5 of these and liked them makes me want to rate this recipe 10 stars. Thank you so much for sharing! This one is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls August 04, 2010

REALLLLLY good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenThon July 02, 2010
Swedish Meatballs