Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2009

      These were OK. I usually use the seasoned packets from the store, but didn't have one, so tried this instead. I felt it was kinda bland--could use more seasonings, I just don't know what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This just didn't come together for us... the taste was bland and the meatballs just fell apart during baking. While mixing everything together, I noticed that the meatball mixture was really soupy, but I trusted the recipe... the texture of the meatballs was not to our liking. I was really hoping this would work for my family since we always have the ingredients on hand, but I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This recipe was a big hit at our house...very seldom do I make something that the whole family will eat. I did make a few substitutions however. I used ground turkey breast instead of beef and oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs (didn't have any breadcrumbs). I did find the meat mixture a bit on the runny side, but perhaps it was due to my subs. I couldn't actually roll them into balls, so I just sort of glopped them onto the baking sheet like cookies. They didn't come out perfectly round, but were fine. They didn't turn brown, but that is because of the turkey, not the recipe. I used cream of chicken soup as that is what I had on hand. I didn't have any kitchen bouquet, so that, combined with the whiteness of the meat made for a very blah looking casserole, but it didn't matter. I served it over brown rice and it tasted great. I doubled the recipe so we get to eat it tomorrow too! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This was just okay for me. I added at least another 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs as the mixture was really runny. Also, after baking... there were big globs of grease on the top. I would definitely use ground sirloin next time to cut the grease. All in all... the flavors were good. This recipe just needs a little tweaking in my opinion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      The meat mixture is a little soft but works well using a cookie scoop. Mine makes a ball about 1 and 1/2 inches.
      After reading the reviews I increased the fresh grated nutmeg to about 1/2 tsp. maybe a bit more. Also added nutmeg to the sauce and a handful of sliced mushrooms. A perfect dish served over noodles and steamed broccoli on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Yummy! I made these without the sauce, as I was serving them with lingonberry preserves from IKEA. I cooked them with oil & butter in a fry pan instead. They had a lovely flavor. I appreciate the simple ingredient list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Simple and tasty, nice weeknight meal. I made the meatballs the night before, so dinner prep was a snap. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Really good! Some of the reviews stated that these were a bit bland or that the texture wasn't quite up to par, so I decided to make a few small changes. I ground up some seasoned stuffing in the food processor and used it instead of bread crumbs, reduced milk to 1/2 cup and added a little bit of ketchup to the raw meat mixture (probably not necessary, but it certainly didn't spoil anything). The meat mixture was very sticky, so it helped putting my hands under some cool water every 3-4 meatballs to prevent the meat from sticking to my hands while forming the meatballs. It took 20 minutes for these to brown slightly in my oven. I also baked them on a rack over a baking pan instead of the cookie sheet to let the gease run off since someone mentioned that there was a little bit of grease sitting on these. I made the sauce as instructed, but it curdled. Next time I will make the sauce using heavy cream instead of the milk/sour cream mixture and there will definitely be a next time. I will be making several batches of these meatballs in the future and freezing some (after step 4). Just the fact that my extremely picky 11-yr old ate 5 of these and liked them makes me want to rate this recipe 10 stars. Thank you so much for sharing! This one is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      REALLLLLY good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

    • on April 25, 2010

      I loved the meatballs and liked the sauce. I did a little tweaking this time and will do a little more the next time around but I will be making these again. I doubled the ground beef but only used 1 cup of milk and I added a little dry mustard. For the sauce I used one can of Golden Mushroom soup and one can of Cream of mushroom soup and left out the Kitchen Bouquet. I served this over linguini. I could have eaten the meatballs all by themselves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      We thought the meatballs were really good. I made extra and froze them for another time. I was able to pull them out of the freezer and bake for a really quick meal. I did not, however, use the sauce as I prefer not to use canned soups. I made a gravy from scratch and it worked well with these meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      I made this tonight and it was super easy. I usually use the little packets which are expensive and not that good. But I saved $$$ and it tasted much better. Thanks sooo much. Hooray for saving money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Great and easy recipe. Enjoyed by a 9 y/o picky boy who had thirds! Will use again and again as all of the ingredients are things most people have most of the time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      They are very sticky at first, and hard to form into balls, but it all works out once they've been in the oven. A simple and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Super!! Both kids absolutely loved them and wanted to have them twice within a week. Added a little bit of dill in the sauce. Thanks Nana!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      These were good meatballs. I added some allspice and used minced onion, instead of onion powder. Will make again, but will adjust the spices for a little bit more flavor. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      These were wonderful and my guests loved them but they were a bit bland. Maybe a little motr salt? Other than that, great meatballs!!:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      This was wonderful. I had frozen the following recipe for meatballs http://www.recipezaar.com/8060 (prepared ahead) and just thawed those out and used them with your incredibly easy sauce! Such an easy meal and kid friendly, my three guys were eating it up. I doubled the sauce recipe because two of my boys are teens and still had a little left for lunch today. Just as good the second time around. Served mine with egg noodles. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Really easy to prepare dish and I liked that I didn't have to fry the meatballs. I doubled the recipe so I had lots leftover for a second meal down the road. Thanks Nana Lee! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.5
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    59%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 148.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1365.3 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes